Home“It doesn’t even hurt!” Mock battles and the aesthetics of violence in traditional festivals

“It doesn’t even hurt!” Mock battles and the aesthetics of violence in traditional festivals

« Même pas mal ! » Combats figurés et esthétisations festives de la violence

Revue « Ethnologie française »

*  *  *

Published on Friday, September 08, 2017 by Céline Guilleux

Summary

By using the phrase “mock battle”, we propose to examine a large set of contemporary practices which display ritualized competitions according to very specific modes. The issue would like to gather articles which, on different fields, analyze practices consisting in “pretending to fight” and which display violence in a figurative, aesthetic, metaphorical or euphemistic way.

Announcement

Issue Editor

  • Laurent Sébastien Fournier, senior lecturer, Aix-Marseille Université, IDEMEC

Argument

The questions at the origin of this call for articles first concerned the phrase “mock battle”, a phrase often found in accepted British anthropology to designate fights within which the fighters engage without any intention to hurt their opponents. In this context, Gluckman [1954] studies “ritual wars”, between African tribes, which stop “at the first spilled blood”. Other similar examples are documented by historians, for instance in relation with the “lithobolia”, a ritual stone fight in Korea [Quisefit, 2012], or with urban factionalist struggles in Safavide Iran [Perry, 1998]. Closer to us, in the South of France, there were until the 19th century festivals called “bravades” [Roubin, 1970; Agulhon, 1970] where two rival troops were in contest for the ritual conquest of a fort. The same feature still exists today in the Spanish festivals known as “moros y cristianos” [Albert-Llorca & Gonzalez Alcantud, 2003; Krom, 2008]. In Russia, Propp [1987] wrote about the ritual struggles to take over a fortress built on a frozen river during the Spring festival of Maslenitsa. In New Guinea, Godelier [1982] has documented apparently comparable practices opposing two rival factions. All these examples seem to form a homogeneous class of practices featuring mimics of fighting, often connected with festive traditions well known by contemporary anthropologists [Fournier & al., 2009; Crociani-Windland, 2011; Boissevain, 2013; Gauthard, 2014], euphemizing or playing with customary oppositions. However, one of the problems risen by this well documented feature is that we usually don’t know much about the intentions of the actors, their real engagement, and the limits existing between play and fight.

By using the phrase “mock battle”, translated in French as “combat figuré” (figurative fight), we propose to examine a large set of contemporary practices which display ritualized competitions according to very specific modes. The issue would like to gather articles which, on different fields, analyze practices consisting in “pretending to fight” and which display violence in a figurative, aesthetic, metaphorical or euphemistic way.

In the mock battles we want to work on in this issue, the idea of figuration is central, like if the fight was only a pretext to display something else. Therefore, the case of mock battles will enable us to work out the notion of “figure” used by Gestalttheorie in order to understand better the interplay between “figure” and “background” in violent settings. This opens to a phenomenological comprehension of the formal conditions of perception and knowledge of violence, leading to a differentiation of the “figurative” and the “fundamental” aspects of violence. The case of mock battles then leads to understand violence as a complex relation or as a structure instead of simply explaining it as a matter of individual psychology or of social determinism. Mock battles eventually reinforce the formal theory of violence proposed by Simmel [1995] and the configurational theory developed by Elias and Dunning [1986], therefore contributing to a broader contemporary reflection on the anthropology of violence [Onofrio & Taylor, 2006; Benda-Beckmann & Pirie, 2007; Michaud, 2012].

The questions are then to know how far the protagonists of mock battles play their role, how they are determined by the context within which they act, to what extent their play is controlled, reflected, retained, and eventually what are the meanings of these fights in the specific social and cultural situations where they appear. Are these fights “all in fun”, are they euphemisms and pretenses, and what rules do they follow?

Aims of the issue

On an ethnographic ground, mock battles can be used as a training for true fights, for ritual or recreational reasons, or as a “performance” (like in theater, see Schechner [2006] and Pradier [2017]). This sort of practice, which can be compared with choreography or theater but is also more spontaneous in some cases, can be more or less intense. It is testified in different historical, geographical and social contexts. In the perspective of cognitive anthropology, Bateson [1956] uses the phrase “limbo-zone” to designate the game of doggies playing to bite each other but knowing the limits between playing and fighting. Piette [1988] has used this feature to build up his theory of “interstitial spaces” in festivals. Such notions can be useful to understand what happens in the mock battles we observe on the field.

This call for articles therefore encourages to question the category of mock battles using various contemporary fields, in Europe and abroad, in order to show the relevance of this category beyond the accepted sociological interpretations and the cognitivist hypotheses. How can we define the notion of mock battle out of fieldwork? How far do the protagonists go in these fights and how do they fix the limit between playing and fighting? What are the ripple effects and how are the limits collectively fixed? In a broader way, how is it possible through this category to understand violence, the ways it is negotiated, and the construction of ritualized or emblematized representations of violence?

In the answers to the call for papers, the focus shall concern the corporeal dimensions of mock battles as well as their social and cultural dimensions. The articles selected for this issue shall work out the notion of mock battle in different social settings such as sports (capoeira, catch-as-catch-can, wrestling, martial arts), dances (traditional fighting dances, punk pogos, collective death metal dances, hip-hop battles), festivals (ritual carnival fights, crowd play, pillow fights among students), role-playing games, verbal contests, theater performances, etc.

Analytic stakes: the category of mock battle

The issue wants to clarify the category of mock battle which visibly belongs to several different worlds but seems to be useful for anthropology by its cross-cutting nature. A comparative anthropological study of this hybrid category can shed light of older works but also feed more contemporary reflections on the anthropology of violence (what is the tipping point between non-violence and violence? When does a blow becomes a true blow?) and on the anthropology of aesthetics and styles.

The category of mock battle, which the accepted articles will document, could then enable, from an analytic point of view, to distinguish often confused dimensions: simulation, figuration, spectacle, etc. The issue will help to theorize a set of categories often difficult to differentiate on the field : “simulated fights” where actors only imitate conflicts within which they don’t really engage, “historical reenactments” connected with more or less folklorized representations and cut off from their original contexts, “ritual fights”, real fights connected with specific rituals or festivals but using real blows and violence, or “agonistic games” consisting in fighting until the opponent dies for true (in bullfighting or dueling) or symbolically (in collective sports, or in individual contests like wrestling).

This issue wants to gather articles concerning mock battles and the aesthetics of violence in traditional festival or games, but also in more actual situations. A whole set of examples can be documented, ranging from practices designed to tame violence to moments ritualizing customary conflicts. In some cases, the fights suppose real training; in other cases, they are limited to a symbolical display.

In order not to simply oppose traditional and contemporary practices, we would like to gather contributions concerning different sorts of practices. The authors are invited to concentrate on practices strongly depending on the context, when the mock battles are integrated to a festive frame (ritual and festive fights), on practices belonging to the world of games and sports, which are independent of the context and follow variable and negotiated rules (ludic fights), or on practices reusing the feature of mock battles in specific social settings today.

Agenda

The proposed articles (4 000 to 6 000 characters: title and abstract, including references) will be sent no later

than December 10th 2017.

They will mention the main axes of the demonstration and the material used (fieldwork and/or archives) and will add a bio-bibliographical presentation of the author.

They will be sent to the issue editor: laurent.fournier@univ-amu.fr. The selection of accepted proposals will be transmitted to the authors in January 2018.

The final versions of the articles (35 000 to 70 000 characters max., including spaces and references) shall be sent before April 30th 2018. The publication of this issue of Ethnologie Française is scheduled for Summer 2019.

References

Agulhon Maurice, 1970, La République au village : les populations du Var de la Révolution à la Seconde République, Paris, Plon.

Albert-Llorca Marlène & José Antonio Gonzalez Alcantud, 2003, Moros y Cristianos. Representaciones del otro en las fiestas del Mediterraneo occidental, Toulouse, Presses Universitaires du Mirail, Grenade, Diputacion de Granada.

Bateson Gregory, 1956, « The message “This is play” », in Bertram Schaffner (ed.), Group Process. Transaction of the Second Conference, New York, Josiah Macy Jr Foundation : 145-242.

Benda-Beckmann Keebet von & Fernanda Pirie (eds.), 2007, Order and Disorder: Anthropological Perspectives, New-York et Oxford, Berghahn Books.

Boissevain Jeremy, 2013, Factions, Friends and Feasts. Anthropological Perspectives on the Mediterranean, New-York & Oxford, Berghahn Books.

Crociani-Windland Lita, 2011, Festivals, Affect and Identity. A Deleuzian Apprenticeship in Central Italian Communities, London – New-York – Delhi, Anthem Press.

Elias Norbert & Eric Dunning, 1986, Sport et civilisation : la violence maîtrisée, Paris, Fayard.

