Home Who is in - who is out? The categories of tourism and migration and the dynamics of socio-political inclusion and exclusion

Who is in - who is out? The categories of tourism and migration and the dynamics of socio-political inclusion and exclusion

Les dynamiques des catégories tourisme et migration concernant l’inclusion et l’exclusion socio-politique

*  *  *

Published on Thursday, June 16, 2016 by Céline Guilleux

Summary

The main theme of this meeting will be to place anthropology front and center in the face of emergent contemporary conflicts, dilemmas, and possibilities. And our panel will explore the following questions: How do politically and socially constructed categories such as migration and tourism affect the mobility of people and what strategies are employed by persons to deal with, and challenge, these competing definitions of travel? How does the nation-state interfere with peoples’ habits of travel? What are the experiences of persons with travel categories and how is the interplay with other categories such as nationality, gender, ethnicity, age, or sexuality?

Announcement

Argument

Building on Glick and Salazar’s observation that there are indeed different “regimes of mobility that normalise the movements of some travellers while criminalizing and entrapping the ventures of others” (2013), the panel explores what consequences the politically and socially constructed typologies of migration and tourism have for different travelling people and how these typologies contribute to maintain the dynamics of social inclusion and exclusion. 

Categories put in place to define travelling people need to be reviewed. The categories of migration and tourism were defined by the Statistical Office and Commission of the United Nations in 1985 in their report “Consolidated statistics of all international arrivals and departures”; with the aim to control and internationally compare the movement of people and to classify their effects on national economies. Guidelines were defined in order to frame how national governments would deal with international travelers. So, the nationalistic logic of “living in one place only”, is deeply rooted in the very definition of the categories of migration and tourism. We need to challenge the paradigm of settlement that suits nation states to naturalize borders; borders whose only aim is to define who will be included and who will be excluded based on a neoliberal logic. 

If anthropology has a long history of placing agency of a person at the centre of research in order to understand the diversity of lived experience, both scientific and common political discourses continue to articulate a strong distinction and moral polarisation between the concepts of migration and tourism. Migration is classically approached through models of push and pull, or stick and stay factors, problems of integration, assimilation, language barriers, or racism. Tourism, by contrast is approached through practices of leisure, adventure, spirituality, rupture from the ordinary, imaginary, immersion in and learning about new cultures. Also, migration studies have historically focussed on lower-class population movements in search of economic opportunities and difficulties they encounter while staying in another place whereas tourism studies have focussed on middle and upper- class population movements in search of entertainment, exoticism, adventure or magical experience. 

Submission guidelines

We invite researchers at every stage of their career to present their case studies and results by June 30, 2016.

We welcome contributions in English, German or French. 

Attention: As of this year, we kindly request prospective participants to submit their paper proposals using our new digital forms.

Please do not send your proposals directly to the convenors

Scientific committee

  • Silvia Wojczewski : Assistante-Doctorante en Anthropologie du Tourisme. Université de Lausanne, Institut de Géographie et de Durabilité
  • Ellina Mourtazina : Assistante-Doctorante en Anthropologie du Tourisme. Université de Lausanne, Institut de Géographie et de Durabilité 

Places

  • Lausanne, Switzerland (1005)

Date(s)

  • Thursday, June 30, 2016

Keywords

  • tourisme, inclusion, exclusion, migration

Contact(s)

  • Ellina Mourtazina
    courriel : ellina [dot] mourtazina [at] unil [dot] ch
  • Silvia Wojczewski
    courriel : silvia [dot] wojczewski [at] unil [dot] ch

Information source

  • Ellina Mourtazina
    courriel : ellina [dot] mourtazina [at] unil [dot] ch

To cite this announcement

« Who is in - who is out? The categories of tourism and migration and the dynamics of socio-political inclusion and exclusion », Call for papers, Calenda, Published on Thursday, June 16, 2016, https://calenda.org/370070

Archive this announcement

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal

AccueilLes dynamiques des catégories tourisme et migration concernant l’inclusion et l’exclusion socio-politique

Les dynamiques des catégories tourisme et migration concernant l’inclusion et l’exclusion socio-politique

Who is in - who is out? The categories of tourism and migration and the dynamics of socio-political inclusion and exclusion

*  *  *

Publié le jeudi 16 juin 2016 par Céline Guilleux

Résumé

The main theme of this meeting will be to place anthropology front and center in the face of emergent contemporary conflicts, dilemmas, and possibilities. And our panel will explore the following questions: How do politically and socially constructed categories such as migration and tourism affect the mobility of people and what strategies are employed by persons to deal with, and challenge, these competing definitions of travel? How does the nation-state interfere with peoples’ habits of travel? What are the experiences of persons with travel categories and how is the interplay with other categories such as nationality, gender, ethnicity, age, or sexuality?

Annonce

Argumentaire

Basé sur les observations de Glick et Salazar qui stipulent qu’il existe différents “regimes of mobility that normalise the movements of some travellers while criminalizing and entrapping the ventures of others” (2013), le panel a pour but d’explorer les conséquences que les catégories, politiquement et socialement construites, de tourisme et migration ont sur les personnes qui voyagent et comment ces catégories contribuent à maintenir les dynamiques d’exclusions et d’inclusions sociales.

Les catégories mises en place pour définir les personnes en mobilité nécessitent une remise en question. Les catégories de migration et de tourisme étaient définies par la Commission des Statistiques des Nations Unis en 1985; dont le but était de contrôler et de comparer internationalement les mouvements des personnes ainsi que de classifier les effets de cette mobilité sur les économies nationales. Les lignes directrices étaient alors définies principalement afin de permettre aux gouvernements de cadrer la gestion des flux des voyageurs internationaux. Ainsi, les logiques nationales de « vivre dans un seul endroit » sont profondément enracinées dans la définition même des catégories tourisme et migration. Il est donc nécessaire de discuter et remettre en question le paradigme de sédentarité qui sert les gouvernements à normaliser et naturaliser les frontières dont le seul but, basé sur une logique néolibérale, est de définir qui sont les personnes exclus et qui sont inclus.

Bien que l’anthropologie aie une longue tradition de placer les intérêts des personnes au centre de la recherche dans le but de comprendre la diversité des expériences vécues, elle continue néanmoins à produire un discours empreint d’une forte distinction et d’une polarisation morale entre les concepts de migration et de tourisme. La migration est traditionnellement abordée à travers le model de push et pull, les problèmes d’intégration, d’assimilation, barrière de langues ou racisme. Le tourisme, par contraste est abordé à travers les pratiques de loisir, aventure, spiritualité, rupture du quotidien et de l’ordinaire, immersion et apprentissage des nouvelles cultures. Ainsi, les études en migration ont historiquement porté un intérêt sur les mouvements des populations de classes sociales défavorisées à la recherche d’opportunités économiques et sur les difficultés rencontrées durant leurs voyages tandis que les études du tourisme se sont intéressées aux classes moyenne voir aisées à la recherche de divertissement, exotisme, aventures et expériences extraordinaires.

  • Les questions clés :
  • Comment les catégories socialement et politiquement construites telles que migration et tourisme affectent-elles la mobilité des personnes et quelles stratégies sont employées par les individus pour gérer et surpasser ses définitions du voyage ?
  • De quelles manières les état-nations interfèrent dans les habitudes de voyage ?
  • Quelles sont les expériences individuelles en lien avec ces catégories et quels sont les croisements avec d’autres catégories telles que nationalité, genre, ethnicité, âge ou sexualité ?

Nous invitons des chercheurs de tout horizons et à tout stade de leurs carrières académiques à présenter leurs études et leurs résultats de recherches.

Modalités de soumission

Les contributions sont acceptées en Français, Anglais et Allemand.

Les propositions doivent être envoyée avant le 30 juin

sur le formulaire en ligne. 

Comité scientifique

  • Silvia Wojczewski : Assistante-Doctorante en Anthropologie du Tourisme. Université de Lausanne, Institut de Géographie et de Durabilité
  • Ellina Mourtazina : Assistante-Doctorante en Anthropologie du Tourisme. Université de Lausanne, Institut de Géographie et de Durabilité 

Lieux

  • Lausanne, Confédération Suisse (1005)

Dates

  • jeudi 30 juin 2016

Mots-clés

  • tourisme, inclusion, exclusion, migration

Contacts

  • Ellina Mourtazina
    courriel : ellina [dot] mourtazina [at] unil [dot] ch
  • Silvia Wojczewski
    courriel : silvia [dot] wojczewski [at] unil [dot] ch

Source de l'information

  • Ellina Mourtazina
    courriel : ellina [dot] mourtazina [at] unil [dot] ch

Pour citer cette annonce

« Les dynamiques des catégories tourisme et migration concernant l’inclusion et l’exclusion socio-politique », Appel à contribution, Calenda, Publié le jeudi 16 juin 2016, http://calenda.org/370070