HomeThe institutions of work: what re-evaluations?

The institutions of work: what re-evaluations?

Les institutions du travail : quelles réévaluations ?

*  *  *

Published on Monday, December 16, 2013 by Luigia Parlati

Summary

The review Travail et emploi [Work and Employment] is planning to devote an issue to applied analysis of labour market institutions and their links to labour market functioning, including macroeconomic dynamics and cycles, as well as to the question of work and job quality. The objective of the thematic issue is to ascertain to what extent recent developments in economic analysis in a crisis context have led to a reassessment of the role of these institutions.

Announcement

Call for contributions

Thematic issue: Reassessing Labour Market Institutions

The review Travail et emploi [Work and Employment] is planning to devote an issue to applied analysis of labour market institutions and their links to labour market functioning, including macroeconomic dynamics and cycles, as well as to the question of work and job quality. The objective of the thematic issue is to ascertain to what extent recent developments in economic analysis in a crisis context have led to a reassessment of the role of these institutions.

Articles in this thematic issue should be within the framework of one or more of the following themes:
1. How can labour market and employment institutions be defined and understood empirically? Studies have attributed varied concrete content to these institutions, bringing into question both the definitions used as well as their empirical content. Since a number of the elements usually included among labour market institutions have a legal form or are within a legal framework (EPL, minimum wage, unemployment benefit replacement rates, collective bargaining, etc.), both the issues and the methods of measurement should be analysed.
2. What is the role played by labour market institutions in the labour market? How are they related to employment and unemployment rates? Such a line of questioning calls for a new look at the EPL, the system of unemployment benefits, of active labour market policies, and of models of collective bargaining. But it also calls for incorporating labour law disputes, as in the Employment Outlook 2013 of the OECD.
3. What has been the recent evolution of labour market institutions? How, and to what extent, have the labour market policy reforms of the 1990s and 2000s, including activation policies and “flexicurity,” modified labour market institutions in developed and emerging countries?
4. Do different national variants of institutional models of work affect the resistance to crises and, more generally, the relationship to the business cycle? This refers to the method of analysing the impact of labour market institutions on resilience, that is to say, easing the shock effect and the rapidity with which economies return to normal after the start of a crisis.
5. How are labour market institutions related to the quality of work and jobs? If we admit, as many do, that employment is inseparable from the conditions of its exercise (in terms of the intensity and interest of work, the degree of autonomy, and its compatibility with family life) and its career dynamics (the opportunity for job training, for changing jobs or employment), then what are the links between the quality of employment and the reforms of labour markets and employment policies? Have they led to sacrificing job quality by promoting types of precarious and low-paid jobs? Is job quality really a goal of companies and governments?
The expected contributions should have an empirical dimension and propose elements of original thinking. The review will consider with interest those proposed contributions with a comparative dimension.
This call primarily concerns economics, but contributions from other disciplines (public policy sociology, political science, law ...) are welcome.

Applications and timetable

Contributors should first present their proposal (either in French or in English) for an article which should be approximately 5 to 7,000 characters (three to four pages), clearly outlining the research question studied, the materials utilized, the analytical tools mobilized, and the expected results.

  • Such proposals should be sent by email, as an attached file, to the editors of the review at travail.emploi@dares.travail.gouv.fr, with copies to erhel@univ-paris1.fr and thierry.kirat@dauphine.fr

by 5 February 2014 at the latest.

  • Those authors whose proposals are selected should then submit their full article (in French or English) in Word format (or equivalent) by 2 June 2014.
  • For more details on the stylistic norms used, please read the article “Normes graphiques” on the website of the review.
  • Articles will be evaluated by referees in line with the procedures adopted by the editorial board of the journal (see “Procédure d’évaluation”).
  • Following their review, those articles which have been accepted should be published in the first half of 2015.

Coordinating Committee: Christine Erhel (CEE, Université de Paris 1, CES) and Thierry Kirat (Université de Paris Dauphine, IRISSO).

Date(s)

  • Wednesday, February 05, 2014

Keywords

  • institutions, marché du travail, évaluation, économie

Contact(s)

  • Thierry Kirat
    courriel : thierry [dot] kirat [at] dauphine [dot] fr
  • Magali Marcille
    courriel : travail [dot] emploi [at] travail [dot] gouv [dot] fr
  • Christine Erhel
    courriel : erhel [at] univ-paris1 [dot] fr

Reference Urls

Information source

  • Magali Marcille
    courriel : travail [dot] emploi [at] travail [dot] gouv [dot] fr

To cite this announcement

« The institutions of work: what re-evaluations? », Call for papers, Calenda, Published on Monday, December 16, 2013, https://calenda.org/269582

Archive this announcement

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal

AccueilLes institutions du travail : quelles réévaluations ?

Les institutions du travail : quelles réévaluations ?

The institutions of work: what re-evaluations?

*  *  *

Publié le lundi 16 décembre 2013 par Luigia Parlati

Résumé

La revue Travail et Emploi souhaite consacrer un numéro aux analyses appliquées des institutions du travail et à leurs liens avec le fonctionnement du marché du travail, ce qui englobe les dynamiques macroéconomiques et les cycles ainsi que la problématique de la qualité du travail et des emplois. L’objectif du dossier est de voir dans quelle mesure les développements récents de l’analyse économique et le contexte de crise invitent à des réévaluations du rôle de ces institutions. Les contributions attendues devront avoir une dimension empirique, proposer des éléments de réflexion originaux, voire proposer une dimension comparative. Cet appel concerne principalement l’économie, mais des contributions d’autres disciplines (sociologie des politiques publiques, science politique, droit…) sont bienvenues.

Annonce

Argumentaire

La revue Travail et Emploi souhaite consacrer un numéro aux analyses appliquées des institutions du travail et à leurs liens avec le fonctionnement du marché du travail, ce qui englobe les dynamiques macroéconomiques et les cycles ainsi que la problématique de la qualité du travail et des emplois. L’objectif du dossier est de voir dans quelle mesure les développements récents de l’analyse économique et le contexte de crise invitent à des réévaluations du rôle de ces institutions.

Coordination : Christine Erhel (CEE, Université Paris 1, CES) et Thierry Kirat (Université Paris Dauphine, IRISSO).

Axes thématiques

Les articles du dossier pourront s’inscrire dans une ou plusieurs des directions suivantes :

  1. Comment définir et appréhender empiriquement les institutions du travail et de l’emploi ? Le contenu concret donné à ces institutions varie selon les travaux, ce qui interroge à la fois la définition retenue et son contenu empirique. Un certain nombre d’éléments habituellement inclus parmi les institutions du travail ayant une forme juridique ou faisant l’objet d’un encadrement légal (LPE[1], salaire minimum, taux de remplacement, négociation collective, etc.), on peut s’interroger sur les enjeux et méthodes de mesure.
  2. Quels rôles jouent les institutions du travail sur le marché du travail ? Comment sont-elles liées au niveau de l’emploi et du chômage ? Un tel questionnement invite à revenir sur la LPE, les systèmes d’indemnisation du chômage, les politiques actives de l’emploi, les modèles de négociation collective mais aussi à intégrer (comme les Perspectives de l’emploi 2013 de l’OCDE) les conflits juridiques du travail.
  3.  Quelles sont leurs évolutions récentes ? Les réformes des politiques de l’emploi des années 1990 et 2000, et notamment les politiques d’activation et de « flexicurité », ont-elles modifié, et avec quelle ampleur, les institutions du travail dans les pays développés et les pays émergents ?
  4.  Les différentes variantes nationales de modèles institutionnels du travail ont-elles une incidence sur la résistance aux crises et plus généralement sur les liens avec le cycle économique ? Cela renvoie à la manière d’analyser l’impact des institutions du travail sur la résilience, c’est-à-dire l’atténuation des chocs et la vitesse avec laquelle les économies retournent à la normale après leur apparition.
  5.  De quelle manière les institutions du travail sont-elles associées à la qualité du travail et des emplois ? Si l’on admet, comme beaucoup, que l’emploi est indissociable des conditions de son exercice (en termes d’intensité et d’intérêt du travail, de degré d’autonomie, de conciliation avec la vie familiale) et des dynamiques de carrière (capacité à se former, à changer de poste ou d’emploi), quels sont les liens entre la qualité de l’emploi et les réformes du marché du travail et des politiques de l’emploi ? Ont-elles conduit à sacrifier la qualité du travail en promouvant des types d’emplois précaires et peu rémunérés ? La qualité du travail et des emplois est-elle réellement un objectif pour les entreprises et les États ?

Les contributions attendues devront avoir une dimension empirique et proposer des éléments de réflexion originaux. La revue considérera avec intérêt les propositions de contribution ayant une dimension comparative.

Cet appel concerne principalement l’économie, mais des contributions d’autres disciplines (sociologie des politiques publiques, science politique, droit…) sont bienvenues.

Modalités de réponse et calendrier 

Les contributeurs sont invités dans un premier temps à proposer une intention d’article de 5 000 à 7 000 signes environ (trois à quatre pages), présentant clairement la question de recherche étudiée, les matériaux utilisés, les outils d’analyse mobilisés et les résultats attendus.

Ces intentions sont à envoyer par courriel, en pièce jointe, à la rédaction de la revue travail.emploi@dares.travail.gouv.fr et, en copie, à erhel@univ-paris1.fr et thierry.kirat@dauphine.fr

pour le 5 février 2014 au plus tard.

Les auteurs dont les projets auront été retenus devront ensuite envoyer leur article complet au format Word (ou équivalent) pour le 2 juin 2014.

Pour plus de détails sur les attendus de présentation, vous pouvez consulter l’article « Normes graphiques » sur le site de la revue.

Les articles feront l’objet d’une évaluation par des référés selon la procédure en vigueur au sein du comité de rédaction de la revue (voir la rubrique « Procédure d’évaluation »).

Pour les articles acceptés, et après révision, la publication pourra avoir lieu courant premier semestre 2015.



[1] Législation sur la protection de l’emploi.

Dates

  • mercredi 05 février 2014

Mots-clés

  • institutions, marché du travail, évaluation, économie

Contacts

  • Magali Marcille
    courriel : travail [dot] emploi [at] travail [dot] gouv [dot] fr
  • Christine Erhel
    courriel : erhel [at] univ-paris1 [dot] fr
  • Thierry Kirat
    courriel : thierry [dot] kirat [at] dauphine [dot] fr

URLS de référence

Source de l'information

  • Magali Marcille
    courriel : travail [dot] emploi [at] travail [dot] gouv [dot] fr

Pour citer cette annonce

« Les institutions du travail : quelles réévaluations ? », Appel à contribution, Calenda, Publié le lundi 16 décembre 2013, http://calenda.org/269582