HomeModernities

HomeModernities

Modernities

Modernités

Cycle de conférences de la Maison française d'Oxford

*  *  *

Published on Wednesday, November 16, 2011 by Claire Ducournau

Summary

L’axe de recherche « Modernités » s’attache à étudier la construction des modernités européennes, dans toutes leurs manifestations culturelles. Plusieurs directions de travail permettent de réfléchir à la constitution de ce qu’on a appelé la première modernité, entre Renaissance et Lumières. Les dimensions littéraire, politique, philosophique et religieuse font l’objet de recherches interdisciplinaires, qui peuvent s’étendre à des phénomènes de modernité à d’autres périodes. Les liens entre l’Antiquité et la culture de la première modernité sont aussi examinés, en littérature comme en philosophie.

Announcement

MODERNITIES

Tuesday 4 October, 5.15pm

“The Frenchness of Claude Lorrain”,

Jon Whiteley, Curator of the exhibition “Claude Lorrain: The Enchanted Landscape”, Ashmolean Museum

Chair: Luc Borot, MFO

Tuesday 18 October, 4.00pm

Lecture: “Le long travail: Casanova autographe”, Gérard Lahouati, Université de Pau

Followed by a round table with Gérard Lahouati, Pierre-Marc de Biasi, ITEM, Paris, Nicholas Cronk, Voltaire Foundation and Nathalie Ferrand, ITEM-CNRS

Conveners:

  • Nathalie Ferrand
  • Nicholas Cronk

Friday 11 - Saturday 12 November 

(Friday: 9.30am - Saturday: 4.00pm)

“Francis Bacon’s Arts of Discovery and the Cultivation of the Mind”

Conveners:

  • Martine Pécharman, CNRS-MFO and
  • Dana Jalobeanu, University of Bucharest, London-New Europe College

Tuesday 15 November, 5.15pm

“Rousseau philosophe: la question de la méthode” André Charrak, Université de Paris 1-Panthéon-Sorbonne

Chair: Nicholas Cronk, Voltaire Foundation

Convener: Martine Pécharman, CNRS-MFO

In association with the Voltaire Foundation

Monday 28 - Tuesday 29 November

(Monday: 2.00pm - Tuesday: 4.00pm)

“Across the Channel.  Intellectual Relations between England and France in the Early Modern Period”

Conveners:

  • Martine Pécharman, CNRS-MFO and
  • Philip Beeley, Linacre College

Friday 2 - Saturday 3 December

(Friday: 9.30am - Saturday: 4.00pm)

“Analytic Philosophy of Mind and Language: French-British Dialogue(s)”

Conveners:

  • Martine Pécharman, CNRS-MFO and
  • François Récanati, Institut Jean Nicod, Paris-University of St Andrews

Places

  • 2-10 Norham Road
    Oxford, Britain

Date(s)

  • Tuesday, October 04, 2011
  • Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • Friday, November 11, 2011
  • Saturday, November 12, 2011
  • Tuesday, November 15, 2011
  • Monday, November 28, 2011
  • Tuesday, November 29, 2011
  • Friday, December 02, 2011
  • Saturday, December 03, 2011

Contact(s)

  • Florence Yvrard-Coquaz
    courriel : reception [at] mfo [dot] ac [dot] uk

Information source

  • Florence Yvrard-Coquaz
    courriel : reception [at] mfo [dot] ac [dot] uk

To cite this announcement

« Modernities », Lecture series, Calenda, Published on Wednesday, November 16, 2011, https://calenda.org/206166

Archive this announcement

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal
Search OpenEdition Search

You will be redirected to OpenEdition Search