HomeSocial Policy in Europe after the 2008 crisis

Social Policy in Europe after the 2008 crisis

As políticas sociais na Europa após a crise de 2008

15th Annual European Network for Social Policy Analysis (ESPAnet) Conference

15ª Conferência Anual European Network for Social Policy Analysis (ESPAnet)

*  *  *

Published on Monday, February 06, 2017 by Anastasia Giardinelli

Summary

The central theme for the event will be Social Policy in Europe after the 2008 crisis, and it will gather researchers from many countries and different areas of expertise. The European Social Model can play a central role in countering emergent social and economic problems while providing room for social cohesion and European reconstruction.

Announcement

The 15th international conference of the European Network for Social Policy Analysis - ESPAnet will be held at Instituto Superior de Ciências Sociais e Políticas (University of Lisbon), from 14 to 16 September.

Argument

The central theme for the event will be Social Policy in Europe after the 2008 crisis, and it will gather researchers from many countries and different areas of expertise. Establishing the general framework for the debate, Romana Xerez, CAPP researcher and a member of the Conference Organizing Committee, stresses the transformations that occurred in Europe after the financial crisis - including demographic change, the refugee crisis, the rise of unemployment and of new political and social movements that remain as possible threats to dialogue and the ideal of solidarity that underlines the construction of the European project. In this developing context, the European Social Model can play a central role in countering emergent social and economic problems while providing room for social cohesion and European reconstruction.

Submission guidelines

The deadline for the submission of abstracts is 15 March

The streams are already available at the event's website. Authors will be notified by the first week of April.

Abstracts for papers to be presented should be linked to one of the conference streams which can be found on the conference website www.espanetlisbon2017.eu/streams/

Abstracts should be about 500 words and should contain the following information:

  1. Main issue analyzed in the paper (about 100 words)
  2. Type of methodology and sources of data/information used for the analysis (about 200 words) (in case the paper is mainly theoretical, please specify so)
  3. Main findings expected from the analysis (about 200 words)
  • Abstracts may only be submitted online and please do not send abstracts to stream convenors
  • Avoid submission within 48 hours of the deadline for best system performance
  • The online submission system will guide you through the process of submission

Provisional program

14th September

12:30 – 13:00 Opening session

13:00 – 15:00 Streams

15:00 – 15:30 Coffee break

15:30 – 17:30 Streams

18:30 – Welcome reception

15th September

09:00 – 11:00 Streams

11:00 – 11:30 Coffee break

11:30 – 13:00 Plenary session

13:00 – 14:00 Lunch

14:00 – 16:00 Streams

16:00 – 16:30 Coffee break

16:30 – 18:00 Plenary Panel: European and Global Pathways of Welfare State Developments

19:00 – Dinner

16th September

09:00 – 10:30 Streams

10:30 – 11:00 Coffee break

11:00 – 12:00 Plenary session

12:00 – 13:30 Streams

13:30 – Closing session

14:30 – 17:00 Field trips

Scientific committee

  • Ana Esgaio aesgaio@iscsp.ulisboa.pt
  • Ana Fernandes ana.alexandre@iscsp.ulisboa.pt
  • Anália Torres atorres@iscsp.ulisboa.pt
  • Carla Pinto cpinto@iscsp.ulisboa.pt
  • Dália Costa daliacosta@iscsp.ulisboa.pt
  • Elvira Pereira epereira@iscsp.ulisboa.pt
  • Fernando Serra fserra@iscsp.ulisboa.pt
  • Francisco Branco fnbranco@fch.lisboa.ucp.pt
  • Jaime Fonseca jaime@iscsp.ulisboa.pt
  • José António Pereirinha pereirin@doc.iseg.ulisboa.pt
  • Karin Wall karin.wall@ics.ulisboa.pt
  • Luís Baptista luisv.baptista@fcsh.unl.pt
  • Luís Capucha luis.capucha@iscte.pt
  • Manuel Meirinho meirinho@iscsp.ulisboa.pt
  • Maria Irene Carvalho mcarvalho@iscsp.ulisboa.pt
  • Maria José Núncio msilveira@iscsp.ulisboa.pt
  • Paula Albuquerque pcma@iseg.ulisboa.pt
  • Paula Campos Pinto ppinto@iscsp.ulisboa.pt
  • Paulo Seixas pseixas@iscsp.ulisboa.pt
  • Pedro Hespanha hespanha@fe.uc.pt
  • Romana Xerez rxerez@iscsp.ulisboa.pt
  • Stella Bettencourt da Câmara santonio@iscsp.ulisboa.pt

Places

  • Instituto Superior de Ciências Sociais e Políticas - Universidade de Lisboa - Rua Almerindo Lessa
    Lisbon, Portugal (1300-663)

Date(s)

  • Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Attached files

Contact(s)

  • Pedro Rodrigues
    courriel : divulgacao [dot] capp [at] iscsp [dot] ulisboa [dot] pt

Information source

  • Pedro Rodrigues
    courriel : divulgacao [dot] capp [at] iscsp [dot] ulisboa [dot] pt

To cite this announcement

« Social Policy in Europe after the 2008 crisis », Call for papers, Calenda, Published on Monday, February 06, 2017, https://calenda.org/392962

Archive this announcement

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal