HomeEuropean competitiveness

European competitiveness

La compétitivité européenne

Cahiers de recherche État, société, marché, Europe (Cahiers RESuME)

*  *  *

Published on Thursday, June 01, 2017 by João Fernandes

Summary

RESuME Papers is a interdisciplinary journal, published in French and English, on economic, financial and social integration in the European Union. During the year 2017, the focus of the journal RESuME Papers is the theme of European competitiveness to offer a clearer idea of the economic, social, societal and political challenges associated with competitiveness in the European Union. Researchers from a variety of fields (law, political science, economics, contemporary history, geography, sociology and political philosophy) who are interested in this call for papers are invited to submit a subject proposal.

Announcement

Presentation

RESuME Papers (ISSN: 2535-8480) is a new interdisciplinary journal, published in French and English, on economic, financial and social integration in the European Union. Through its high-quality peer-reviewed articles, the journal aims to shed light on the changing nature of relations between public authorities (the state and the European Union), the market and society in the economic and social fields. The journal also looks at the development of welfare state models in the European Union and, more broadly, the question of the emergence of a European social and economic model.

RESuME Papers is published in connection with the Resources on the European socio-economic model project, co-funded by the Erasmus+ programme (Jean Monnet Action for institutions) and developed at the University of Luxembourg. The journal is edited by Frédéric Allemand. Each paper is evaluated by an international peer review committee. The articles are freely accessible online on an open access basis in an enhanced editorial format, via the scholarly publication platform Resume.uni.lu.

Argument

During the year 2017, the focus of the journal RESuME Papers is the theme of European competitiveness.

The wide-ranging topic of competitiveness – used advisedly – has as many meanings as there are fields and areas to which it can be applied. At an individual level, the concept of competitiveness – which is different from the notion of competition – is most often used to denote the ability to respond to real or potential competition. At a collective level, according to the definition given by the European institutions, competitiveness refers to the ability of an economy to make sustainable improvements to the living standards of its inhabitants and provide them with a high level of employment and social cohesion.

To clarify this debate and offer a clearer idea of the economic, social, societal and political challenges associated with competitiveness in the European Union, authors are invited to present proposals for publication in RESuME Papers on one of the following topics:

- The multiple bases and representations of the notion of competitiveness in the European area: The aim of this first theme is to explore the origins and the theoretical and philosophical development of the concept of competitiveness and its representation within the European political and economic area.

- The empirical expression and regulation of competitiveness within the European Union: The focus of this theme is the implementation of specific policies on competitiveness and their economic, political and social impact. It will also examine the regulations and governance introduced to support and implement competitiveness via the presentation and critical discussion of case studies (countries, local authorities, companies, etc.).

- Links between competitiveness and solidarity: This last theme explores the interrelationship between competitiveness and solidarity (between states, citizens, territorial entities and industry sectors) and the impact of competitiveness on the welfare state.

Researchers from a variety of fields (law, political science, economics, contemporary history, geography, sociology and political philosophy) who are interested in this call for papers are invited to submit a subject proposal. Particular attention will be given to proposals from researchers in the early stages of their career (less than five years’ post-PhD experience).

Submission procedure

Proposals should be submitted online to the following address:

• Submission form (French version)

• Submission form (English version)

Proposals should be sent in French or English no later

than Friday 30 June 2017 at 12 noon;

they should outline the subject in no more than 3,000 characters. They should indicate the proposed methodology and the originality and relevance to the research themes of RESuME Papers.

Authors whose proposals are selected by the editorial committee will be informed by Friday 14 July at the latest.

Papers should be sent by Monday 25 September at 12 noon at the latest. A presentation and discussion seminar based on the papers will be held in early October 2017. Transport and accommodation costs will be covered by the organiser.

More information about the RESuME project

The Resources on the European socio-economic model (RESuME) project is co-funded by the Erasmus+ programme (Jean Monnet Action for institutions) and the University of Luxembourg. The aim of the project is to examine the European socio-economic model, its origins, current characteristics and future development. The project focuses on the notion of competitiveness and the interaction between society, economic players and public authorities.

The project is conducted at the University of Luxembourg under the academic coordination of Frédéric Allemand.

