HomeThe Complex Influence of Orientalism on Scientific Discourses About Islam

The Complex Influence of Orientalism on Scientific Discourses About Islam

L’influence complexe de l’orientalisme dans les discours scientifiques sur l’islam

*  *  *

Published on Monday, August 04, 2014 by João Fernandes

Summary

Islamophobia as a form of racism has multiple faces and dimensions. One unexplored dimension is epistemic Islamophobia. Who speaks about and for Muslims is crucial because it shapes the definition of the problems, policies and priorities implemented by states, governments and institutions at both the national and global levels. This conference aims to explore the multiple questions that emerge when we examine knowledge production about Muslims and Islam. This conference will be an opportunity to focus on the influence of orientalism on scientific discourses about Islam and Muslims.

Announcement

Argument 

Islamophobia as a form of racism has multiple faces and dimensions. One unexplored dimension is epistemic Islamophobia. The inferiority of non-Western knowledge relative to Western knowledge creates a global eurocentric structure of knowledge where Orientalists become the authoritative voices to talk about anything related to Islam and Muslims. Who is authorized to talk about Muslims is determined by this geopolitical politics of knowledge. Who speaks about and for Muslims is crucial because it shapes the definition of the problems, policies and priorities implemented by states, governments and institutions at both the national and global levels. Orientalism as a discourse of the domination of the 'West over the Rest' since the 18th century, has contemporary expressions and manifestations. The situation becomes quite complex when scientific discourses about Islam in the West, as well as in Muslim majority countries, reproducing eurocentric binaries converge with Orientalist discourses. The continuities and convergences between scientific discourses about Islam with orientalists’ perspectives are not only in the shared epistemology and presuppositions, but also in their vision about the future of the political-economy of the Middle East and Muslim populations in the West.

We would like to explore the multiple questions that emerge when we examine knowledge production about Muslims and Islam as a research question in this conference. Who speaks for Muslims and Islam? What consequences does this have for both domestic and foreign policy making? What policies at the level of knowledge production should be implemented in order to have a fair and balanced approach to Muslim populations? What are the funding sources of institutions producing the knowledge that states and media use for the representation of and policy making regarding Muslim populations? What role do universities play in reproducing or questioning epistemic Islamophobia? What are the epistemic foundations of the "War on Terror"? 

Conditions of Submission

Presentations should be situated within the frame described above, at the intersection of several disciplines, presenting advanced or ongoing research on Islamophobia. Proposals should not exceed 600 words and should be sent to : hatemb@berkeley.edu

Paper abstracts in French or English should be submitted

before 5th of October 2014.

The Scientific Committee will select papers to be included in the symposium by 25th of October. 

Contact in France: Zouhour Ben Salah: bensalah@ehess.fr

Scientific committee

  • Hatem Bazian, senior lecturer in the Departments of Near Eastern and Ethnic Studies at the University of California, Berkeley.
  • Ramon Grosfoguel, Associate professor in the Ethnic Studies Department at the University of California, Berkeley.
  • Alexandra Poli, Chargée de recherche CNRS, CADIS, EHESS. 

International conference "The Complex Influence of Orientalism on Scientific Discourses About Islam" will take place the 11 - 12 December 2014, at Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, Paris

Jointly Sponsored by the:

Places

  • EHESS - 190-198 Avenue de France
    Paris, France (75)

Date(s)

  • Sunday, October 05, 2014

Keywords

  • islamophobie, racisme, orientalisme, islam, islamophobie épistémique, islamophobia, racism, orientalism, islam, epistemic islamophobia

Contact(s)

  • Zouhour Ben Salah
    courriel : zouhour [dot] ben-salah [at] ehess [dot] fr

Reference Urls

Information source

  • Melanie Falck
    courriel : melanie [dot] falck [at] ehess [dot] fr

To cite this announcement

« The Complex Influence of Orientalism on Scientific Discourses About Islam », Call for papers, Calenda, Published on Monday, August 04, 2014, https://calenda.org/295965

Archive this announcement

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal

AccueilL’influence complexe de l’orientalisme dans les discours scientifiques sur l’islam

L’influence complexe de l’orientalisme dans les discours scientifiques sur l’islam

The Complex Influence of Orientalism on Scientific Discourses About Islam

*  *  *

Publié le lundi 04 août 2014 par João Fernandes

Résumé

L’islamophobie est une expression du racisme aux multiples facettes et dimensions. L’une d’entre elles, l’islamophobie épistémique demeure inexplorée. Ceux qui s’expriment sur les musulmans et en leur nom ont un rôle crucial en ce que leurs discours participent de la définition des problèmes, des politiques et des priorités par les États, les gouvernements et les institutions tant au niveau national que global. Ce colloque a pour ambition d’explorer les multiples questions qui entourent la production des connaissances sur les musulmans et l’islam en s’attachant notamment à comprendre l’influence des perspectives orientalistes au sein des discours scientifiques.

