AccueilLe paramètre temporel dans le développement langagier : implications didactiques et pédagogiques

AccueilLe paramètre temporel dans le développement langagier : implications didactiques et pédagogiques

Le paramètre temporel dans le développement langagier : implications didactiques et pédagogiques

Time and language development: Pedagogical and practical considerations

LIDIL numéro 66

*  *  *

Publié le mardi 16 février 2021 par Céline Guilleux

Résumé

Ce numéro de la revue LIDIL s’interroge sur la prise en compte du paramètre temporel dans les travaux passés, actuels et à venir en didactique des langues (DDL). Nous nous intéressons plus particulièrement ici à des situations d’appropriation d’une/de langue(s) additionnelle(s) ayant cours en milieu institutionnel et guidé, car le développement langagier a vocation à y être doublement situé. 

Annonce

Coordination

  • José AGUILAR, Université Sorbonne Nouvelle – Paris 3, DILTEC – EA 2288 Cédric BRUDERMANN, Sorbonne Université – CELISO – EA 7332
  • Alice BURROWS, Université Sorbonne Nouvelle – Paris 3, DILTEC – EA 2288
  • Pascale TREVISIOL OKAMURA, Université Sorbonne Nouvelle – Paris 3, DILTEC – EA 2288

Argumentaire

Bailly rend compte dès 1997 d’une différence entre, d’une part, une didactique institutionnelle qui transparait dans les instructions officielles, les prescriptions des manuels et jusque dans la formation continue des enseignants et, d’autre part, une didactique de la recherche, donnant lieu à la publication de thèses et d’articles. Cette évolution a conduit à envisager sous des angles différents les questions afférentes aux champs de l’enseignement et de l’apprentissage des langues. C’est notamment le cas du paramètre temporel.

D’un côté, la didactique institutionnelle des langues (Lefranc, 2008) tend à envisager le temps comme un outil de mesure méthodologique qui s’incarne aujourd’hui dans des outils de politique linguistique tels que le CECRL (Cadre Européen Commun de Référence pour l’enseignement des Langues, Conseil de l’Europe, 2001), mais également dans les directives ministérielles concernant l’enseignement et/ou l’apprentissage en situation d’instruction institutionnelle à l’école, au collège et au lycée. Dans ces référentiels, le paramètre temporel est sollicité pour rendre compte du nombre d’heures d’apprentissage avec lequel il faut compter pour atteindre un niveau de langue donné (cf. référentiel ALTE, par exemple (North, 2007)) et les volumes horaires fournis correspondent généralement à des estimations assez précises, quelles que soient les paires de langues sources/cibles. Pour autant, le développement langagier serait paradoxalement impossible « à traiter en seuls termes de volume horaire de cours présentiels » (Taillefer, 2014, §15). Il en découle que, dans une optique institutionnelle, le rapport entre « durée » et « appropriation des langues » est envisagé d’après une perspective utilitariste, programmatique et idéologique.

Du côté des études à l’interface de la DDL et des recherches sur l’acquisition des langues (RAL(e)), les résultats tendent à démontrer au contraire que les processus d’appropriation des « langues additionnelles » (Narcy-Combes et coll., 2020) s’étendent sur des empans temporels plus ou moins longs (Verspoor et coll., 2017)1, selon les individus, en particulier parce que l’apprentissage serait dépendant de variables diverses, telles que les caractéristiques individuelles de chacun.e (Robinson, 2002), les manières propres à chaque langue d’encoder des notions/concepts, les caractéristiques ou les traits typologiques des langues en contact, mais aussi les conséquences émergeant des modes d’exposition aux stimuli langagiers sur le développement langagier (Watorek et coll., 2017).

Il résulte de cette dichotomie paradigmatique (Whyte, 2020) que des décalages patents sont à noter entre les préconisations listées dans les référentiels officiels et les résultats des travaux en RAL(e), « les six niveaux d’enseignement – apprentissage du Cadre européen commun de référence pour les langues – apprendre, enseigner, évaluer [ayant] été formulés hors de toute référence aux recherches acquisitionnelles » (Véronique, 2005, p. 11). À cet égard, entre normalisation d’une temporalité organisationnelle inhérente aux logiques des institutions éducatives et relativité du temps vécu du développement langagier, le paramètre temporel entraine des implications épistémologiques non suffisamment questionnées à ce jour en didactique des langues et des cultures (Castellotti, 2017).

Ce numéro entend participer à combler en partie cette lacune en s’interrogeant sur la prise en compte du paramètre temporel dans les travaux passés, actuels et à venir en didactique des langues (DDL). Nous nous intéressons plus particulièrement ici à des situations d’appropriation d’une/de langue(s) additionnelle(s) ayant cours en milieu institutionnel et guidé, car le développement langagier a vocation à y être doublement situé2. A cet égard, compte tenu de ce que la RAL(e), la psycholinguistique et les camps apparentés à ces domaines, nous apprennent sur sur les processus d’appropriation d’une langue additionnelle – notamment en ce qui concerne leur chronologie et leur temporalité (Siyanova‐Chanturia & Spina, 2020) – nos interrogations portent plus particulièrement sur des phénomènes qui relèvent de trois niveaux où l’influence du paramètre temporel nous semble particulièrement saillante :

