HomeWork and employment in an era of platform capitalism

Work and employment in an era of platform capitalism

Travail et emploi à l’ère du capitalisme de plateforme

*  *  *

Published on Monday, October 02, 2017 by Céline Guilleux

Summary

The debate engendered by new forms of work and employment has grown considerably in recent times. In the eyes of many observers and journalists, western society is being uberised. This neologism derives from Uber, the now famous platform company that connects riders (customers requiring transport) to drivers (private vehicle owners). Indeed, Uber exemplifies the emergence of a platform capitalism which has shaken the foundations of collective organisation and traditional employment categories. Uber’s case reflects a new business model.

Announcement

2018, June 5-6

Argument

The debate engendered by new forms of work and employment has grown considerably in recent times. In the eyes of many observers and journalists, western society is being uberised. This neologism derives from Uber, the now famous platform company that connects riders (customers requiring transport) to drivers (private vehicle owners). Indeed, Uber exemplifies the emergence of a platform capitalism which has shaken the foundations of collective organisation and traditional employment categories. Uber’s case reflects a new business model. In this model, companies operate via a digital platform; they act as intermediaries between customers and service providers, and between job seekers and job suppliers. Outside of the transport sector, platform companies have developed in multiple domains, such as home delivery (Deliveroo) and holiday accommodation (Airbnb). Some of these burgeoning economic actors have become multinationals in the space of a few years (Airbnb and Uber), boasting enormous revenues and paraded as icons of the new digital economy. The purpose of this international symposium is to examine the new types of work and economic practices that have appeared in the wake of these digital platforms.

 The multidisciplinary research project CAPLA is currently financed (2016-2019) by the French National Research Agency (ANR). Its object is to study the social impact of platform capitalism. The symposium provides an opportunity to put into perspective how the findings from this large-scale empirical investigation, which is primarily based in France, are connected to the findings from other social science studies related to the French situation, but also to allow the work carried out in different countries to take its rightful place in the debate.  

 By way of guideline, submission proposals could explore the following themes:

  • The social structure of platform capitalism: What is the social footprint of these new service providers? How do they juggle resources (professional skills, economic capital, assets) and constraints (difficulties in gaining access to employment, impact on family life) when offering their services via a platform? How have inequalities surfaced in these new forms of employment initiative that espouse the ‘sharing economy’ ideal? Have platform companies created a new worldwide division of labour?
  • The commodification of ‘non-working time’: How has the digital economy once again redrawn the lines between professional work, housework and voluntary work? How has it contributed to the commodification of activities that formerly took place outside the confines of legally paid work? Will some of these activities eventually be recognised as paid work? To what extent can the commodification of non-working time provide the momentum for professionalisation? What have the repercussions been for existing professions and trades? Has product/service quality been standardised?
  • Employment categories and forms of labour organisation: What are the exact functions of the intermediary or platform: connecting users/providers, coordinating, quality control? What channels and mechanisms do platform companies use to organise labour? What are the consequences of this for labour organisation? Have platform companies contributed to a transformation in labour organisation? What legal status do platform workers hold? 
  • Statutory and policy regulations affecting these new economic actors: How have economic, political, statutory and regulatory bodies intervened to ensure that platform company activities are managed and controlled at a national level? To what extent do these bodies protect basic worker rights? What social protection is available to platform workers? What is the difference between the level of protection granted to these workers and to wage earners? What roles are assumed by recognised worker organisations (trade unions, trade associations)? Have platform workers initiated their own specific forms of organisation?   

Submission guidelines

Papers can be submitted in French or English.

Submission deadline: 27 October 2017.

The one page submissions, in either French or English, should set out the theme of the paper, the research questions, the methodology and the data.

To submit : https://capla2018.sciencesconf.org/

Assessment of the submissions and feedback: 8 January 2018.

Deadline for papers: 4 May 2018.

Organising committee

  • Sarah Abdelnour,
  • Pauline Barraud de Lagerie,
  • Sophie Bernard,
  • Julien Gros,
  • Dominique Méda,
  • Arnaud Mias,
  • Luc Sigalo Santos.

Scientific Committee

  • Sarah Abdelnour (sociologist, Paris Dauphine University, IRISSO)
  • Pauline Barraud de Lagerie (sociologist, Paris Dauphine University, IRISSO)
  • Sophie Bernard (sociologist, Paris Dauphine University, IRISSO)
  • Françoise Carré (economist, University of Massachusetts Boston, Center for Social Policy)
  • Guillaume Compain (sociologist, Paris Dauphine University, IRISSO)
  • Julien Gros (sociologist, Paris Dauphine University, IRISSO)
  • Anne Jourdain (sociologist, Paris Dauphine University, IRISSO)
  • Christian Lévesque (industrial relations, HEC Montréal)
  • Dominique Méda (sociologist, Paris Dauphine University, IRISSO)
  • Arnaud Mias (sociologist, Paris Dauphine University, IRISSO)
  • Gregor Murray (industrial relations, University de Montreal, Canada Research Chair in Globalization and the Work World)
  • Sidonie Naulin (sociologist, Sciences Po Grenoble, PACTE)
  • Diane Rodet (sociologist, University of Lyon, Centre Max Weber)
  • Luc Sigalo Santos (political scientist, Paris Dauphine University, IRISSO)
  • Morgan Sweeney (legal expert, Paris Dauphine University, Cr2D)
  • Chris Tilly (economist, University of California Los Angeles, Institute for Research on Labor and Employment)
  • Hélène Tissandier (legal expert, Paris Dauphine University, Cr2D).

Places

  • Université Paris-Dauphine, Métro Porte Dauphine, RER avenue Foch - Place du Maréchal de Lattre de Tassigny
    Paris, France (75016)

Date(s)

  • Friday, October 27, 2017

Keywords

  • capitalisme, plateforme, travail, emploi, ubérisation, indépendance, salariat, flexibilité

Contact(s)

  • ANR Capla
    courriel : capla2018 [at] sciencesconf [dot] org

Information source

  • Luc Sigalo Santos
    courriel : lucsigalosantos [at] gmail [dot] com

To cite this announcement

« Work and employment in an era of platform capitalism », Call for papers, Calenda, Published on Monday, October 02, 2017, http://calenda.org/416825

AccueilTravail et emploi à l’ère du capitalisme de plateforme

Travail et emploi à l’ère du capitalisme de plateforme

Work and employment in an era of platform capitalism

*  *  *

Publié le lundi 02 octobre 2017 par Céline Guilleux

Résumé

Le débat sur les nouvelles formes de travail et d’emploi prend aujourd’hui une ampleur considérable. Pour nombre d’observateurs et de journalistes, les sociétés occidentales seraient en voie d’« ubérisation », néologisme dérivé du nom de la désormais célèbre plateforme de mise en relation de chauffeurs privés et de particuliers usagers. L’entreprise Uber symbolise en effet l’émergence d’un capitalisme de plateforme, qui bousculerait tant l’organisation collective du travail que les formes d’emploi. Derrière le cas d’Uber se profile plus largement un nouveau modèle économique dans lequel des entreprises ayant la forme de plateformes numériques jouent le rôle d’intermédiaires entre clients et prestataires de service, ainsi qu’entre demandeurs et offreurs de travail.

Annonce

5-6 juin 2018

Argumentaire

Le débat sur les nouvelles formes de travail et d’emploi prend aujourd’hui une ampleur considérable. Pour nombre d’observateurs et de journalistes, les sociétés occidentales seraient en voie d’« ubérisation », néologisme dérivé du nom de la désormais célèbre plateforme de mise en relation de chauffeurs privés et de particuliers usagers. L’entreprise Uber symbolise en effet l’émergence d’un capitalisme de plateforme, qui bousculerait tant l’organisation collective du travail que les formes d’emploi. Derrière le cas d’Uber se profile plus largement un nouveau modèle économique dans lequel des entreprises ayant la forme de  plateformes numériques jouent le rôle d’intermédiaires entre clients et prestataires de service, ainsi qu’entre demandeurs et offreurs de travail. Au-delà du secteur du transport de personnes, des plateformes se sont ainsi développées dans de multiples domaines, tels que la livraison à domicile (Deliveroo) ou la fourniture de logement (Airbnb). Certains de ces nouveaux acteurs économiques sont devenus en quelques années des firmes multinationales (Airbnb, Uber, etc.), affichant des chiffres d’affaires colossaux, et ont été érigés en emblèmes de la nouvelle économie numérique. Ce colloque international sera consacré à l’analyse des nouvelles pratiques économiques et de travail induites par ces plateformes numériques.

Le programme  de recherche transdisciplinaire CAPLA, financé par l’Agence nationale de la recherche (ANR) de 2016 à 2019, se propose d’étudier les effets sociaux du capitalisme de plateforme. Ce colloque sera l’occasion de mettre en perspective les résultats de cette vaste enquête empirique, principalement conduite en France, avec d’autres travaux de sciences sociales portant sur le cas français, mais aussi de donner une large place au dialogue avec des travaux menés dans d’autres pays.

A titre indicatif, les propositions de communication pourront explorer les thèmes suivants :

  • Structuration sociale du capitalisme de plate-forme : Quels sont les profils sociaux de ces nouveaux prestataires de services ? Dans quelles configurations de ressources (compétences professionnelles, capital économique, patrimoine) et de contraintes (difficultés d’accès à l’emploi, vie familiale) proposent-ils leurs services sur ces plateformes ? Par-delà l’idéal de « l’économie collaborative », comment se recomposent les inégalités dans ces nouvelles formes de mise au travail ? Entraînent-elles une nouvelle division internationale du travail ?
  • Marchandisation du « hors travail » : En quoi l’économie numérique redessine-t-elle une nouvelle fois les frontières entre travail professionnel, travail domestique et travail bénévole ? Comment participe-t-elle de la marchandisation d’activités jusque-là exercées hors du cadre du travail légalement rémunéré ? Certaines de ces activités peuvent-elles finir par être reconnues comme du travail ? Dans quelle mesure la marchandisation du « hors travail » peut-elle impulser un processus de professionnalisation ? Quelles en sont les répercussions sur les professions et les métiers existants ? Des processus de normalisation de la qualité des produits ou des services échangés se mettent-ils en place ?
  • Statuts d’emploi et modes de travail : Quelles sont les fonctions exactes exercées par l’intermédiaire ou la plateforme : mise en relation, coordination, contrôle de la qualité ? Par quels canaux et grâce à quels dispositifs la plateforme parvient-elle à organiser le travail ? Quelles en sont les conséquences sur le travail ? Les plateformes participent-elles de sa transformation? Sous quels statuts juridiques ces travailleurs exercent-ils ?
  • Régulations juridiques et politiques des nouveaux acteurs économiques : Comment les pouvoirs économiques, politiques, les juges et les autorités de régulations interviennent-ils pour encadrer et réguler l’activité de ces plates-formes selon les contextes nationaux ? Dans quelle mesure assurent-ils une protection des droits élémentaires des travailleurs ? De quelle protection sociale bénéficient ces travailleurs ? En quoi se différencie-t-elle de celle des salariés ? Quels rôles jouent les instances de protection plus habituelles des travailleurs (syndicats, organisations professionnelles) ? Les travailleurs des plateformes inaugurent-ils des modes de mobilisation spécifiques ?

Modalités de soumission

Les communications pourront avoir lieu en français ou en anglais.

Date limite de proposition de communication : 27 octobre 2017.

Les propositions, d’une page et rédigées en français ou en anglais, devront expliciter le thème de la communication, les questions qu’elle propose de traiter, la méthodologie adoptée et le matériau mobilisé.

Les propositions doivent être soumises sur Sciencesconf : https://capla2018.sciencesconf.org/

  • Examen des propositions et retour sur les propositions : 8 janvier 2018.
  • Envoi du support de la communication : 4 mai 2018.

Comité d’organisation

  • Sarah Abdelnour,
  • Pauline Barraud de Lagerie,
  • Sophie Bernard,
  • Julien Gros,
  • Dominique Méda,
  • Arnaud Mias,
  • Luc Sigalo Santos.

Comité scientifique

  • Sarah Abdelnour (sociologue, Université Paris Dauphine, IRISSO)
  • Pauline Barraud de Lagerie (sociologue, Université Paris Dauphine, IRISSO)
  • Sophie Bernard (sociologue, Université Paris Dauphine, IRISSO)
  • Françoise Carré (économiste, University of Massachusetts Boston, Center for Social Policy)
  • Guillaume Compain (sociologue, Université Paris Dauphine, IRISSO)
  • Julien Gros (sociologue, Université Paris Dauphine, IRISSO)
  • Anne Jourdain (sociologue, Université Paris Dauphine, IRISSO)
  • Christian Lévesque (relations industrielles, HEC Montréal)
  • Dominique Méda (sociologue, Université Paris Dauphine, IRISSO)
  • Arnaud Mias (sociologue, Université Paris Dauphine, IRISSO)
  • Gregor Murray (relations industrielles, Université de Montréal, Canada Research Chair in Globalization and the Work word)
  • Sidonie Naulin (sociologue, Sciences Po Grenoble, PACTE)
  • Diane Rodet (sociologue, Université de Lyon, Centre Max Weber)
  • Luc Sigalo Santos (politiste, Université Paris Dauphine, IRISSO)
  • Morgan Sweeney (juriste, Université Paris Dauphine, Cr2D)
  • Chris Tilly (économiste, University of California Los Angeles, Institute for Research on Labor and Employment)
  • Hélène Tissandier (juriste, Université Paris Dauphine, Cr2D).

Lieux

  • Université Paris-Dauphine, Métro Porte Dauphine, RER avenue Foch - Place du Maréchal de Lattre de Tassigny
    Paris, France (75016)

Dates

  • vendredi 27 octobre 2017

Mots-clés

  • capitalisme, plateforme, travail, emploi, ubérisation, indépendance, salariat, flexibilité

Contacts

  • ANR Capla
    courriel : capla2018 [at] sciencesconf [dot] org

Source de l'information

  • Luc Sigalo Santos
    courriel : lucsigalosantos [at] gmail [dot] com

Pour citer cette annonce

« Travail et emploi à l’ère du capitalisme de plateforme », Appel à contribution, Calenda, Publié le lundi 02 octobre 2017, http://calenda.org/416825