Annonce

Argumentaire 

L’islamophobie est une expression du racisme aux multiples facettes et dimensions. L’une d’entre elles, l’islamophobie épistémique demeure inexplorée. La moindre reconnaissance du savoir non-occidental par rapport au savoir occidental contribue à créer une dynamique de production des connaissances sur l’islam et les musulmans eurocentrée et largement structurée par une vision orientaliste, au sens où l’entend Edward Saïd. Or, ceux qui s’expriment sur les musulmans et en leur nom ont un rôle crucial en ce que leurs discours participent de la définition des problèmes, des politiques et des priorités par les Etats, les gouvernements et les institutions tant au niveau national que global. L’orientalisme en tant qu’affirmation de la domination de « l’Occident sur le reste » depuis le 18ème siècle, trouve des expressions et des manifestations contemporaines. La situation se complexifie lorsque les discours scientifiques sur l’islam en Occident, tout autant que dans les pays à majorité musulmane, reproduisent des conceptions binaires imprégnées d’orientalisme. Les continuités et convergences entre les discours scientifiques et les perspectives orientalistes mettent non seulement en jeu un cadre épistémologique commun, mais aussi une vision partagée de l’avenir économique et politique du Moyen-Orient et des populations musulmanes en Occident.

Ce colloque a pour ambition d’explorer les multiples questions qui entourent la production des connaissances sur les musulmans et l’islam. Qui parle au nom des musulmans et de l’islam ? Quelles en sont les conséquences pour l'élaboration de la politique intérieure et étrangère? Quelles orientations pourraient-elles être prises au niveau de la production de la connaissance afin d'avoir une approche plus juste et équilibrée des populations musulmanes ? Quelles sont les sources de financement qui servent à la production des connaissances que les États et les médias utilisent pour la représentation et l'élaboration des politiques concernant les populations musulmanes? Quel est le rôle de l’univers académique  dans la reproduction d’une islamophobie épistémique ? Quels sont les fondements épistémiques de la « guerre contre le terrorisme » ?

Modalités de soumission

Les communications attendues, à la croisée de plusieurs disciplines, présenteront des recherches avancées ou en cours sur l’islamophobie qui s’inscrivent dans le cadre décrit plus haut. Les propositions ne devront pas dépasser les 600 mots et doivent être envoyées à : hatemb@berkeley.edu

Les propositions de communication en français ou en anglais sont attendues

avant le 5 octobre 2014.

Les réponses du comité scientifique seront envoyées le 25 octobre 2014.   

Comité scientifique

  • Hatem Bazian, senior lecturer in the Departments of Near Eastern and Ethnic Studies at the University of California, Berkeley.
  • Ramon Grosfoguel, Associate professor in the Ethnic Studies Department at the University of California, Berkeley.
  • Alexandra Poli, Chargée de recherche CNRS, CADIS, EHESS. 

Le colloque international « L’influence complexe de l’orientalisme dans les discours scientifiques sur l’islam » se tiendra le 11 et 12 décembre 2014, à l'Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociale, Paris

Soutenu conjointement par :

Contact en France: Zouhour Ben Salah: bensalah@ehess.fr

Lieux

  • EHESS - 190-198 Avenue de France
    Paris, France (75)

Dates

  • dimanche 05 octobre 2014

Mots-clés

  • islamophobie, racisme, orientalisme, islam, islamophobie épistémique, islamophobia, racism, orientalism, islam, epistemic islamophobia

Contacts

  • Zouhour Ben Salah
    courriel : zouhour [dot] ben-salah [at] ehess [dot] fr

URLS de référence

Source de l'information

  • Melanie Falck
    courriel : melanie [dot] falck [at] ehess [dot] fr

Pour citer cette annonce

« L’influence complexe de l’orientalisme dans les discours scientifiques sur l’islam », Appel à contribution, Calenda, Publié le lundi 04 août 2014, http://calenda.org/295965