Calenda - The culture of peace and cultural development in Cameroon

HomeThe culture of peace and cultural development in Cameroon

The culture of peace and cultural development in Cameroon

Culture de la paix et développement culturel au Cameroun

International Nelson Mandela day 2018

Journée internationale Nelson Mandela 2018

*  *  *

Published on mercredi, janvier 10, 2018 by Céline Guilleux


La journée internationale Nelson Mandela offre aux experts (universitaires, étudiants, journalistes, etc.) en sciences sociales et en humanités une excellente occasion pour se retrouver autour des thématiques de la culture de la paix et du développement culturel.


The National Center for Education of the Ministry of Scientific Research and Innovation in collaboration with The Department of Languages and Cultures of Cameroon, Higher teachers training collage, University of Yaounde 1, Will organize from the 5th- 6th of September 2018 in Yaounde, a SCIENTIFIC SYMPOSIUM on the theme:  Peace and Cultural Development in Cameroon


In November 2009, the United Nations General Assembly declared July 18 "Nelson Mandela International Day" in honor of the contribution made by the former South African President towards culture of peace and freedom. This decision echoed the recognition of the values defended by Nelson Mandela, as well as his dedication to the service of humanity, through his humanitarian action in several areas. Peace is then understood as a state of stability, tranquility, moral and psychological well-being that contributes to the self-fulfillment of an individual.

In a country marked by crises of various kinds (social, economic and political), it is more than imperative to invoke peace as a lever for sustainable development that all citizens want. This culture of peace that the United Nations General Assembly summarizes in terms of "values, attitudes and behaviors that reflect and promote usability and sharing based on the principles of freedoms, justice and democracy, all the rights of the tolerance and solidarity, which reject violence and advocate for the prevention of conflict by tackling their root causes and solving problems through dialogue and negotiation and guaranteeing the full  rights and means to participate fully in the development process of their society ".

To achieve sustainable development, it is not just about creating wealth and redistributing it but it must be anchored intelligently in a social and cultural context, so that consumption will not mortgage future generations. This position puts culture at the center of sustainable development, because any attempt at development that does not concern us as a member of a culture is doomed to failure and worse, the withering away of millennial African cultures.

The Nelson Madela's day offers experts (academics, students, journalists, etc.) in the social sciences and humanities an excellent opportunity to meet around this theme on the culture of peace and cultural development and to dissert on one of the three domains, which are not meant to be exclusive.

1. Peace and cultural environment

Some societies derive their vital fundamentals from nature (forest, stream, savannah, desert, etc.). The uncontrolled and abusive management of this environment would also destroy the culture of these people, with the immediate consequence of dispossessing the vital space of a people who would be threatened with extinction. Indigenous people are an example here. Green belts could be put in place to avoid catastrophes. Depriving them of their vital space, the lack of harmony with the new space would affect the peace that these people could have develop vis-à-vis themselves and their environment. How then can this state of peace and harmony in an environment affected by industrialization be maintained? How can one think of the development that could take into consideration the appropriation of land in rural areas by elites who set up an intensive agriculture oriented towards foreign trade to the villages, thus starving the villagers?

2. Peace, Beliefs and Religions

Voltaire in’’ Les Lettres Anglaises’’, has shown with happiness that peace and  harmony is aroused by the existence of about thirty religions in England. The question of religions transposed to a local level is rather transformed into an instrument of division and undermining of social cohesion. Now come into play economic, tribal, ethnic, regional interests, which often only benefit isolated individuals to the detriment of the whole community. What look at a phenomenon as old as societies, but which is constantly regenerating and spreading? What is the influence of new practices brought by certain religions that would be prohibited in local societies? What would be the share of politics in maintaining social cohesion in this case?

 3. Local languages, cultures and stability

Cameroon's current linguistic context questions the different language policies established since independence. The fathers of independence thought that it would be better to consecrate the country to bilingualism, considering the fact that there was an English-speaking part and a French speaking part. Beyond this consecration and even questioning the Berlin conference, could the linguistic problem in Cameroon not have known a better end in considering the linguistic globalism and particularity of the country? Why dwell around linguistic groupings that only contribute to the dominance of the West? How to think of the practical and exclusive use of local languages in the same functions as the so-called official languages?

4.  Education for a culture of peace

Culture and Education are inseparable, as they are simply two sides of the same coin. These two  concepts are said to be indistinguishable, as the primary definition of Education is Acculturation. Every human society whatever its level of technical evolution devotes considerable attention to transmitting its cultural heritage to the young. This has helped cement human solidarity and to ensure the continued survival of societies over the ages. The education for a culture of peace is founded in UNESCO’S constitutional mandate to build peace ‘’in the minds of men’’. Access to education and to various forms of learning is necessary but not a sufficient condition for a culture of peace. A comprehensive system of education and training is needed for all groups of people at all levels and forms of education, both formal and non-formal. For peace and non-violence to prevail there is a need to foster a culture of peace through education by revising the educational curricula to promote qualitative values, attitudes and behaviors for  a culture of peace, including peaceful conflict resolution, dialogue, consensus- building and active non – violence.

How can stakeholders create enabling conditions for an overall environment in which culture and education would thrive?

What can be done to ensure that children from an early age benefit from education on the values, attitudes, modes of behavior and ways of life to enable them resolve any dispute peacefully and in a spirit of respect for human dignity and of tolerance and non- discrimination?

How can linguistic diversity be promoted at levels of education?

Submission guidelines

Proposals for papers may be sent in French or in English to the following addresses:



  • Deadline for submission: March 30th  2018

  • Notification to contributors: April 27th  2018
  • Conference date : 5th -6th of September, 2018

Venue: Ministry of Scientific Research and Innovation  

Scientific committee

  • Dr TAMAJONG Elisabeth, Research Director, CNE-MINRESI
  • Pr BITJA’A KODY Denis,  Universiy of Yaounde 1
  • Pr BILOA Edmond, University of  Yaounde 1
  • Pr MBA Gabriel, University of Yaounde 1
  • Pr SADEMBOUO Etienne, University of  Yaounde 1
  • As.Pr NSEME Clédor,  University of Yaounde 1
  • As.Pr ATINDOGBE Gratien, University of  Buea
  • As.Pr ASSOUMOU Jules, University of  Douala ;
  • As.Pr MESSINA NDIBNU Julia, University of   Yaounde 1
  • As.Pr MEBENGA Luc, University of  Yaounde 1
  • As.Pr TABE Florence, University of   Yaounde 1
  • Dr MBOUOMBOUO Pierre, Senior Research Officer, CNE-MINRESI
  • Dr YAMBENE Henri, Senior Research officer, CNE-MINRESI
  • Dr ZOA ZOA Yves, Research officer, CNE-MINRESI
  • Dr KIWOH Terence Research officer, CNE-MINRESI
  •  Dr MGBA Stéphane, Research officer, CNE-MINRESI
  • Dr NOAZI Carole, Research officer, CNE-MINRESI
  • Dr NGO NDJEYIHA Madeleine, Senior lecturer, University o Yaounde 1
  • Dr FONKOUA Paul, Senior lecturer, University of Yaounde 1
  • Dr NZAMEYO Rodrigue, Senior lecturer, University of  Yaounde 1
  • Dr ABOUNA Paul,Senior lecturer, University of   Yaounde 1
  • Dr NDJOMNBOG Joseph Roger, MINEDUB

Organizing Committee

  • Dr MAKASSO Moselly, Research officer, CNE-MINRESI
  • Dr BESSALA Gaston, Research officer, CNE-MINRESI
  • Dr MANIFI Maxime, Senior lecturer, University of  Yaounde 1
  • Dr NGUE UM Emmanuel, Senior lecturer, University of Yaounde 1
  • Dr AKU Julius EYOH, Senior lecturer, University of Yaounde 1 ;
  • M. BELINGA Pierre Germain, Research Assistant, CNE-MINRESI ;
  • Mme NGO BINAM Isis, Research Assistant, CNE-MINRESI ;


  • Mme BIH Davina Research Assistant, CNE-MINRESI ;
  • M. MFIARAK Richard, Research Assistant, CNE-MINRESI ;
  • Mme SANDJOL epse ATANGANA, Research Assistant, CNE-MINRESI ;
  • Mme KAYUM Carole , University of   Yaounde 1 ;
  • Mme JIRNDI Finita ;University of Yaounde 1 ;
  • Mme DE MOMHA Mispa ,University of   Yaounde 1 ;
  • Mme AVOA Sandrine epse BELINGA, University of  Yaounde 1 ;
  • Mme TALLA Christlle,  University of Yaounde 1 ;
  • Mme DIGBWA Joséphine, University of   Yaounde 1 ;
  • Mme HABIBA Missa, University of  Yaounde 1. 


  • Yaoundé, Cameroon


  • vendredi, mars 30, 2018


  • croyance, culture, éducation, environnement, langue, paix


  • Gaston Bessala
    courriel : gastonbessala [at] gmail [dot] com
  • Davina Bih
    courriel : bihdavina [at] yahoo [dot] com

Information source

  • Gaston Bessala
    courriel : gastonbessala [at] gmail [dot] com

To cite this announcement

« The culture of peace and cultural development in Cameroon », Call for papers, Calenda, Published on mercredi, janvier 10, 2018,

Archive this announcement

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal

AccueilCulture de la paix et développement culturel au Cameroun

Culture de la paix et développement culturel au Cameroun

The culture of peace and cultural development in Cameroon

Journée internationale Nelson Mandela 2018

International Nelson Mandela day 2018

*  *  *

Publié le mercredi 10 janvier 2018 par Céline Guilleux

Résumé

La journée internationale Nelson Mandela offre aux experts (universitaires, étudiants, journalistes, etc.) en sciences sociales et en humanités une excellente occasion pour se retrouver autour des thématiques de la culture de la paix et du développement culturel.

Annonce

Le Centre national d’Éducation duMinistère de la Recherche scientifique et de l’Innovation en collaboration avec le Département de Langues et Cultures camerounaises de l’École normale supérieure, Université de Yaoundé 1 organisent du 05 au 06 septembre 2018 à Yaoundé, un colloque scientifique sur le thème Culture de la paix et développement culturel au Cameroun.

Argumentaire

En novembre 2009, l’assemblée générale des Nations Unies déclarait le 18 juillet « Journée internationale Nelson Mandela » en l’honneur de la contribution apportée par l’ex-président sud-africain à la culture de la paix et de la liberté. Cette décision a résonné comme la reconnaissance des valeurs défendues par Nelson Mandela, ainsi que son dévouement au service de l’humanité, à travers son action humanitaire dans plusieurs domaines. La paix s’entend alors comme un état de stabilité, de tranquillité, de bien-être psychique moral et social qui concourt à l’épanouissement de l’individu.

Dans un pays marqué par des crises de divers ordres (sociales, économiques et politiques), il est plus qu’impératif d’invoquer la paix comme levier d’un développement durable que tous les citoyens appellent de leurs vœux. Cette culture de la paix que l’Assemblée Générale des Nations Unies résume en termes de « valeurs, attitudes et comportements qui reflètent et favorisent la convivialité et le partage fondés sur les principes de libertés, de justice et de démocratie, tous les droits de l’homme, la tolérance et la solidarité, qui rejettent la violence et inclinent à prévenir les conflits en s’attaquant à leurs causes profondes et à résoudre les problèmes par la voie du dialogue et de la négociation et qui garantissent à tous la pleine jouissance de tous les droits et moyens de participer pleinement au processus de développement de leur société »[1].

Pour atteindre le développement durable, il n’est pas simplement question de créer des richesses et les redistribuer.  Il faut surtout les ancrer avec intelligence dans un contexte social et culturel, de sorte que la consommation ne puisse hypothéquer les générations à venir. Cette position remet la culture au centre du développement durable, car toute tentative de développement qui ne nous regarde pas en tant membre d’une culture est vouée à l’échec et pire, au dépérissement des cultures millénaires africaines.

Le Nelson Madela’s day offre aux experts (universitaires, étudiants, journalistes, etc.) en sciences sociales et en humanités une excellente occasion pour se retrouver autour de cette thématique sur la culture de la paix et le développement culturel et disserter sur l’un des trois axes suivants, lesquels ne se veulent pas exclusifs.

Axe 1 : Paix et culture de l’environnement

Certaines sociétés tirent leurs fondamentaux vitaux de la nature (forêt, cours d’eau, savane, désert, etc.). La gestion non-contrôlée et abusive de cet environnement détruirait également la culture de ces peuples, avec comme conséquence immédiate la dépossession de l’espace vitale d’un peuple qui se trouverait menacé de disparition. Les peuples autochtones sont ici un exemple. On pourrait aussi penser à l’installation dans certains espaces propre à causer de grosses catastrophes. Dépossédé donc de son espace vital, le manque d’harmonie avec le nouvel espace affecterait la paix que ces peuples pourraient développer vis-à-vis d’eux-mêmes et vis-à- vis de leur environnement. Comment maintenir donc cet état de paix et d’harmonie  dans un environnement attiré par les sirènes de l’industrialisation ? Comment penser le développement qui pourrait prendre en considération l’appropriation des terres en zones rurales par des élites qui mettent sur pied une agriculture intensive tournée vers le commerce extérieur aux villages, affamant par là même les villageois ?

Axe 2 : Paix et Croyances /religions

Voltaire dans Les Lettres Anglaises, a démontré avec bonheur la paix et l’harmonie suscitées par l’existence d’une trentaine de religions en Angleterre. La question des religions transposée à un niveau local se mue plutôt en instrument de division et de mise à mal de la cohésion sociale. Rentrent en jeu maintenant des intérêts économiques, tribaux, ethniques, régionaux, qui souvent  ne profitent qu’à des individus isolés au détriment de l’ensemble de la communauté. Quel regard poser sur un phénomène aussi vieux que les sociétés, mais qui ne cesse de se régénérer et se propager ? Quelle est l’influence des pratiques nouvelles apportées par certaines religions qui seraient interdites dans les sociétés locales ? Quelle serait la part du politique dans le maintien de la cohésion sociale dans ce cas ?

Axe 3 : Langues et cultures locales et stabilité

Le contexte linguistique actuel du Cameroun questionne les différentes politiques linguistiques établies depuis les indépendances. Les pères de l’indépendance ont pensé qu’il serait mieux de consacrer le pays à un bilinguisme considérant les grands ensembles qu’étaient la partie anglophone et la partie francophone. Au-delà de cette consécration et remettant même en cause la conférence de Berlin, les problèmes linguistiques du Cameroun ne pourraient-ils pas connaître meilleure fin en considérant la globalité et la particularité linguistique du pays ? Pourquoi des batailles autour des regroupements linguistiques qui ne contribuent qu’à l’hégémonie de l’occident ? Comment penser la mise en utilisation pratique et exclusive des langues locales dans les mêmes fonctions que les langues dites officielles ?

Axe 4 : L’éducation pour une culture de la paix

La  culture et la paix sont inséparables puisqu’elles sont deux faces d’une même pièce. Ces deux concepts sont dits indistinguables, puisque la définition primaire de l’éducation est ‘acculturation’. Toute société humaine, peu importe le niveau d’évolution technologique, accorde une attention particulière à la transmission de son héritage culturel à la jeunesse. Ceci aide à consolider la solidarité humaine et à assurer la survie des sociétés au – delà des temps. L’éducation pour une culture de la paix se trouve dans le mandat constitutionnel  de l’UNESCO qui voudrait construire la paix ‘dans l’esprit des hommes’. L’accès à l’éducation et aux formes diverses d’apprentissage est nécessaire mais il n’est pas une condition suffisante pour une culture de la paix. Un système éducatif et d’apprentissage complet est une nécessité pour tous les groupes sociaux. Afin que la paix et la non-violence prévalent, il y’a un besoin de renforcement d’une culture de paix à travers l’éducation ; ceci n’est possible qu’en revisitant les curricula éducatifs afin de promouvoir des valeurs qualitatives, des attitudes et des habitudes pour une culture de la paix incluant la résolution pacifique des conflits, le dialogue, la non-violence active, etc.

Comment est ce que les bailleurs de fonds peuvent-ils créer des conditions favorables à un environnement où la culture et la paix prospèrent ? Qu’est ce qui peut être fait pour assurer que les enfants dès le bas âge bénéficient d’une éducation sur les valeurs, attitudes, modes de comportement pouvant les aider à résoudre tout type de conflit dans la paix et dans un esprit de respect de la dignité humaine, de la tolérance et de la non-discrimination ? Comment est ce que la diversité linguistique peut-elle être promue au niveau de l’éducation ?

Modalités de soumission

Les propositions de communications peuvent être envoyées en français ou en anglais aux adresses suivantes :

  • gastonbessala@gmail.com
  • bihdavina@yahoo.com
  • Date limite de soumission : 27 avril  2018 à 17h GMT.

  • Tenue du colloque : 05-07 septembre 2018

Lieu du colloque : Ministère de la Recherche Scientifique et de l’Innovation

Comité scientifique

  • Dr TAMAJONG Elisabeth, Directeur de Recherche, CNE-MINRESI ;
  • Pr BITJA’A KODY Denis, Professeur, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Pr BILOA Edmond, Professeur, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Pr MBA Gabriel, Professeur, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Pr SADEMBOUO Etienne, Professeur, Université de Yaoundé 1.
  • Pr NSEME Clédor, Maître de Conférences, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Pr ATINDOGBE Gratien, Maître de Conférences, Université de Buea ;
  • Pr ASSOUMOU Jules, Maitre de Conférences, Université de Douala ;
  • Pr MESSINA NDIBNU Julia, Maître de Conférences, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Pr MEBENGA Luc, Maître de Conférences, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Pr TABE Florence, Maître de Conférences, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Dr MBOUOMBOUO Pierre, Maître de Recherches, CNE-MINRESI ;
  • Dr YAMBENE Henri, Maître de Recherches, CNE-MINRESI ;
  • Dr ZOA ZOA Yves, Chargé de Recherches, CNE-MINRESI ;
  • Dr KIWOH Terence, Chargé de Recherches, CNE-MINRESI ;
  • Dr MGBA Stéphane, Chargé de Recherches, CNE-MINRESI ;
  • Dr NOAZI Carole, Chargé de Recherches, CNE-MINRESI ;
  • Dr NGONDJEYIHA Madeleine, Chargé de Cours, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Dr FONKOUA Paul, Chargé de Cours, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Dr NZAMEYO Rodrigue, Chargé de Cours, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Dr ABOUNA Paul, Chargé de Cours, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Dr NDJOMNBOG Joseph Roger, MINEDUB.

Comité d’organisation

  • Dr MAKASSO Moselly, Chargé de Recherches, CNE-MINRESI ;
  • Dr BESSALA Gaston, Chargé de Recherches, CNE-MINRESI ;
  • Dr MANIFI Maxime, Chargé de Cours, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Dr NGUE UM Emmanuel, Chargé de Cours, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Dr AKU Julius EYOH, Chargé de Cours, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • M. BELINGA Pierre Germain, Attaché de Recherches, CNE-MINRESI ;
  • Mme NGO BINAM Isis, Attaché de Recherches, CNE-MINRESI ;

Secrétariat

  • Mme BIH Davina, Attaché de Recherche, CNE-MINRESI ;
  • M. MFIARAK Richard, Attaché de Recherche, CNE-MINRESI ;
  • Mme SANDJOL epse ATANGANA, Attaché de Recherche, CNE-MINRESI ;
  • Mme KAYUM Carole, PLEG/Doctorante, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Mme JIRNDI Finita ; PLEG/Doctorante, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Mme DE MOMHA Mispa ; PLEG/Doctorante, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Mme AVOA Sandrine epse BELINGA, PLEG/Doctorante, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Mme TALLA Christelle, PLEG/Doctorante, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Mme DIGBWA Joséphine, PLEG/Doctorante, Université de Yaoundé 1 ;
  • Mme HABIBA Missa, PLEG/Doctorante, Université de Yaoundé 1.

[1] Résolution de l’Assemblée générale de l’ONU 52/13 199

Lieux

  • Yaoundé, Cameroun

Dates

  • vendredi 27 avril 2018

Mots-clés

  • croyance, culture, éducation, environnement, langue, paix

Contacts

  • Gaston Bessala
    courriel : gastonbessala [at] gmail [dot] com
  • Davina Bih
    courriel : bihdavina [at] yahoo [dot] com

Source de l'information

  • Gaston Bessala
    courriel : gastonbessala [at] gmail [dot] com

Pour citer cette annonce

« Culture de la paix et développement culturel au Cameroun », Appel à contribution, Calenda, Publié le mercredi 10 janvier 2018, https://calenda.org/428359

Archiver cette annonce

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal