HomeA holiday from war?

A holiday from war?

Être à la guerre sans être à la guerre ?

“Resting” behind the lines during the First World War

Moments de vacance(s) sur l’arrière-front pendant la première guerre mondiale

*  *  *

Published on Tuesday, September 19, 2017 by Céline Guilleux

Summary

What do the soldiers do when they are not on the battlefield? The broadening of the definition of war experience in recent historiography has transformed our spatial and temporal understanding of the conflict, shifting the scope away from the front lines and the activities of combat. Beyond the battlefield and its traditional martial associations emerges another representation of the warrior and the soldier, along with another experience of the war.

Announcement

Université Paris III - Sorbonne Nouvelle

June 22 & 23, 2018, Maison de la Recherche

Organisation

  • Sarah Montin (EA PRISMES)
  • Clémentine Tholas-Disset (EA CREW)

Argument

His men threw the discus and the javelin, and practiced archery on the shore, and their horses, un-harnessed, munched idly on cress and parsley from the marsh, the covered chariots housed in their masters’ huts. Longing for their warlike leader, his warriors roamed their camp, out of the fight. (lliad, Book II)

What do the soldiers do when they are not on the battlefield? The broadening of the definition of war experience in recent historiography has transformed our spatial and temporal understanding of the conflict, shifting the scope away from the front lines and the activities of combat. Beyond the battlefield and its traditional martial associations emerges another representation of the warrior and the soldier, along with another experience of the war.

Situated a few kilometres behind the front lines, the rear area is the space where soldiers rotated after several days burrowed at the front or in reserve lines, surfacing from the trenches to join rest stations, training installations, ammunition and food supply depots, hospitals, brothels, command headquarters or soldiers’ shelters. In that space in-between which is neither the site of combat nor that of civilian life, the soldiers were less exposed to danger and followed a barracks routine enlivened by relaxing activities which aimed to restore morale. If some soldiers found there a form of rest far from the fury of the guns, others suffered from the encroaching discipline, the imposition of training or the promiscuity with soldiers that were no longer brothers-in-arms in thas buffer zone where they spent 3/5ths of their time. Both a place of abandonment and a place of control, the rear area merges at times with the civilian world as it occupies farms and villages and hosts non-combatants such as doctors, nurses or volunteers. With battles being waged close by, the “back of the front” (Paul Cazin) is a meeting place for soldiers of different armies and allied countries, as well as for officers and privates, soldiers and civilians, men and women, foreign troops and locals living in occupied zones. The rear area is not only a spatial concept but also a temporal one: it is a moment of reprieve, of passing forgetfulness and illusive freedom; a moment of “liberated time” (Thierry Hardier and Jean-François Jagielski) indicating a period of relative rest between combat and leave, a short-lived respite before returning to the front. If the combatant is entitled to repose and time to himself, military regulations demand that he never cease to be a soldier. As such we have to consider these moments of relaxation within the strict frame of military life at the front and the role played by civilian organizations such as the YMCA or the Salvation Army, who managed the shelters for soldiers on the Western Front.

Though seemingly incompatible with war experience, certain recreational activities specific to civilian life make their way to the rear area with the approval of military command. Moments of relaxation and leisure are encouraged in order to maintain or restore the soldier’s physical and emotional well-being, thus sustaining the war effort. They also ensure that the soldier is not entirely cut off from “normal” life and bring comfort to those who are not granted leave. Liberated time is not free time, just as periods without war are not periods of peace. These “holidays from war” are not wholly synonymous with rest as the men are almost constantly occupied (review, training exercises, instruction) in order to fight idleness and ensure the soldiers stay fit for duty. The rear is thus also a place of heightened collective practises such as sports, hunting and fishing, walking, bathing, discussions, creation of trench journals, film projections, concert parties, theatre productions, religious services as well as individual activities such as reading, writing and artistic creation.

Between communion with the group and meditative isolation, experiences vary from one soldier to another, depending on social origins, level of education and rank, all of which take on a new meaning at the rear where the egalitarian spirit fostered during combat is often put to the test. Sociability differs in periods of fighting and periods of recovery, and is not always considered positively by the soldiers. However, despite the tensions induced by life at the rear, these “holidays from war” and spells of idleness are often represented as idyllic “pastoral moments” (Paul Fussell) in the visual and written productions of the combatants. The enchanted interlude sandwiched between two bouts of war becomes thus a literary and artistic trope, evoking, by contrast, a fleeting yet exhilarating return to life, innocence and harmony, a rediscovery of the pleasures of the body following its alienation and humiliation during combat.

In order to further our understanding of the historical, political and aesthetic concerns of life at the rear, long considered a parenthesis in the experience of war, this interdisciplinary conference will address, but will not be limited to, the following themes:

  • The ideological, medical and administrative construction of the notion of “rest” in the First World War (as it applied to combatants but also auxiliary corps and personnel).
  • Paramilitary, recreational and artistic activities at the rear; the organisation of activities in particular leisure and entertainment, the role of the army and independent contractors (civilian organisations, etc.)
  • Sociability between soldiers (hierarchy, tensions, camaraderie); the rear area as meeting place  with the other (between soldiers/auxiliary personnel, combatants, locals, men/women, foreign troops, etc.), site of passage, exploration, initiation or “return to the norm” (“rest huts” built to offer a “home away from home”), testimonies from  inhabitants of the occupied zones
  • Articulations and dissonances between community life and time to oneself, collective experience and individual experience
  • The  historic and artistic conceptualisation of the rear area, specific artistic and literary modes at the rear by contrast with writings at the front
  • Staging life at the rear: scenes of country-life, idyllic representations of non-combat as farniente or hellscapes, bathing parties or penitentiary universes, the figure of the soldier as dilettante, flâneur and solitary rambler, in the productions (memoirs, accounts, correspondence, novels, poetry, visual arts, etc.) of combatants and non-combatants;
  • Cultural, political and media (re)construction of the figure of the “soldier at rest” (war photography, postcards, songs, etc.); representations of the male and female body at rest, constructions of a new model of masculinity (sexuality and sport), and their place in war production

In order to foster dialogue between the Anglophone, Francophone and Germanophone areas of study, the conference will mainly focus on the Western Front. However proposals dealing with other fronts will be examined. Presentations will preferably be in English.

Keynote speaker

  • Tim Kendall (University of Exeter)

Submission guidelines

Please send a 250-word proposal and a short bio

before November 20, 2017

to :montin.sarah@gmail.com and clementine.tholas@univ-paris3.fr

Notification of decision: December 15th 2017

Scientific committee

Proposals will be reviewed by the Conference scientific committee:

  • Jacub Kazecki (Bates College)
  • Jennifer Kilgore-Caradec (Université de Caen)
  • Catherine Lanone (Université Sorbonne-Nouvelle)
  • Mark Meigs (Université Paris Diderot)
  • Sarah Montin (Université Sorbonne-Nouvelle)
  • John Mullen (Université de Rouen)
  • Karen Randell (Nottingham Trent University)
  • Serge Ricard (Université Sorbonne-Nouvelle)
  • Clémentine Tholas-Disset (Université Sorbonne-Nouvelle)

Bibliography

AUDOUIN ROUZEAU, Stéphane & Jean-Jacques Becker (ed.) Encyclopédie de la Grande Guerre 1914-1918, Paris: Perrin, 2012 (Bayard, 2004).

BOURKE, Joanna, Dismembering the Male: Men's Bodies, Britain and the Great War, London: Reaktion Books, 1996.

CAZALS, Rémy et André Loez, 14-18. Vivre et mourir dans les tranchées, Paris: Tallandier, 2012.

COCHET, François La Grande Guerre: Fin d'un monde, début d'un siècle, Paris: Perrin, 2004.

DAS, Santanu, Race, Empire and First World War Writing, Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2011.

DAS, Santanu, Touch and Intimacy in First World War Literature, Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2005.

FULLER, J. G. Troop Morale and Popular Culture in the British and Dominion Armies, 1914-1918, London : Clarendon Press, 1990.

FUSSELL, Paul, The Great War and Modern Memory, Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1975.

HARDIER, Thierry & Jean-François Jagielski,  Oublier l'apocalypse ? Loisirs et distractions des combattants pendant la Grande Guerre, Paris: Imago, 2014.

HARTER, Hélène, Les Etats-Unis dans la Grande Guerre, Paris: Tallandier, 2017.

LAFON, Alexandre, La Camaraderie au front, 1914-1918, Paris: Armand Colin, 2014.

MAROT, Nicolas, Tous Unis dans la tranchée? 1914-1918, les intellectuels rencontrent le peuple, Paris: Seuil, 2013.

MEIGS, Mark, Optimism at Armageddon: Voices of American Participants in the First World War, New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 1997.

REZNICK, Jeffrey, Healing the Nation: Soldiers and the Culture of Caregiving in Britain during the First World War, Manchester : Manchester University Press, 2004.

SMITH, Angela K. & Krista Cowman (ed.), Landscapes and Voices of the Great War, New York: Routledge, 2017.

TERRER Thierry & J.A. Magan (ed.), Sport, Militarism and the Great War: Martial Manliness and Armageddon, New York: Routledge, 2012.

THOLAS DISSET, Clémentine & Karen Ritzenhoff (ed.), Humor, Entertainment and Popular Culture during World War One, New York: Palgrave MacMillan, 2015.

WINTER, Jay (ed.), The Cambridge History of the First World War, Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2013

Places

  • Université Sorbonne Nouvelle, Maison de la recherche, - 4 rue des Irlandais
    Paris, France (75005)

Date(s)

  • Monday, November 20, 2017

Keywords

  • première guerre mondiale, arrière-front, combattant, expérience, guerre, témoignage, littérature, arts visuels

Contact(s)

  • Clémentine Tholas-Disset
    courriel : clementine [dot] tholas [at] univ-paris3 [dot] fr
  • Sarah Montin
    courriel : montin [dot] sarah [at] gmail [dot] com

Information source

  • Sarah Montin
    courriel : montin [dot] sarah [at] gmail [dot] com

To cite this announcement

« A holiday from war? », Call for papers, Calenda, Published on Tuesday, September 19, 2017, http://calenda.org/416246

AccueilÊtre à la guerre sans être à la guerre ?

Être à la guerre sans être à la guerre ?

A holiday from war?

Moments de vacance(s) sur l’arrière-front pendant la première guerre mondiale

“Resting” behind the lines during the First World War

*  *  *

Publié le mardi 19 septembre 2017 par Céline Guilleux

Résumé

Que font les soldats des pays belligérants quand ils ne se battent pas ? L’élargissement de la définition de l’expérience de guerre dans l’historiographie récente a transformé notre compréhension spatiale, voire temporelle, du conflit, déplaçant la focale à distance des premières lignes et de l’activité combattante. Hors du champ de bataille et des représentations martiales traditionnelles se dessine ainsi une autre figure du guerrier et du soldat, une expérience seconde de la guerre.

Annonce

Université Paris III - Sorbonne Nouvelle

22 & 23 juin 2018, Maison de la Recherche

Organisation

  • Sarah Montin (EA PRISMES)
  • Clémentine Tholas-Disset (EA CREW)

Argumentaire

Ses soldats, sur le rivage de la mer, se plaisent à lancer le disque, le javelot et les flèches ; ses chevaux, chacun près de leurs chars, paissent le lotus et l’ache humide des prairies ; et les chars magnifiques reposent dans les tentes des chefs, qui regrettent ce héros chéri d’Arès ; ils errent dans les champs, et ne se mêlent point aux combats. (Iliade, livre II).

Que font les soldats des pays belligérants quand ils ne se battent pas? L’élargissement de la définition de l’expérience de guerre dans l’historiographie récente, a transformé notre compréhension spatiale, voire temporelle, du conflit, déplaçant la focale à distance des premières lignes et de l’activité combattante. Hors du champ de bataille et des représentations martiales traditionnelles se dessinent ainsi une autre figure du guerrier et du soldat, une expérience seconde de la guerre.

Situé à quelques kilomètres du front, l’arrière-front est le lieu où l’on ressort de l’enfouissement des tranchées après plusieurs jours passés en première ligne ou en ligne de réserve, où l’on ressurgit à la surface pour trouver des cantonnements de repos, des zones d’entraînement, des dépôts de munitions et de nourriture, des hôpitaux, des bordels, des postes de commandements ou des foyers de soldats dévolus aux moments récréatifs. Dans cet entre-deux qui n’est, traditionnellement, ni le lieu des combats ni celui de la vie civile, les soldats sont moins exposés au danger et obéissent à une routine de caserne ponctuée d’activités de détente destinées au ravitaillement moral. Si certains soldats trouvent sur l’arrière-front une forme de repos loin du bruit et de la fureur de l’artillerie, d’autres souffrent de la discipline qui y règne, des efforts inutiles imposés («l’esquinte-bonhomme ») ou de la promiscuité avec des soldats qui ne sont plus des frères d’armes dans cette zone tampon. À la fois lieu d’abandon et lieu contrôlé, l’arrière-front se confond également avec le monde civil par certains aspects car il peut occuper des fermes ou des villages et accueillir des non-combattants comme des médecins, des infirmières, des bénévoles. Ainsi à l’« arrière de l’avant » (Paul Cazin), se rencontrent en marge des batailles livrées à proximité des soldats des différents corps armés et de pays alliés, des officiers et des simples soldats, des soldats et des civils, des hommes et des femmes, des troupes étrangères et des populations locales dans les zones occupées. L’arrière-front n’est pas seulement un lieu, c’est aussi un temps : le temps d’un oubli passager ou d’une liberté illusoire, « un temps libéré » (Thierry Hardier et Jean-François Jagielski) qui représente 3/5 du temps passé au front pour le soldat. C’est un repos relatif entre les combats et la permission, un répit de courte durée avant le retour sur les premières lignes. Si le combattant est en droit de jouir d’une détente et de temps à soi, le règlement impose qu’il ne doit pas cesser un instant d’être soldat.

Certaines activités récréatives de la vie civile, en apparence peu compatibles avec l’expérience guerrière, font leur chemin jusqu’au l’arrière-front, avec l’aval du commandement militaire. Des temps de décompression et de loisir sont laissés aux troupes pour tenter de maintenir une forme de bien-être émotionnel et ne pas couper les soldats de la vie dite normale. Cette détente sert à se ressourcer tant physiquement que moralement et tente d’apporter un certaine forme de réconfort en particulier aux soldats qui ne bénéficient pas de permissions. Le temps libéré n’est pas du temps libre, le temps sans guerre n’est pourtant pas le temps de la paix. Ces moments de vacance(s) ne constituent pas réellement du repos puisque les hommes sont occupés de manière presque continue pour combattre l’ennui (revues, exercices d’entraînement, instruction). Ils s’articulent autour de pratiques collectives comme les jeux, les activités sportives, la chasse et la pêche, les promenades, les bains, les discussions, la création de journaux de tranchées, les projections de films, les spectacles de théâtre et de chansons, les concerts, les offices religieux, mais aussi des pratiques individuelles comme la lecture, la correspondance ou la création artistique.

Entre communion avec le groupe et isolement méditatif, le vécu des soldats à l’arrière-front n’est pas le même en fonction de leur origine sociale, de leur niveau d’éducation et de leur grade militaire, et hors des tranchées on observe une rupture de l’équilibre égalitaire qui naît parfois au contact du combat. La socialisation s’organise ainsi différemment pendant les périodes d’affrontement et de récupération et n’est pas toujours vécue de manière positive par les soldats. Cependant, malgré ces tensions entre l’être-ensemble et le besoin d’isolement, les moments de vacance et les périodes d’oisiveté sont souvent représentés de manière idéalisée comme des « moments de pastorale » (Paul Fussell) dans les productions écrites et visuelles des combattants. L’interlude enchanté entre deux moments de guerre devient ainsi un trope littéraire et artistique, le contraste avec le front évoquant le retour momentané à la vie, l’innocence et l’harmonie retrouvée, la redécouverte des plaisirs du corps qui succéderait à son aliénation et son humiliation lors du combat.

Afin de comprendre les enjeux historiques, politiques et esthétiques de la vie sur l’arrière-front, de déterminer la place et le statut de ce temps de vacance longtemps analysé comme une parenthèse dans l’expérience de guerre, ce colloque interdisciplinaire nous amènera à nous interroger plus en avant sur les thèmes suivants:

  • La construction et l’évolution de la notion (idéologique, médicale, administrative) de “repos” du soldat ainsi que du personnel auxiliaire pendant la Première Guerre mondiale
  • Les différentes activités paramilitaires et récréatives ainsi que les productions créatives qui voient le jour à l’arrière-front; l’organisation de la vie à l’arrière-front et en particulier du divertissement, le rôle de l’armée et des intervenants extérieurs (associations de civils, particuliers, etc.)
  • les relations entre combattants (hiérarchies, tensions, camaraderie) sur l’arrière-front; l’arrière-front comme lieu de sociabilité et zone de rencontre avec l’autre (soldats/personnels auxiliaires, combattants/habitants, hommes/femmes, troupes étrangères, etc), lieu de passage, d’exploration, d’initiation, ou de retour à la “normale” (“cabanes de repos” destinés à reconstruire un “foyer loin du foyer”, etc.) ; témoignages des habitants des zones occupées
  • Les articulations et dissonances entre la vie communautaire et le temps à soi, l’expérience collective et l’expérience individuelle
  • La conceptualisation historique et artistique de l’espace de l’arrière-front; les modes d’écriture et pratiques artistiques spécifiques à l’arrière-front par contraste à l’écriture du front
  • Les représentations de la vie à l’arrière-front: paysages de campagne, mises en scène idylliques du non-combat et du farniente ou images infernales, partie de campagne ou univers carcéral, figure du soldat dilettante, flâneur et promeneur solitaire, de l’observateur, dans les productions de guerre (témoignages, correspondances, mémoires, romans, poésie, arts visuels, etc.) des combattants et des non-combattants (infirmières, médecins, etc.) ; 
  • La (re)construction médiatique, culturelle et politique du « repos du guerrier », les représentations du corps masculin et du corps féminin au repos, la construction d’un nouveau modèle de masculinité (sexualité et sport) dans les photographies de guerre, cartes postales, chansons, etc., ainsi que leur place dans la production de guerre

Afin de privilégier le dialogue entre les sphères anglophones, francophones et germanophones, le colloque portera principalement sur l’expérience de l’arrière-front ouest pris dans sa totalité. Néanmoins, des propositions concernant les autres fronts peuvent être envoyées.  Les communications se feront, de préférence, en anglais.

Plénière

Conférence plénière de Tim Kendall (University of Exeter)

Modalités de soumission

Les propositions (250 mots) accompagnées d’une courte biographie sont à envoyer

avant le 20 novembre 2017

à montin.sarah@gmail.com  et clementine.tholas@univ-paris3.fr

Comité scientifique

Les propositions seront étudiées par le comité scientifique du colloque :

  • Jacub Kazecki (Bates College)
  • Jennifer Kilgore-Caradec (Université de Caen)
  • Catherine Lanone (Université Sorbonne-Nouvelle)
  • Mark Meigs (Université Paris Diderot)
  • Sarah Montin (Université Sorbonne-Nouvelle)
  • John Mullen (Université de Rouen)
  • Karen Randell (Nottingham Trent University)
  • Serge Ricard (Université Sorbonne-Nouvelle)
  • Clémentine Tholas-Disset (Université Sorbonne-Nouvelle)

Bibliographie

AUDOUIN ROUZEAU, Stéphane et Jean-Jacques Becker (dir.) Encyclopédie de la Grande Guerre 1914-1918, Paris: Perrin, 2012 (Bayard, 2004).

BOURKE, Joanna, Dismembering the Male: Men's Bodies, Britain and the Great War, London: Reaktion Books, 1996.

CAZALS, Rémy et André Loez, 14-18. Vivre et mourir dans les tranchées, Paris: Tallandier, 2012.

COCHET, François La Grande Guerre: Fin d'un monde, début d'un siècle, Paris: Perrin, 2004.

DAS, Santanu, Race, Empire and First World War Writing, Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2011.

DAS, Santanu, Touch and Intimacy in First World War Literature, Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2005.

FULLER, J. G. Troop Morale and Popular Culture in the British and Dominion Armies, 1914-1918, London : Clarendon Press, 1990.

FUSSELL, Paul, The Great War and Modern Memory, Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1975.

HARDIER, Thierry et Jean-François Jagielski,  Oublier l'apocalypse ? Loisirs et distractions des combattants pendant la Grande Guerre, Paris: Imago, 2014.

HARTER, Hélène, Les Etats-Unis dans la Grande Guerre, Paris: Tallandier, 2017.

LAFON, Alexandre, La Camaraderie au front, 1914-1918, Paris: Armand Colin, 2014.

MAROT, Nicolas, Tous Unis dans la tranchée? 1914-1918, les intellectuels rencontrent le peuple, Paris: Seuil, 2013.

MEIGS, Mark, Optimism at Armageddon: Voices of American Participants in the First World War, New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 1997.

REZNICK, Jeffrey, Healing the Nation: Soldiers and the Culture of Caregiving in Britain during the First World War, Manchester : Manchester University Press, 2004.

SMITH, Angela K. et Krista Cowman (dir.), Landscapes and Voices of the Great War, New York: Routledge, 2017.

TERRER Thierry et J.A. Magan (dir.), Sport, Militarism and the Great War: Martial Manliness and Armageddon, New York: Routledge, 2012.

THOLAS DISSET, Clémentine et Karen Ritzenhoff, Humor, Entertainment and Popular Culture during World War One, New York: Palgrave MacMillan, 2015.

WINTER, Jay (dir.), The Cambridge History of the First World War, Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2013

Lieux

  • Université Sorbonne Nouvelle, Maison de la recherche, - 4 rue des Irlandais
    Paris, France (75005)

Dates

  • lundi 20 novembre 2017

Mots-clés

  • première guerre mondiale, arrière-front, combattant, expérience, guerre, témoignage, littérature, arts visuels

Contacts

  • Clémentine Tholas-Disset
    courriel : clementine [dot] tholas [at] univ-paris3 [dot] fr
  • Sarah Montin
    courriel : montin [dot] sarah [at] gmail [dot] com

Source de l'information

  • Sarah Montin
    courriel : montin [dot] sarah [at] gmail [dot] com

Pour citer cette annonce

« Être à la guerre sans être à la guerre ? », Appel à contribution, Calenda, Publié le mardi 19 septembre 2017, http://calenda.org/416246