AccueilRéglementer la religion ?

AccueilRéglementer la religion ?

Réglementer la religion ?

Regulating religions?

Son statut juridique et social dans l'Europe contemporaine

Legal and social status in contemporary Europe

*  *  *

Publié le lundi 03 février 2020 par Anastasia Giardinelli

Résumé

La réglementation des relations entre les États et les groupes religieux a souvent été au cœur de l’intérêt des chercheurs, surtout dans les années 90, lorsque les « nouveaux mouvements religieux » ont attiré l’attention. Aujourd’hui, de nombreux changements rapides se produisant en même temps (évolution du paysage religieux, changements dans les discours politiques, sécularisation, mouvements de population, etc.) encouragent à reprendre le sujet. Le réseau Eurel rassemble des spécialistes du droit et des sciences sociales des religions ; avec cette approche spécifique, il entend aborder cette question lors de son prochain colloque.

Annonce

Le colloque comprendra les conférences plénières de :

  • Grace Davie (professeur émérite de sociologie, Université d’Exeter)
  • Jónatas Machado (professeur de droit à la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Coimbra)

Argumentaire

La réglementation des relations entre les États et les groupes religieux a souvent été au cœur de l’intérêt des chercheurs, surtout dans les années 90, lorsque les « nouveaux mouvements religieux » ont attiré l’attention. Aujourd’hui, de nombreux changements rapides se produisant en même temps (évolution du paysage religieux, changements dans les discours politiques, sécularisation, mouvements de population, etc.) encouragent à reprendre le sujet. Le réseau Eurel rassemble des spécialistes du droit et des sciences sociales des religions ; avec cette approche spécifique, il entend aborder cette question lors de son prochain colloque.

Le colloque abordera la question de la réglementation des groupes confessionnels sous de multiples angles qui tiennent compte des aspects formels et informels de cette réglementation. Elle examinera différents aspects de la question :

  • débats théoriques sur le concept de régulation
  • mesure de la réglementation des religions par l’État
  • conséquences de la réglementation des religions
  • (dé)réglementer les minorités religieuses
  • comparaison des modalités nationales de régulation
  • formes visibles et invisibles de régulation

On s’intéressera tout d’abord aux débats théoriques sur le concept de régulation, et à leur évolution.

De plus, la conférence se penchera sur la façon dont la religion est réglementée sur le plan juridique, politique et social. Cela comprend entre autres les développements juridiques et la jurisprudence, les politiques et les règlements, les procédures administratives et institutionnelles et les pratiques quotidiennes sur le terrain.

L’impact de la réglementation des religions est divers : il peut y avoir des retombées financières ou sociales sur les groupes religieux ainsi que sur la société en général. La réglementation peut également affecter l’organisation des groupes religieux, leur implication politique, mais aussi leur attractivité. Elle peut également avoir des conséquences sur les questions éthiques (par exemple dans le domaine médical, ou dans le cas de l’objection de conscience). Elle peut également influencer les pratiques religieuses. Les contributions étudiant l’un ou l’autre de ces aspects des conséquences de la réglementation des religions, et d’autres, sont les bienvenues.

La question spécifique de la réglementation des minorités religieuses, et de l’augmentation ou de la diminution de cette réglementation sera également abordée.

La régulation de la religion peut être envisagée en adoptant des perspectives macro, méso et micro. Les études comparatives de la réglementation des religions entre les pays (macro), les études examinant la réglementation au niveau des institutions (méso) et les études examinant la micropolitique de la réglementation de la religion (micro), entre autres thèmes, sont toutes bienvenues. La conférence s’intéressera également à la manière dont certaines formes de régulation de la religion traversent les frontières des États et à la manière dont des formes de régulation conçues et mises en œuvre dans certains contextes urbains peuvent être adoptées par d’autres. En considérant ces transferts de politiques, la conférence mettra en lumière les acteurs, les mécanismes et les processus qui facilitent la diffusion de certaines formes de régulation.

Si l’État et les acteurs étatiques sont au cœur de cette régulation du religieux, il convient également de s’intéresser aux acteurs non étatiques qui, sous différentes formes (dialogue, partenariats, réseaux…), contribuent à la régulation du religieux, parfois de manière invisible. Ces acteurs non étatiques peuvent inclure des organisations religieuses, des ONG et des organisations confessionnelles, des organisations de la société civile, etc.

Deux types de présentations sont proposés :

  1. des communications (20 minutes maximum) avec des approches basées sur les sciences politiques, la sociologie et le droit. Ces communications porteront sur l’un ou l’autre des thèmes mentionnés ci-dessus.
  2. Le colloque invite également les jeunes chercheurs (doctorants ou docteurs obtenus depuis moins de 3 ans) à présenter leurs travaux dans un atelier dédié sous un format court, le format « Pecha Kucha » (20 diapositives venant toutes les 20 secondes). Leur présentation doit être en rapport avec le thème général de la conférence (noter que le format long de communication évoqué ci-dessus est également ouvert aux jeunes chercheurs). Des bourses de transport seront disponibles pour les jeunes chercheurs qui optent pour le format court et qui ne reçoivent pas de soutien institutionnel pour participer à la conférence.

Modalités de proposition

Les propositions pour l’une ou l’autre de ces options (contributions ou format court) ne dépassant pas 300 mots peuvent être soumises sur le site du colloque avant le 29 février 2020.

Les propositions doivent préciser le thème de la conférence sur lequel portera la contribution, et indiquer les coordonnées de l’auteur et son affiliation institutionnelle. Elles doivent être accompagnées d’un court CV (2 pages maximum). Le français et l’anglais sont les langues officielles de la conférence ; les communications devront être présentées dans l’une de ces langues.

Les auteurs seront informés en mai 2020 si leur proposition a été acceptée. Les frais de transport ne seront pas pris en charge.

Comité scientifique 

Lieux

  • Faculté des sciences sociales
    Porto, Portugal

Dates

  • samedi 29 février 2020

Mots-clés

  • Relations Etat-religions, Laïcité, Non-religion, Sociologie des religions, Droit des religions, Liberté de religion

Contacts

  • Anne-Laure Zwilling
    courriel : anne-laure [dot] zwilling [at] misha [dot] cnrs [dot] fr

URLS de référence

Source de l'information

  • Anne-Laure Zwilling
    courriel : anne-laure [dot] zwilling [at] misha [dot] cnrs [dot] fr

Pour citer cette annonce

« Réglementer la religion ? », Appel à contribution, Calenda, Publié le lundi 03 février 2020, https://calenda.org/739428

Archiver cette annonce

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal
Rechercher dans OpenEdition Search

Vous allez être redirigé vers OpenEdition Search

HomeRegulating religions?

HomeRegulating religions?

Regulating religions?

Réglementer la religion ?

Legal and social status in contemporary Europe

Son statut juridique et social dans l'Europe contemporaine

*  *  *

Published on Monday, February 03, 2020 by Anastasia Giardinelli

Summary

The regulation of relation between the states and religious groups has often been the focus of scholarly interest, especially in the ’90s, when the so-called New Religious Movements drew a lot of attention. Nowadays, many rapid changes occurring at the same time (evolution of the religious landscape, changes in political discourses, secularisation, movements of population, etc.) encourages further consideration of the subject. With its specific approach, the Eurel network brings together specialists of law and social sciences of religion, and it intends to tackle this issue at its next conference.

Announcement

The conference features keynote lectures by :

  • Grace Davie (Professor Emeritus of Sociology, University of Exeter) 
  • Jónatas Machado (Professor of Law at the Faculty of Law, University of Coimbra)

Argument

The regulation of relation between the states and religious groups has often been the focus of scholarly interest, especially in the ’90s, when the so-called New Religious Movements drew a lot of attention. Nowadays, many rapid changes occurring at the same time (evolution of the religious landscape, changes in political discourses, secularisation, movements of population, etc.) encourages further consideration of the subject. With its specific approach, the Eurel network brings together specialists of law and social sciences of religion, and it intends to tackle this issue at its next conference.

The conference will address the issue of regulating convictional groups from multiple perspectives that take into account the formal as well as informal aspects of this regulation. It will consider different aspects of the question:

  • Theoretical debates on the concept of regulation
  • Measuring state regulation of religions
  • Consequences of regulating religions
  • (Un)regulating religious minorities
  • Cross-national comparisons of regulation modalities
  • Visible and invisible forms of regulation

Firstly, the theoretical debates on the concept of regulation, and their evolution, will be of interest.

Also, the conference will consider how religion is regulated legally, politically and socially. This includes, but is not restricted to legal developments and case law, policies and regulations, administrative and institutional procedures, and every day on-the-ground practises.

The impact of the regulation of religions is diverse: there can be financial or social fall back on religious groups as well as on the society at large. The regulation can also affect the organisation of religious groups, their political involvement, but also their attractiveness. It can also have consequences on ethical issues (for instance in the medical field, or for conscience objection). It can also influence religious practices. Contributions studying any of these aspects of the consequences of the regulation of religions, and others, are welcome.

The specific issue of the regulating of religious minorities, and the growth or decrease of such regulation, is also of interest.

Regulating religion can be considered by adopting macro, meso- and micro perspectives. Comparative studies of the regulation of religions across countries (macro), studies examining regulation at the level of institutions (meso), and studies examining the micropolitics of the regulation of religion (micro), among other themes, are all welcome. The conference will also pay attention to how certain forms of regulating religion travel across the borders of states and how forms of regulation designed and implemented in certain urban contexts may be adopted by others. By considering these policy transfers, the conference will shed light on the actors, mechanisms and processes that facilitate the spread of certain forms of regulation.

While the state and state actors are central to this regulation of religion, attention should also be paid to non-state actors who, through different forms (dialogue, partnerships, networks…), contribute to the regulation of religion, sometimes invisibly. These non-state actors may include religious organisations, NGOs and FBOs, civil-society organisations, etc.

The call invites two types of presentations:

  1. The conference invites papers (that should not last more than 20 minutes) with approaches based in political science, sociology, and law. Papers will address any of the themes mentioned above.
  2. The conference also invites young researchers (PhD students or PhD obtained less than 3 years ago) to present their work in a dedicated workshop under a short format, the ‘Pecha Kucha’ format (20 slides with each one coming every 20 seconds). Their presentation should be relevant to the general topic of the conference. The long format, paper presentation, is also available for young researchers. Transport grants will be available for young researchers opting for a short format who do not receive institutional support to attend the conference.

Submission Guidelines

Proposals for one of these two types (paper proposals, or short format proposals) of no more than 300 words, can be submitted on the conference website by 29 February 2020. Proposals must specify which conference theme the paper addresses, and indicate the author’s contact information and institutional affiliation. They should be accompanied by a short CV (2 pages max.). French and English are the official languages of the conference. The paper presentations must be in one of these languages.

Authors will be notified in May 2020 if their proposal has been accepted. Transportation fees will not be taken in charge.

Conference scientific committee

Places

  • Faculté des sciences sociales
    Porto, Portugal

Date(s)

  • Saturday, February 29, 2020

Keywords

  • Relations Etat-religions, Laïcité, Non-religion, Sociologie des religions, Droit des religions, Liberté de religion

Contact(s)

  • Anne-Laure Zwilling
    courriel : eurel [at] misha [dot] cnrs [dot] fr

Reference Urls

Information source

  • Anne-Laure Zwilling
    courriel : eurel [at] misha [dot] cnrs [dot] fr

To cite this announcement

« Regulating religions? », Call for papers, Calenda, Published on Monday, February 03, 2020, https://calenda.org/739428

Archive this announcement

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal
Search OpenEdition Search

You will be redirected to OpenEdition Search