It is supported by a peer-review committee composed of:

  • Jean-Marc Ferry (philosopher and holder of the European Philosophy Chair at the University of Nantes),
  • Blanche Sousi (Emeritus Professor and holder of the ad personam Jean Monnet Chair in European Banking and Monetary Law at Lyon 3 University),
  • Manuel Lopez Escudero (Professor of Public Law at the University of Granada),
  • Susanna Cafaro (Associate Professor of EU Law at the University of Salento),
  • David Howarth (Professor of Political Economics at the University of Luxembourg)
  • Kenneth Dyson (Professor of Political Science at the University of Cardiff).

The committee is chaired by Nikos Scandamis (honorary Director at the European Commission, Professor of Law at the University of Athens).

The project results are published on a specially designed publication platform, the RESuME platform: http://resume.uni.lu. Developed using open-source software, this platform offers a new approach to academic publication by providing authors with innovative content and services.

For more information about the RESuME project: https://resume.uni.lu/project

To create a user account: https://resume.uni.lu/login/

Follow the RESuME project on Twitter: @resume_unilu

Places

  • Luxembourg City, Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

Date(s)

  • Friday, June 30, 2017

Keywords

  • compétitivité, Union européenne, économie, politique, droit

Contact(s)

  • Alessia Virone
    courriel : alessia [dot] virone [at] uni [dot] lu

Information source

  • Alessia Virone
    courriel : alessia [dot] virone [at] uni [dot] lu

To cite this announcement

« European competitiveness », Call for papers, Calenda, Published on Thursday, June 01, 2017, http://calenda.org/406566

AccueilLa compétitivité européenne

La compétitivité européenne

European competitiveness

Cahiers de recherche État, société, marché, Europe (Cahiers RESuME)

*  *  *

Publié le jeudi 01 juin 2017 par João Fernandes

Résumé

Les Cahiers RESuME sont une revue interdisciplinaire, publiée en français et en anglais, sur la problématique de l’intégration économique, financière et sociale dans l’Union européenne. Au titre de l’année 2017, les Cahiers RESuME souhaitent concentrer l’attention sur le thème de la compétitivité européenne pour clarifier ce débat et mieux souligner les enjeux économiques, sociaux, sociétaux et politiques liés à la compétitivité dans l’Union européenne. Les chercheurs des différentes disciplines (droit, sciences politiques, économie, histoire contemporaine, géographie, sociologie ou philosophie politique) intéressés sont invités à soumettre une proposition de sujet.

Annonce

Présentation

Les Cahiers de recherche État, Société, Marché, Europe (Cahiers RESuME) (ISSN : 2535-8480) sont une nouvelle revue interdisciplinaire, publiée en français et en anglais, sur la problématique de l’intégration économique, financière et sociale dans l’Union européenne. À travers des contributions de grande qualité scientifique soumise à évaluation par les pairs, la revue a pour objectif d’éclairer la transformation des rapports entre les pouvoirs publics (État, Union européenne), le Marché et la Société dans les champs économiques et sociaux. En filigrane, la revue s’intéresse à l’évolution des modèles d’État-Providence dans l’Union européenne et, plus largement, à la question de l’émergence d’un modèle social et économique européen.

Les Cahiers RESuME sont publiés dans le cadre du projet Resources on the Socio-Economic Model in Europe, co-financé par le programme ERASMUS + Action Jean Monnet Institutions et développé au sein de l’Université du Luxembourg. La direction éditoriale en est assurée par Frédéric Allemand. L’évaluation des contributions est assurée par un comité scientifique international. Les contributions sont accessibles en ligne, gratuitement, en open access et selon un format éditorial enrichi, sur la plateforme d’édition et de publication scientifique Resume.uni.lu.

Argumentaire

Au titre de l’année 2017, les Cahiers RESuME souhaitent concentrer l’attention sur le thème de la compétitivité européenne.

Employé à tout escient, le concept de compétitivité possède autant de significations qu’il existe de domaines et de sujets auxquels l’appliquer. Tout au plus, le concept de compétitivité (competitiveness), distinct de celui de la concurrence (competititon), est-il le plus souvent entendu, au niveau individuel, comme l'aptitude à faire face à la concurrence effective ou potentielle. Au niveau collectif, la compétitivité vise la capacité d’une économie à améliorer durablement le niveau de vie de ses habitants et à leur procurer un haut niveau d’emploi et de cohésion sociale, selon la définition qu’en donnent les institutions européennes.