Fournier Laurent Sébastien, Dominique Crozat, Catherine Bernie-Boissard & Claude Chastagner (eds.), 2009, La fête au présent. Mutations des fêtes au sein des loisirs, Paris, L’Harmattan.

Gauthard Nathalie (ed.), 2014, Fêtes, mascarades et carnavals. Circulations, transformations et contemporanéité, Lavérune, Editions L’Entretemps.

Gluckman Max, 1954, Rituals of Rebellion in South-East Africa, Manchester University Press.

Godelier Maurice, 1982, La production des grands hommes : pouvoir et domination masculine chez les Baruya de Nouvelle-Guinée, Paris, Fayard.

Krom Marjoke, 2008 « Festivals of Moors and Christians : Performance, Commodity and Identity in folk Celebrations in Southern Spain », Journal of Mediterranean Studies, vol. 18, n° 1 : 119-138.

Michaud Yves, 2012, La violence, Paris, Presses Universitaires de France.

Onofrio Salvatore (d’) & Anne-Christine Taylor (eds.), 2006, La guerre en tête, Paris, Cahiers de l’Herne.

Perry John, 1998, « Artificial Antagonism in Pre-Modern Iran : The Haydari-Ne’mati Urban Factions », in Donald J. Kagay & L. J. Andrew Villalon (eds.), The Final Argument. The Imprint of Violence on Society in Medieval and Modern Europe, Woodbridge, The Boydell Press : 107-118.

Piette Albert, 1988, « L’intervalle festif. Hypothèses théoriques et problématique de recherche », Cahiers internationaux de sociologie, LXXXV : 325-342.

Pradier Jean-Marie, 2017, « De la performance theory aux performance studies », Journal des Anthropologues, 148-149 : 287-300.

Propp Vladimir, 1987 [1963], Les fêtes agraires russes, Paris, Maisonneuve et Larose.

Quisefit Laurent, 2012, « La violence lithobolique en Corée : jeu de guerre, simulacre cathartique et rituel agricole », in Luc Robène (dir.), Le sport et la guerre, xixe-xxe siècles, Rennes, Presses Universitaires de Rennes  53-62.

Roubin Lucienne, 1970, Chambrettes des Provençaux, Paris, Plon.

Schechner Richard 2006, Performance Studies. An Introduction, New York, Routledge.

Simmel Georg, 1995 [1918], Le conflit, Belval, Circé-Poche.

Date(s)

  • Sunday, December 10, 2017

Keywords

  • violence, rituel, jeu, fête, combat

Contact(s)

  • Laurent-Sébastien Fournier
    courriel : laurent [dot] fournier [at] univ-amu [dot] fr

Reference Urls

Information source

  • Nicolas Adell
    courriel : nicolasadell [at] yahoo [dot] fr

To cite this announcement

« “It doesn’t even hurt!” Mock battles and the aesthetics of violence in traditional festivals », Call for papers, Calenda, Published on Friday, September 08, 2017, http://calenda.org/415437

Accueil« Même pas mal ! » Combats figurés et esthétisations festives de la violence

« Même pas mal ! » Combats figurés et esthétisations festives de la violence

“It doesn’t even hurt!” Mock battles and the aesthetics of violence in traditional festivals

Revue « Ethnologie française »

*  *  *

Publié le vendredi 08 septembre 2017 par Céline Guilleux

Résumé

Le numéro souhaite rassembler des contributions qui, sur différents terrains, abordent des pratiques consistant à « faire semblant de se battre », et qui représentent des situations de violence de façon plus ou moins figurées, esthétisées, métaphorisées ou euphémisées.

Annonce

Coordination

  • Laurent Sébastien Fournier, maître de conférences HDR, Aix-Marseille Université, IDEMEC

Argumentaire

Le questionnement qui est à l’origine de cet appel à contributions a d’abord concerné l’expression « mock battle », une expression qui existe dans l’anthropologie britannique classique pour désigner des combats dans lesquels des protagonistes s’engagent sans intention de faire mal à leurs adversaires. C’est dans ce contexte que Gluckman [1954] parle de « guerres rituelles », entre tribus africaines, qui s’arrêtent « au premier sang versé ». D’autres exemples de ce type sont attestés par les historiens, par exemple à propos des « lithobolies » coréennes [Quisefit, 2012] ou des luttes entre factions urbaines dans l’Iran safavide [Perry, 1998]. Plus près de nous, dans le sud de la France, il existait jusqu’au xixe siècle des « bravades » [Roubin, 1970 ; Agulhon, 1970] où deux troupes rivales se battaient pour la prise rituelle d’un fortin. Le même motif existe encore aujourd’hui lors des fêtes espagnoles dites « moros y cristianos » [Albert-Llorca & Gonzalez Alcantud, 2003 ; Krom, 2008]. En Russie, Propp [1987] décrit les batailles rituelles pour s’emparer d’une forteresse de glace construite dans le lit d’une rivière glacée à l’occasion des fêtes printanières de la Maslenitsa. En Nouvelle-Guinée, Godelier [1982] a documenté des pratiques apparemment comparables qui opposent deux factions rivales. Il semble y avoir là une classe homogène de pratiques qui se rapportent à des parodies de combats, souvent liées à des traditions festives bien étudiées par ailleurs par l’anthropologie contemporaine [Fournier & al., 2009 ; Crociani-Windland, 2011 ; Boissevain, 2013 ; Gauthard, 2014], combinant euphémisation et théâtralisation d’oppositions coutumières. Mais un des problèmes posés par ce motif, pourtant bien documenté dans la littérature, est qu’on reste en général peu renseignés sur l’intentionnalité des acteurs, sur leur engagement réel, et sur les limites qui existent entre jeu et combat.

En adaptant l’expression de « mock battle », traduite en français en « combat figuré », nous proposons  d’examiner un ensemble assez vaste de pratiques contemporaines qui mettent en scène des compétitions ritualisées selon des modalités bien spécifiques. Le numéro souhaite rassembler des contributions qui, sur différents terrains, abordent des pratiques consistant à « faire semblant de se battre », et qui représentent des situations de violence de façon plus ou moins figurées, esthétisées, métaphorisées ou euphémisées.

Dans les « combats figurés » que nous souhaitons aborder dans ce numéro, l’idée de figuration est centrale, comme si le combat n’était qu’un prétexte à mettre en scène autre chose. Ainsi, le cas des « combats figurés » permettra de retravailler la notion de « figure » chère à la Gestalttheorie afin de mieux comprendre l’articulation entre « figure » et « fond » dans les situations de violence. Cela ouvre la possibilité d’une approche phénoménologique des conditions formelles de perception et de connaissance de la violence, conduisant à mieux distinguer les enjeux « figuratifs » et les enjeux « fondamentaux » de cette dernière. Le cas des « combats figurés » permet donc de comprendre la complexité de la violence en termes relationnistes ou structuralistes plutôt que de l’expliquer de manière trop simpliste en termes de psychologie individuelle ou de déterminations sociales. Il permet ainsi de compléter l’approche formelle de la violence proposée par Simmel [1995], ainsi que l’approche configurationnelle développée par Elias et Dunning [1986], et contribue ainsi à une réflexion générale, très actuelle, sur l’anthropologie de la violence [Onofrio & Taylor, 2006 ; Benda-Beckmann & Pirie, 2007 ; Michaud, 2012].

Les questions qui se posent sont alors de savoir jusqu’à quel point les participants à ces « combats figurés » sont présents à leur rôle, comment ils sont déterminés par le contexte dans lequel ils s’inscrivent, jusqu’à quel point leur action est maîtrisée, pensée, retenue, et quel est finalement le sens de ces combats dans les situations sociales et culturelles spécifiques où ils apparaissent. S’agit-il de « combats pour rire », de semblants de combats plus ou moins euphémisés, et quelles en sont les règles ?

Objectifs du numéro

En termes ethnographiques, les « combats figurés » peuvent se faire pour s’entraîner aux vrais combats, pour des raisons rituelles, récréatives, ou pour le goût de la « performance » (au sens théâtral du terme, voir Schechner [2006] et Pradier [2017]). Cette classe de pratiques, qui à certains égards rejoint la chorégraphie ou le théâtre mais peut aussi être plus spontanée, peut posséder plus ou moins d’intensité. Elle est attestée en divers contextes historiques, géographiques et sociaux. Dans une perspective d’anthropologie cognitive, Bateson [1956] parle de « limbo-zone » pour désigner le jeu des jeunes chiots qui jouent à se mordre mais connaissent les limites entre le jeu et le non-jeu. Piette [1988] a construit son analyse des « espaces interstitiels » des fêtes à partir de là. Ces notions peuvent être utiles pour comprendre ce qui se passe dans les « combats figurés » observables en ethnographie.

Le présent appel à contributions encourage donc à interroger la catégorie de « combat figuré » à partir de terrains contemporains variés, en Europe mais aussi ailleurs, pour montrer la pertinence de cette catégorie au-delà des interprétations sociologiques classiques ou des hypothèses cognitivistes. Comment définir la notion de combat figuré à partir de l’ethnographie ? Jusqu’où les participants vont-ils dans ces combats et comment définissent-ils la frontière entre le jeu et le non-jeu ? Quels sont les effets d’entraînement, et comment fixe-t-on collectivement les limites ? De manière plus générale, comment cette catégorie permet-elle de comprendre la violence, les manières dont on apprend à négocier avec elle, et au-delà, la construction de représentations ritualisées ou emblématisées de la violence ?

Dans les réponses attendues, l’attention devra être portée aux dimensions corporelles des combats figurés, mais aussi à leurs dimensions sociales et culturelles. Les articles attendus dans le cadre de ce numéro thématique devront travailler la notion de combat figuré à partir de différents univers sociaux tels que le sport (capoeira, catch, lutte, arts martiaux), la danse (danses de combat traditionnelles, pogos punk, danses collectives death metal, battles hip-hop), les fêtes (combats ritualisés du carnaval, jeux de foule, batailles de polochons des fêtes étudiantes), les jeux de rôle, les joutes oratoires, les performances théâtrales, etc.

Enjeux analytiques : la catégorie du « combat figuré »

L’ambition du numéro est dès lors de clarifier la catégorie de « combat figuré » qui visiblement participe de plusieurs univers différents mais semble pouvoir être utile en anthropologie par sa transversalité. Une approche ethnologique comparative de cette catégorie hybride semble de nature à pouvoir éclairer rétrospectivement certains travaux historiques, tout en nourrissant des réflexions plus contemporaines sur l’anthropologie de la violence (où se situe le point de bascule entre non-violence et violence ? à partir de quand ou de quoi un coup est-il un « vrai » coup ?) ainsi que sur l’anthropologie des esthétiques et des styles.

La catégorie de « combat figuré », que documenteront les articles retenus, pourrait ainsi permettre, d’un point de vue analytique, de dissocier des dimensions souvent confondues : le simulé, le figuré, le spectacle, etc. Le numéro contribuera ainsi à réfléchir à un ensemble de catégories souvent difficiles à différencier en ethnographie : « conflits simulés » où les acteurs ne font que mimer des conflits dans lesquels ils ne s’engagent pas vraiment, « reconstitutions historiques » qui renvoient à des représentations plus ou moins folklorisées et coupées de leurs contextes d’origine, « combats rituels », véritables combats rattachés à des rites ou à des fêtes spécifiques mais assortis de vrais coups et de violences, ou encore « jeux agonistiques » consistant à se battre jusqu’à la défaite de l’adversaire et à sa mort réelle (cas de la tauromachie ou du duel) ou symbolique (dans les sports collectifs, ou individuels comme la lutte).

Axes problématiques

Ce projet de numéro souhaite réunir des articles concernant les combats figurés et les situations d’esthétisation de la violence dans le contexte de fêtes ou de jeux traditionnels, mais aussi sur des scènes plus actuelles. Toute une gamme de situations existe, allant de pratiques destinées à domestiquer la violence à des moments de ritualisation de certains conflits coutumiers. Certains combats donnent lieu à des entraînements réels ; d’autres ne sont que des représentations symboliques. 

Pour ne pas opposer de manière trop simpliste les pratiques traditionnelles et contemporaines, nous souhaitons réunir des contributions relatives à différentes catégories de pratiques. Les auteurs de propositions pourront se concentrer sur des pratiques fortement dépendantes du contexte, où les combats étudiés sont intégrés à un cadre festif très affirmé (batailles rituelles et festives), sur des pratiques apparentées au monde des jeux et des sports, qui peuvent se développer indépendamment du contexte et en suivant des règles sujettes à variations et à négociations (combats ludiques), ou encore sur des pratiques qui réutilisent le motif du combat figuré dans des mondes sociaux singuliers à l’époque contemporaine.

Calendrier

Les propositions de contributions (titre et résumé de 4 000 à 6 000 signes, références bibliographiques incluses) sont attendues

pour le 10 décembre 2017.

Elles mentionneront les principaux axes de démonstration ainsi que le matériau (enquêtes et/ou archives) mobilisé et seront assorties d’une notice bio-bibliographique de l’auteur.

Elles doivent être envoyées au coordinateur du dossier : laurent.fournier@univ-amu.fr. La sélection des propositions sera transmise aux auteur-e-s courant janvier 2018.

Les textes définitifs (de 35 000 à 70 000 signes max., espaces et bibliographie compris) devront être envoyés avant le 30 avril 2018. La publication de ce numéro d’Ethnologie Française est prévue pour l’été 2019.

Références bibliographiques

Agulhon Maurice, 1970, La République au village : les populations du Var de la Révolution à la Seconde République, Paris, Plon.

Albert-Llorca Marlène & José Antonio Gonzalez Alcantud, 2003, Moros y Cristianos. Representaciones del otro en las fiestas del Mediterraneo occidental, Toulouse, Presses Universitaires du Mirail, Grenade, Diputacion de Granada.

Bateson Gregory, 1956, « The message “This is play” », in Bertram Schaffner (ed.), Group Process. Transaction of the Second Conference, New York, Josiah Macy Jr Foundation : 145-242.

Benda-Beckmann Keebet von & Fernanda Pirie (eds.), 2007, Order and Disorder: Anthropological Perspectives, New-York et Oxford, Berghahn Books.

Boissevain Jeremy, 2013, Factions, Friends and Feasts. Anthropological Perspectives on the Mediterranean, New-York & Oxford, Berghahn Books.

Crociani-Windland Lita, 2011, Festivals, Affect and Identity. A Deleuzian Apprenticeship in Central Italian Communities, London – New-York – Delhi, Anthem Press.

Elias Norbert & Eric Dunning, 1986, Sport et civilisation : la violence maîtrisée, Paris, Fayard.

Fournier Laurent Sébastien, Dominique Crozat, Catherine Bernie-Boissard & Claude Chastagner (eds.), 2009, La fête au présent. Mutations des fêtes au sein des loisirs, Paris, L’Harmattan.

Gauthard Nathalie (ed.), 2014, Fêtes, mascarades et carnavals. Circulations, transformations et contemporanéité, Lavérune, Editions L’Entretemps.

Gluckman Max, 1954, Rituals of Rebellion in South-East Africa, Manchester University Press.

Godelier Maurice, 1982, La production des grands hommes : pouvoir et domination masculine chez les Baruya de Nouvelle-Guinée, Paris, Fayard.

Krom Marjoke, 2008 « Festivals of Moors and Christians : Performance, Commodity and Identity in folk Celebrations in Southern Spain », Journal of Mediterranean Studies, vol. 18, n° 1 : 119-138.

Michaud Yves, 2012, La violence, Paris, Presses Universitaires de France.

Onofrio Salvatore (d’) & Anne-Christine Taylor (eds.), 2006, La guerre en tête, Paris, Cahiers de l’Herne.

Perry John, 1998, « Artificial Antagonism in Pre-Modern Iran : The Haydari-Ne’mati Urban Factions », in Donald J. Kagay & L. J. Andrew Villalon (eds.), The Final Argument. The Imprint of Violence on Society in Medieval and Modern Europe, Woodbridge, The Boydell Press : 107-118.

Piette Albert, 1988, « L’intervalle festif. Hypothèses théoriques et problématique de recherche », Cahiers internationaux de sociologie, LXXXV : 325-342.

Pradier Jean-Marie, 2017, « De la performance theory aux performance studies », Journal des Anthropologues, 148-149 : 287-300.

Propp Vladimir, 1987 [1963], Les fêtes agraires russes, Paris, Maisonneuve et Larose.

Quisefit Laurent, 2012, « La violence lithobolique en Corée : jeu de guerre, simulacre cathartique et rituel agricole », in Luc Robène (dir.), Le sport et la guerre, xixe-xxe siècles, Rennes, Presses Universitaires de Rennes  53-62.

Roubin Lucienne, 1970, Chambrettes des Provençaux, Paris, Plon.

Schechner Richard 2006, Performance Studies. An Introduction, New York, Routledge.

Simmel Georg, 1995 [1918], Le conflit, Belval, Circé-Poche.

Dates

  • dimanche 10 décembre 2017

Mots-clés

  • violence, rituel, jeu, fête, combat

Contacts

  • Laurent-Sébastien Fournier
    courriel : laurent [dot] fournier [at] univ-amu [dot] fr

URLS de référence

Source de l'information

  • Nicolas Adell
    courriel : nicolasadell [at] yahoo [dot] fr

Pour citer cette annonce

« « Même pas mal ! » Combats figurés et esthétisations festives de la violence », Appel à contribution, Calenda, Publié le vendredi 08 septembre 2017, http://calenda.org/415437