HomeThe discordance of the times: Daniel Bensaïd and contemporary social criticism

The discordance of the times: Daniel Bensaïd and contemporary social criticism

La discordance des temps : Daniel Bensaïd et la critique sociale contemporaine

La discordancia de los tiempos: Daniel Bensaïd y la crítica social contemporánea

Século XXI: Revista de Ciências Sociais

Século XXI - Revista de Ciencias Sociales

*  *  *

Published on Monday, September 17, 2018 by Céline Guilleux

Summary

In January of 2020 will be completed ten years of the death of Daniel Bensaïd, one of the most important contemporary philosophers. Author of a work marked by original contributions to the broad tradition of historical materialism, it can be said that his thought contemplates the current needs of social criticism, both in academia and outside it. Bensaïd was concerned about defending an approach to contemporary society that took into account the need to avoid the theoretical and practical risks of dogmatic thought, as well as that reasoning attached to the positivist canons of a scientistic "objectivity". This epistemological "alert" is strategically present in the theoretical elaborations of the philosopher, informing his looks regarding time, space, the question of social classes and the dynamism and fluidity of social and political relations.

Announcement

Editors

  • Henrique Amorim – Universidade Federal de São Paulo (UNIFESP), Brazil;
  • Leandro Galastri – Universidade Estadual Paulista “Júlio de Mesquita Filho”(UNESP), Brazil.

Argument

In January of 2020 will be completed ten years of the death of Daniel Bensaïd, one of the most important contemporary philosophers. Author of a work marked by original contributions to the broad tradition of historical materialism, it can be said that his thought contemplates the current needs of social criticism, both in academia and outside it. Acting on the French academic and political scenes of the last decades (Bensaïd was professor at the University of Paris VIII - Saint-Denis), he had some of his books translated in Brazil, as "Marx, o intempestivo" (Civilização Brasileira, 1999), “Os irredutíveis” (Boitempo, 2008) and “Espetáculo, fetichismo, ideologia” (Plebeu Gabinete de Leitura, 2013). Bensaïd was concerned about defending an approach to contemporary society that took into account the need to avoid the theoretical and practical risks of dogmatic thought, as well as that reasoning attached to the positivist canons of a scientistic "objectivity". This epistemological "alert" is strategically present in the theoretical elaborations of the philosopher, informing his looks regarding time, space, the question of social classes and the dynamism and fluidity of social and political relations. We believe that the dossier proposed here, in addition to the ephemeris in question, is placed in dialogue with the contemporary needs for reaffirmation of critical social thought.

Submission guidelines

The deadline for submission of articles is June 30, 2019.

Submission of articles must comply with the editorial standards, available on the Século XXI website under "Guidelines for Authors" (to access the site of Século XXI in English, select the language in the menu on the right).

The articles can be submitted through the following url:  https://periodicos.ufsm.br/seculoxxi/about/submissions#onlineSubmissions

When starting the 1st step of submitting the article in the "Comments to the Editor" box, the author should indicate that the article is being submitted with a view to its evaluation for the “The discordance of the times: Daniel Bensaïd and contemporary social criticism Dossier.”

The dossier will compose Vol. 10, nº 1, of the Século XXI, with publication date scheduled for January 2020.

Século XXI - Journal of Social Sciences

The Século XXI - Journal of Social Sciences [ ISSN: 2236-6725 (online) and ISSN: 2179-8095 (print) – DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.5902/22366725 ] is a biannual publication of the Postgraduate Program in Social Sciences at the Center for Social and Human Sciences of the Federal University of Santa Maria – UFSM, Brazil. The editorial policy contemplates the dissemination of scientific research in the social sciences (sociology, anthropology, and political science) in the form of articles, reviews, and communications of research with scientific and social relevance. Its target audience consists of professors, researchers and postgraduate students in the social sciences. The articles must be original and can be submitted and published in English, Portuguese, Spanish, and French.

Author Guidelines

  1. The articles must contain a version of the title in Portuguese and French accompanied by an abstract of 150-200 words in English, Portuguese, Spanish and French containing a summary of purposes, the methods used and the main conclusions of the study, as well as five keywords in English, Portuguese, Spanish and French (separated by semicolons), as well as information about the author (including full name, academic degree, institution that granted the master's and/or doctoral degree, institutional affiliation, position, electronic address, ORCID iD, professional or residential address). 
  2. The articles should contain a minimum of 7.000 words and a maximum of 15.000 words, including references and footnotes.
  3. The title of the article should have a maximum of 120 characters with spaces.
  4. The manuscripts should be written be written in Times New Roman, 12, justified, spacing 1.5, A4 (21,0 x 29, 7 cm).
  5. Citations of authors within the manuscript should follow the following format: (Author, date) or (author, date, page), as in the examples: (Weber, 1992) and (Weber, 1992, p.122). If there are more than one title of the same author published in the same year, they must be distinguished by a letter after the date: (Adorno, 1975a), (Adorno, 1975b), etc. References to more than one title in the same statement must be separated by semicolons, as in this example: (Mennell, 1997; Wouters, 2007).
  6. The notes, if necessary, will be numbered consecutively inside the manuscript and placed at the foot of the page and must be of a substantive nature, confining itself to additional comments to the article.
  7. Drawings, charts, maps, tables and photographs should contain the title and source, and be numbered. They must be in a condition that allows for reproduction and printing of quality, and should be submitted in a separated file, with clear indications, along the manuscript, of their place of insertion.
  8. The Journal does not assume responsibility for concepts expressed by the authors. The publication of any manuscript implies automatically the integral  copyright transfer to Século XXI.
  9. The references must be included at the end of the manuscript in alphabetical order and following the rules of ABNT - NBR 10520, by observing the following criteria:

a) BOOKS:

  • URRY, J. Sociology beyond Societies. Mobilities for the twenty-first century. London: Routledge, 2000.
  • COLLINS, S. Categories, concepts or predicaments? Remarks on Mauss’s use of philosophical terminology. In: CARRITHERS, M.; COLLINS, S. & LUKES, S. (Eds.). The category of the person. Anthropology, philosophy, history. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1999, pp.46-82.
  • ARCHER, M. S. et al. Critical Realism. Essential Readings. London: Routledge, 1998.

b) JOURNALS:

  • SHALIN, D. N. The pragmatic origins of symbolic interacionism and the crisis of classical science. Studies in Symbolic Interaction. Vol. 12, pp.223-251, 1991.
  • VELHO, G. Urban anthropology: interdisciplinarity and boundaries of knowledge. Vibrant, Virtual Brazilian Anthropology, Vol. 8, nº.2, pp.452-479, 2011.

c) THESIS OR DISSERTATIONS:

  • SNHNUER, G. Just suffering: a theoretical engagement with the demands of justice. 2010. Thesis (Doctoral), The University of Edinburgh.

d) INFORMATION OR DOCUMENTS OBTAINED FROM INTERNET:

Date(s)

  • Sunday, June 30, 2019

Keywords

  • critique, discordance, temps

Contact(s)

  • Ricardo Mayer
    courriel : r [dot] mayer [at] ufsm [dot] br

Information source

  • Ricardo Mayer
    courriel : r [dot] mayer [at] ufsm [dot] br

To cite this announcement

« The discordance of the times: Daniel Bensaïd and contemporary social criticism », Call for papers, Calenda, Published on Monday, September 17, 2018, https://calenda.org/475963

Archive this announcement

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal

AccueilLa discordance des temps : Daniel Bensaïd et la critique sociale contemporaine

La discordance des temps : Daniel Bensaïd et la critique sociale contemporaine

La discordancia de los tiempos: Daniel Bensaïd y la crítica social contemporánea

The discordance of the times: Daniel Bensaïd and contemporary social criticism

Século XXI: Revista de Ciências Sociais

Século XXI - Revista de Ciencias Sociales

*  *  *

Publié le lundi 17 septembre 2018 par Céline Guilleux

Résumé

Janvier 2020 est achevé dix ans après la mort de Daniel Bensaïd, l'un des philosophes contemporains les plus importants. Auteur d'une œuvre marquée par des contributions originales à la longue tradition du matérialisme historique, on peut dire que leur pensée comprend les besoins actuels de la critique sociale, tant dans le milieu universitaire et au-delà. Bensaid était soucieux de défendre une approche de la société contemporaine pour tenir compte de la nécessité d'éviter les risques théoriques et pratiques de la pensée dogmatique et le raisonnement qui collé aux canons positivistes de « l'objectivité » scientificiste. Cette épistémologique « warning » est présent de façon stratégique dans les élaborations théoriques du philosophe, et informait leurs regards en relation avec le temps, l'espace, la question des classes sociales et le dynamisme et la fluidité des relations sociales et politiques.

Annonce

Direction

  • Henrique Amorim – Universidade Federal de São Paulo (UNIFESP), Brésil;
  • Leandro Galastri – Universidade Estadual Paulista “Júlio de Mesquita Filho” (UNESP), Brésil.

Argumentaire

Janvier 2020 est achevé dix ans après la mort de Daniel Bensaïd, l'un des philosophes contemporains les plus importants. Auteur d'une œuvre marquée par des contributions originales à la longue tradition du matérialisme historique, on peut dire que leur pensée comprend les besoins actuels de la critique sociale, tant dans le milieu universitaire et au-delà. Actif dans le milieu universitaire et la politique française des dernières décennies (Bensaïd a été professeur à l'Université de Paris VIII - Saint-Denis), Il avait quelques-unes de ses œuvres traduites au Brésil comme “Marx, o intempestivo” (Civilização Brasileira, 1999), “Os irredutíveis” (Boitempo, 2008) e “Espetáculo, fetichismo, ideologia” (Plebeu Gabinete de Leitura, 2013). Bensaid était soucieux de défendre une approche de la société contemporaine pour tenir compte de la nécessité d'éviter les risques théoriques et pratiques de la pensée dogmatique et le raisonnement qui collé aux canons positivistes de « l'objectivité » scientificiste. Cette épistémologique « warning » est présent de façon stratégique dans les élaborations théoriques du philosophe, et informait leurs regards en relation avec le temps, l'espace, la question des classes sociales et le dynamisme et la fluidité des relations sociales et politiques. Nous pensons que le dossier proposé ici, en plus de l’événement en question, est mis en dialogue avec les besoins contemporains de réaffirmation de la pensée sociale critique.

Modalités de soumission

Les articles écrits en français, anglais et espagnol sont acceptés.

La date limite de soumission des articles est le 30 juin 2019.

La soumission des articles doit être conforme aux normes éditoriales, disponibles sur le site Web de la revue sous "Directives pour les auteurs" dans "soumissions en ligne" (pour accéder au site de la revue en français, il faut sélectionner la langue dans le menu à gauche): https://periodicos.ufsm.br/seculoxxi/about/submissions#onlineSubmissions

Au début de la 1ère étape de soumission de l'article dans la case “Commentaires à l'éditeur", l'auteur doit indiquer que l'article est soumis en vue de son évaluation pour le dossier "La discordance des temps: Daniel Bensaïd et la critique sociale contemporaine".

Le dossier devrait composer le volume 10, nº 1, de la revue, dont la publication est prévue pour janvier 2020.

Século XXI – Revista de Ciências Sociais

Le Século XXI – Revista de Ciências Sociais [ E-ISSN: 2236-6725 et P-ISSN: 2179-8095  DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.5902/22366725  ] est une publication semestrielle du Programme de Post-Graduation en Sciences Sociales du Centre des Sciences Sociales et Humaines de l'Université Fédérale de Santa Maria – UFSM, Brésil.  Sa politique éditoriale couvre la divulgation des travaux non publiées des sciences sociales (sociologie, anthropologie et science politique), sous la forme d'articles avec pertinence scientifique et sociale. Son public cible est composé de professeurs, chercheurs et étudiants de post-graduation en sciences sociales. Ses articles sont originaux et peuvent être publiés en français, anglais, portugais et espagnol.

Directives aux auteurs

  1. Les articles doivent être accompagnés d'un résumé contenant entre 150 et 200 mots en français, anglais, portugais et espagnol, doivent contenir une synthèse claire des objectifs, les méthodes utilisées et les principales conclusions du travail, et cinq mots clés en français, anglais, portugais et espagnol, ainsi que informations sur l'auteur (tels que la formation, les diplômes ou titres universitaires, l'affiliation institutionnelle, le poste occupé, le courriel, l’identifiant ORCID iD).
  2. Les articles doivent contenir un minimum de 7000 mots et un maximum de 15.000 mots, y compris les références et les notes.
  3. Le titre de l'article doit avoir un maximum de 120 caractères avec des espaces.
  4. Le texte doit être écrit en Times New Roman, 12, justifié, interligne 1,5, A4 (21,0 x 29, 7 cm).
  5. Les citations d'auteurs dans le texte doivent suivre le format suivant: (Auteur, date) ou (auteur, date, page), comme dans les exemples: (Weber, 1992) et (Weber, 1992, p.122). En cas de plusieurs titres du même auteur publiées dans la même année, ils doivent être identifiés par une lettre après la date: (Adorno, 1975a), (Adorno, 1975b), etc. Les références à plus d'un titre dans la même citation doivent être séparés par des points-virgules, comme dans cet exemple: (Boltanski, 1991; Thévenot, 2006).
  6. Les notes, le cas échéant, doivent être numérotées consécutivement dans le texte et placé au pied de la page et doivent être de nature substantielle, limitées aux commentaires supplémentaires au texte.
  7. Dessins, graphiques, cartes, tableaux et photographies doivent comporter un titre et la source, ainsi que doivent être numérotés. Ils devraient également être dans une situation qui permet la reproduction et la qualité d'impression fiable, et devrait être soumis dans un fichier séparé, avec des indications claires, tout au long du texte, où insérer les images.
  8. La revue n'est pas responsable des concepts exprimés par les auteurs. L'envoi de toute collaboration implique automatiquement la pleine cession du droit d'auteur au Século XXI: Revue des Sciences Sociales.
  9. Les références doivent être inclus à la fin de l'article dans l’ordre alphabétique selon les normes de l’ABNT NBR 10520, en respectant les critères suivants:

a) LIVRES:

  • HEINICH, N. L’épreuve de la grandeur. Prix litéraires et reconnaissance. Paris: La Découverte, 1999.
  • BOURDIEU, E. Disposition et action. In: CHAUVIRÉ, C. et OGIEN, A. (Dir.). La régularité. Habitude, disposition et savoir-faire dans l’explication de l’action. Paris: Éditions de l’EHESS, 2002, pp. 95-110.
  • LAHIRE, B. et alCe qu’ils vivent, ce qu’ils écrivent. Mises en scène littéraires du social et expériences socialisatrices des écrivains. Paris: Éditions des Archives Contemporaines, 2011.

b) REVUES:

  • BOURDIEU, P. La fabrique de l'habitus économique. Actes de la recherche en sciences sociales. Vol. 150, pp.79-90, 2003.
  • BESNARD, P. La formation de l'équipe de l'Année sociologique. Revue Française de Sociologie. Vol. 20, nº1, pp.07-31, 1979.

c) MÉMOIRES ET THÈSES:

  • PIERRE, T. L'action en force et les forces en action : sociologie de la force au travail. 2011. Thèse (Doctorat en Sociologie) Université Paul-Verlaine de Metz.

d) INFORMATIONS OU DOCUMENTS OBTENUS SUR INTERNET:

  • FLANDRIN, L. Rire, socialisation et distance de classe. Sociologie [En ligne], Vol. 2, n°1, 2011, mis en ligne le 27 mai 2011, Consulté le 04 avril 2012. url : http://sociologie.revues.org/851

Dates

  • dimanche 30 juin 2019

Mots-clés

  • critique, discordance, temps

Contacts

  • Ricardo Mayer
    courriel : r [dot] mayer [at] ufsm [dot] br

Source de l'information

  • Ricardo Mayer
    courriel : r [dot] mayer [at] ufsm [dot] br

Pour citer cette annonce

« La discordance des temps : Daniel Bensaïd et la critique sociale contemporaine », Appel à contribution, Calenda, Publié le lundi 17 septembre 2018, https://calenda.org/475963

Archiver cette annonce

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal