AccueilSociety of Dix-Neuviémistes

*  *  *

Publié le jeudi 25 avril 2002 par Natalie Petiteau

Résumé

Society of Dix-Neuviémistes FIRST ANNUAL CONFERENCE 2-3 September, Queen Mary, University of London Monday 10-11 Welcome & opening plenary: Margaret Cohen 11-11.15 coffee 11.15-1.15 parallel sessions 1-3 The Franco-Prussian War,

Annonce

Society of Dix-Neuviémistes


FIRST ANNUAL CONFERENCE

2-3 September, Queen Mary, University of London


Monday



10-11 Welcome & opening plenary: Margaret Cohen
11-11.15 coffee
11.15-1.15 parallel sessions 1-3 The Franco-Prussian War, Images of Paris, Cultural Transfers
1.15- 2.15 lunch
2.15-3.45 parallel sessions 4-6 Literature and Science, Provincial Cultures, Pedagogy
3.45-4.15 tea
4.15-5.45 parallel sessions 7-9 Educational reform, Interdisciplinarity, Travel and Writing
6-7 Plenary paper: James McMillan
8 Banquet

Tuesday

9.15-10.30 AGM and coffee
10.30-12.30 Parallel sessions 10 -12 Knowledge and Pleasure, Painting and Writing, Revisionist Readings
12.30-1.30 Lunch
1.30-3.30 Parallel sessions 13-14 Authors and Manuscripts, Objects of Desire, Victor Hugo
3.30-4.00 tea
4.00-5.30 Parallel sessions 16-18, Colonization and Migration, Women and Writing, Poetry
5.30-6.30 Closing plenary: Jacques Seebacher (tbc)




Monday 10 - 11 Plenary paper - Margaret Cohen (New York University): ‘The Waterways of Modernity: The Case of Haussmann's Paris'

Monday 11-15-1.15

Panel 1 : the Franco-Prussian War

Chair: Will Mc Morran, Queen Mary, University of London

Kate Turner, Royal Holloway, University of London (turner_catherine@hotmail.com), Balloons over Bismarck: The interplay of fact and fiction in representations of the fabulous history of the balloon during the Siege of Paris

Hannah Thompson, Darwin College, Cambridge (ht206@cam.ac.uk), A Battle in the Feminine?: The Female Body and the Franco-Prussian War

Rachel Chrastil, Yale University (rachel.chrastil@yale.edu), Commemorating the Franco-Prussian War

Karine Varley, Royal Holloway, University of London (karine@moscowmail.com), Memorialising the Defence of Paris: The Commemoration of the Franco-Prussian War in the Capital

Panel 2 : Images of Paris

Chair: Kate Ashley, University of Edinburgh

Nathalie Aubert, Oxford Brookes University (nathalie.aubert@talk21.com), Nineteenth-century Paris : The Capital of Images

Helga Maddock, University of Wales, Cardiff (Helga.maddock@ntlworld.com), Representations of Père-Lachaise in Balzac’s Comédie humaine

David Rose, Goldsmiths, University of London (d.rose@gold.ac.uk), The fin-de-siècle gendering of Paris

Edward Welch, University of Durham (e.j.welch@durham.ac.uk) Zola, Jourdain and the Architechtonics of Modernity

Panel 3 : Cultural Transfers
Chair: Paul Rowe, University of Leeds

Lieven D’hulst, University of Leuven (Lieven.Dhulst@kulak.ac.be) La Belgique Littéraire au XIXe siècle : mimétisme et ambivalence systématiques

Tom Verschaffel, University of Leuven (tom.verschaffel@arts.kuleuven.ac.be) Art and Nationality: The French Perception of Belgian Painters at the Paris Salons (1831-1865)

Sándor Vári, Brown University (varisum99@hotmail.com), Tourism and Politics: Hungarians at the 1889 Paris Expo

Maria Filippakopoulou, University of Edinburgh (9903568@sms.ed.ac.uk), The French Naming of E. A. Poe and his Baudelairean ‘education’


Monday 2.15-3.45

Panel 4 : Literature and Science in the 19th century

Chair:

Armine Kotin Mortimer, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (armine@uiuc.edu), Chemistry and Composition: Balzac’s La Recherche de l’Absolu

Aude Campmas, Paris 7 (audechristine@hotmail.com), Fleurs exotiques et serres chaudes du laboratoire au roman ou genèse d’un mythe moderne

Jean-Christophe Valtat, Université Blaise-Pascal Clermont-Ferrand II (jcvaltat@aol.com), Physiologie, psychophysique et poétiques du symbolisme

Panel 5 : Provincial Cultures

Christine Carrère-Saucède (christine.carrère-saucède@gea-auch.iut-tlse3.fr), Entre pauvreté et richesse: la vie théâtrale dans les villes de province

Heather Williams, University of Aberystwyth (hmw@aber.ac.uk), The Last of the French Savages

Andrew Watts, University of Bristol (andrew@wattsbristol.freeserve.co.uk), Honoré de Balzac: Provincial Novelist

Panel 6: Dynamic Dialogue: Strategies for Literary Pedagogy in 19th-century French Studies
Chair: Charles Stivale (ad4928@wayne.edu)

Garett Heysel, Lycoming College (heysel@lycoming.edu), Professing Sexuality: Out and About with Old Goriot

Philippe Dubois, Bucknell University (pdubois@bucknell.edu), Adapter le dix-neuvième siècle




Monday 4-15-5.45

Panel 7: Educational Reform in the 19th century


Louise Lyle, University of Sheffield (frp9911@sheffield.ac.uk), The Struggleforlifeur: A Darwinian Indictment on Third Republic Education

Pierre Simoni, Laurentian University, Ontario (psimoni@nickel.laurentian.ca), Educational Reforms and French Secondary School Teachers: The Evidence of the Assemblées de professeurs of the 1880s

Encarnación Medina Arjona, University of Jaén (encarnacion@supercable.es), Zola et le métier d’enseignant : fiction de l’auteur et réalité des lecteurs au XIXe siècle

Panel 8 : Interdisciplinary Approaches to the nineteenth century

Kirsty Gowling, Glasgow University (kag@arts.gla.ac.uk), Composer as Poet: Lyrics in the Work of Claude Debussy

Nicolas Kenny, McGill University, (nkenny@po-box.mcgill.ca) An interdisciplinary exploration of the fin-de-siècle counter-culture of Montmartre

Panel 9 : Travel and Writing
Chair : Tim Unwin, University of Bristol

Mary Orr, University of Exeter (M.M.Orr@exeter.ac.uk), Provincial Transfers and Other Cultures in Flaubert’s Voyage en Corse

Adeline Molard (esirec@yahoo.fr), Merimée et L’Espagne

Göran Blix, Columbia University (gmb21@columbia.edu), The Discovery of Private life: Archeology, Historicism, and The French Romantic Imagination



Monday 6-7 Plenary Speaker: James McMillan (University of Edinburgh)

'Louis Veuillot and the Politics of Religious Identity in Nineteenth-Century France'
Chair: Colin Smethhurst



Tuesday 10.30-12.30

Panel 10 : Knowledge and Pleasure

Chair: Diana Holmes, University of Leeds

Michel Pierssens, Université de Montréal (michel.pierssens@umontreal.ca), La Science des femmes: Rachilde et La Marquise de Sade

Miranda Gill, New College, Oxford (miranda.gill@new.oxford.ac.uk), Lifting the Veil: hieroglyphics, mysticism and Orientalist discourse in mid-nineteenth-century France

Masha Belenky, George Washington University (belenky@gwu.edu), Reversals: Reading Jealousy in Balzac and Rachilde

Andrew Oliver, University of Toronto (andrewo@chass.utoronto.ca) La Fille aux yeux d’or: un drame du regard

Panel 11 : Intersections: Painting and Writing
Chair: Robert Lethbridge, Royal Holloway, University of London

Richard Hobbs, University of Bristol (r.hobbs@bristol.ac.uk), ‘Genre’ or ‘métier’? Convention and Experiment in the writings of Degas, Redon and Gauguin

Jill Fell, Birkbeck, University of London (xzj79@dial.pipex.com), Le peintre barbare versus le peintre pensant: Paul Gaugin’s self-justification – the conflicts and contradictions of his ‘Notes éparses sans suite’

Mireille Dottin-Orsini, University of Bordeaux (mdo@orsini.net), La Réception littéraire des peintres préraphaélites en France (1880-1914)

Gérard de Wallens, (gdewallens@lrast.net), La danse des nymphes: analyses et examens comparatifs d’une variante inconnue attribuée à Camille Corot

Panel 12 : Revisionist Readings
Chair: Michael Moriarty, Queen Mary, University of London

Michael Tilby, Selwyn college, Cambridge (mjt@sel.cam.ac.uk), Past or Present ? A New look at the French Historical Novel

Loïc Guyon, University of Kent (l.p.guyon@ukc.ac.uk), Classiques versus Romantiques : la charge avant la bataille !

Valérie Martin-Pérez, L’Institut Universitaire de Formation des Maîtres (valerie@mediagestion.com) L’écriture dramatique et la question de l’espace scénique dans quelques pièces de Musset

Mayyada Kheir, McGill University (oursvelu@yahoo.com), L’héritage disputé de l’abbé Grégoire: mémoire d’une révolution




Tuesday 1.30 – 3.30

Panel 13: Authors and Manuscripts

Chair: Nigel Harkness, The Queen’s University of Belfast

Rosemary Lloyd, Indiana University (rolloyd@indiana.edu), Unpacking a Provençal Library

Sarah Donachie, University of Leeds (fllsfd@leeds.ac.uk), An unfinished text: the incompletion of Stendhal’s Lamiel

Tony Williams, University of Hull (D.A.Williams@hull.ac.uk), History in the Making: Flaubert’s l’Education sentimentale



Panel 14 : Objects of Desire and Commodity Fetishes
Chair: Lisa Downing, Queen Mary, University of London

Jutta Emma Fortin, Wolfson College, Cambridge (jef27@cam.ac.uk), Brides of the Fantastic: Mérimée’s La Vénus d’Ille and Gautier’s Le Pied de momie

Floriane Place-Verghnes, University of Durham (f.v.m.place-verghnes@dur.ac.uk), Maupassant et le tabou

Scott Lee, University of Prince Edward Island (slee@upei.ca), La Cousine Bette ou le désir en série

Sylvie Young, UCLA (sylyoung@ucla.edu), Négocier la crise de masculinité fin de siècle: un narcissisme décadent médiatisé par le discours de la femme-machine

Panel 15 : Victor Hugo

John Whittaker, University of Hull (j.r.whittaker@hull.ac.uk), Victor Hugo: Translated and Translator

Judith Wulf, (j.wulf@free.fr), Victor Hugo : L’écriture de l’exil

Rainer Grutman, University of Ottawa (rgrutman@uottawa.ca), Les épigraphes de Hugo: intertextualité et transfert culturel


Tuesday 4.00 – 5.30

Panel 16 : colonization and migration in the nineteenth century

Chair : Jennifer Yee, University of Newcastle

Samira Sayeh, Pennsylvania State University (sxs595@psu.edu), Atala ou de la colonisation: pour une déconstruction sémiologique du mythe de l’exotisme

Kathleen Cambor, Yale University (Kathleen.cambor@yale.edu), ‘L’Invasion!’: Colonizing France’s Mediterranean South

Greg Burgess, University of Melbourne (g.burgess@pgrad.unimelb.edu.au), The Changing Face of Political Refugees in nineteenth-century France


Panel 17 : Women and Writing
Chair: Alison Finch, University of Oxford (alison.finch@merton.oxford.ac.uk)

Claudine Giacchetti, University of Houston (claudine.giacchetti@mail.uh.edu), La Muse et le publiciste: chronique d’un mariage sous la Monarchie de Juillet

Philippe Martin-Lau, National University of Singapore (clspml@nus.edu.sg) ‹‹Je verrai donc toujours mon trésor briller au travers de la boue›› Liane de Pougy ou le regard d’une courtisane

Jacinta Wright, Dublin City University (jacinta.wright@dcu.ie), Marketing the Melodrama: George Sand and the Literary Marketplace

Panel 18 : New Perspectives on Nineteenth-century French Poetry

Peter Dayan, University of Edinburgh (peter.dayan@ed.ac.uk) L’obscurité entre Mallarmé et Proust

Maria Scott, University College Dublin (maria.scott@ucd.ie) A New Reading of Baudelaire’s ‘Le Soleil’

David Evans, University of Edinburgh (fredess@srv0.arts.ed.ac.uk) The Baudelairean caesura and irresolvable poetic tension


Tuesday 5.30 - 6.30
Closing Plenary – Jacques Seebacher (Paris VII) – ‘Victor Hugo’

Lieux

  • Londres (G.B.)
    Londres, Grande-Bretagne

Dates

  • lundi 02 septembre 2002

Contacts

  • Dr Lisa M. Downing
    courriel : L [dot] M [dot] Downing [at] QMW [dot] AC [dot] UK

URLS de référence

Pour citer cette annonce

« Society of Dix-Neuviémistes », Colloque, Calenda, Publié le jeudi 25 avril 2002, http://calenda.org/187153