Pour clarifier ce débat et mieux souligner les enjeux économiques, sociaux, sociétaux et politiques liés à la compétitivité dans l’Union européenne, les Cahiers RESuME invitent les auteurs intéressés à présenter des contributions sur l’un ou l’autre des thèmes suivants :

  •  Les fondements multiples et la représentation de la notion de compétitivité dans l’espace européen : Ce premier thème entend explorer les origines et les évolutions théoriques et philosophiques du concept de compétitivité et de sa représentation au sein de l’espace politique et économique européen.
  •  L’expression empirique et la régulation de la compétitivité au sein de l’Union européenne : Cette thématique s’attache à la mise en oeuvre concrète des politiques de compétitivité et à leurs effets économiques, politiques et sociaux. Ce thème vise aussi à examiner les régulations et la gouvernance mise en place pour encadrer/mettre en oeuvre la compétitivité à travers la présentation et la discussion critique de cas d’études (pays, collectivité territoriale, entreprises…)
  •  Les rapports entre compétitivité et solidarité : Ce dernier thème vise à examiner les liens que la compétitivité entretient avec la solidarité (entre Etats, citoyens, entités territoriales, secteurs) et son impact sur l’Etat-Providence. 

Les chercheurs des différentes disciplines (droit, sciences politiques, économie, histoire contemporaine, géographie, sociologie ou philosophie politique) intéressés sont invités à soumettre une proposition de sujet. Une attention particulière sera portée aux projets soumis par des chercheurs en début de carrière (moins de cinq ans d’expérience après la thèse).

Procédure de soumission

Les propositions de contribution sont à soumettre en ligne à l’adresse suivante :

Formulaire de soumission (version française)

Formulaire de soumission (version anglaise)

Les propositions de contribution sont à transmettre, en français ou en anglais,

au plus tard le vendredi 30 juin 2017, 12h GMT ;

elles doivent présenter le sujet en 3000 caractères maximum. Elles indiquent quelle est la méthodologie envisagée, l’originalité scientifique et la pertinence au regard des thèmes de recherche des Cahiers RESuME.

Les auteurs dont les propositions de contribution sont sélectionnées par le comité éditorial en seront informés au plus tard le vendredi 14 juillet.

Les contributions seront à transmettre au plus tard le lundi 25 septembre, 12h GMT. Un séminaire de présentation et de discussion des contributions sera organisé début octobre 2017. Les frais de transport et d’hébergement des contributions seront pris en charge par l’organisateur.

En savoir plus sur le projet RESuME

Le projet Ressources sur le modèle socio-économique européen (RESuME) est un projet co-financé par le programme ERASMUS+ Action Jean Monnet Institutions et l’Université du Luxembourg. Il a pour objectif d’étudier le modèle socio-économique européen, ses origines, ses caractéristiques actuelles et son évolution. Le projet se concentre sur la notion de compétitivité et sur l’interaction entre la société, les acteurs économiques et les autorités publiques.

Le projet est coordonné scientifiquement par Frédéric Allemand à l’Université du Luxembourg.

Il bénéficie de l’encadrement scientifique d’un comité scientifique composé de

  • Jean-Marc Ferry (philosophe, Chaire de Philosophie de l’Europe, Université de Nantes),
  • Blanche Sousi (professeur émérite, Chaire Jean Monnet ad personam en droit bancaire et monétaire européen, Université Lyon III),
  • Manuel Lopez Escudero (professeur de droit public, Université de Grenade),
  • Susanna Cafaro (professeur associé de droit de l’Union européenne, Université de Salento),
  • David Howarth (professeur d’économie politique, Université du Luxembourg),
  • Kenneth Dyson (professeur de science politique, Université de Cardiff).

Le comité est présidé par Nikos Scandamis (DG honoraire Commission européenne, professeur de droit, Université d’Athènes).

Les résultats du projet sont proposés sur une plateforme numérique d’édition et de publication conçue spécialement, la plateforme RESuME : http://resume.uni.lu . Développée en open source, la plateforme renouvelle les modèles de l’édition et de la publication de travaux scientifiques à travers la mise à disposition des auteurs de contenus et de services innovants.

Lieux

  • Luxembourg, Grand-Duché de Luxembourg

Dates

  • vendredi 30 juin 2017

Mots-clés

  • compétitivité, Union européenne, économie, politique, droit

Contacts

  • Alessia Virone
    courriel : alessia [dot] virone [at] uni [dot] lu

Source de l'information

  • Alessia Virone
    courriel : alessia [dot] virone [at] uni [dot] lu

Pour citer cette annonce

« La compétitivité européenne », Appel à contribution, Calenda, Publié le jeudi 01 juin 2017, http://calenda.org/406566