1   Au niveau de l’apprenant.e, les contributions pourront notamment aborder les questions suivantes : la durée d’exposition à la langue ou d’apprentissage en milieu guidé a-t-elle vocation à interagir avec ou à être influencée par des paramètres qui relèvent de l’apprenant.e-même, tels que l’âge, la capacité cognitive, le répertoire langagier, la personnalité ou les expériences d’appropriation préalables ? Un lien de corrélation peut-il être observé entre durée d’exposition/d’apprentissage et transfert des connaissances dans la mémoire à long terme ? En quoi la répétition mentale et/ou le rebrassage de contenus constituent-ils (ou non) des leviers à l’apprentissage ? En quoi les modalités a.synchrones de travail rendues possibles par le numérique permettent-elles de proposer des parcours de formation ajustées aux « différences individuelles »3 (Robinson, 2002) des apprenant.e.s, lesquelles revêtent un caractère « injuste » (Skehan, 1989) et permettraient d’expliquer pourquoi certain.e.s apprenant.e.s « continuent à progresser et peuvent atteindre ainsi un très bon niveau de maitrise de la langue, [pendant que] d’autres semblent ne plus progresser, malgré l’enseignement qu’ils.elles reçoivent, ou malgré leur utilisation active de la langue dans des situations de communication » (Gaonac’h, 2006, p. 65).

2  Au niveau de la relation pédagogique qui s’établit dans le contexte de l’appropriation guidée en milieu institutionnel (Watorek et coll., 2017), les propositions d’article pourront porter sur les analyses des pratiques des personnes assurant une médiation auprès des apprenant.e.s : ces médiateurs.trices portent-ils.elles des attentes (in)conscientes vis-à-vis des progrès observés chez les apprenant.e.s au cours d’un cycle donné ? Ont-ils.elles conscience d’adapter leur pratique pédagogique en vue de faciliter l’appropriation d’objectifs d’apprentissage plus ou moins denses/épars, en fonction de leur perception du temps d’exposition des apprenant.e.s à la langue additionnelle (mesurable en jours, mois, années, etc.) ? Les enseignant.e.s ont-ils.elles conscience de l’influence que le cadre temporel institutionnel peut avoir sur leurs propres pratiques pédagogiques ? Existe-t-il des interventions didactiques et des pratiques pédagogiques spécifiques qui seraient propices à tendre vers de l’appropriation langagière dans un cadre temporel donné, voire des cycles d’exposition et/ou d’usage particuliers (Ellis, 2008) ? Est-il nécessaire d’adapter l’intervention didactique et les pratiques pédagogiques en tenant compte du fait que l’apprenant.e a déjà connu des expériences préalables d’appropriation en milieu guidé, dans lesquelles la temporalité faisait office de cadre organisateur et, par conséquent, de « circonstance organisatrice » (Spear & Mocker, 1984) ? Comment l’articulation entre progression d’apprentissage et progression d’enseignement s’établit-elle (coïncidence) – ou non (décalage) – au regard de la durée d’exposition à la langue cible ?

3 Sur le plan des politiques éducatives, il pourra être question de s’interroger quant aux enjeux nationaux et continentaux liés à l’unification des temporalités d’apprentissage. Quels rôles attribuer aux pratiques évaluatives communes œuvrant pour l’établissement d’une « pragmatique du temps de l’apprentissage » ? Qu’est-ce que cette temporalité présuppose par rapport à des outils didactiques de balisage tels que les descripteurs du CECRL (Conseil de l’Europe, 2001, 2018) ? Quels liens entre politiques publiques d’investissement dans l’apprentissage linguistique (OFII, UPE2A, Français Langue d’Intégration et d’Insertion, etc.) et attentes temporelles en matière d’apprentissage ? Quelles conséquences didactiques et pédagogiques lorsque les résultats acquisitionnels escomptés ne sont pas obtenus dans les délais institutionnels prévus à l’avance ?

À  l’aune de ces quelques pistes de réflexion non exhaustives, ce numéro entend recueillir des contributions prenant appui sur des données de terrain et débouchant sur des implications didactiques et pédagogiques concrètes à des fins d’enseignement et d’apprentissage des langues. Les auteur.e.s sont particulièrement encouragé.e.s à faire des recommandations d’ordre praxéologique sur des aspects didactiques (choix de contenus, organisation, déconstruction, présentation) ou pédagogiques (pratiques de médiation, attention aux dimensions intra- et inter-personnelles, ainsi qu’aux caractéristiques individuelles). De même, l’intérêt que nous prêtons au paramètre temporel nous incite à nous projeter dans l’avenir et à nous interroger quant à des pistes de travail ou des éléments tangibles à envisager pour structurer une feuille de route pour la didactique des langues et des cultures du futur.

Modalités de contribution

  • 05 juin 2021 : dernier délai pour la réception des propositions (3 pages).

  • 15 juillet 2021 : notification d’acceptation ou de refus des propositions.
  • 15 décembre 2021 : date limite d’envoi des articles par les auteurs.
  • Décembre 2022 : parution du numéro

Les résumés et articles devront être envoyés aux adresses suivantes :

  • jose.aguilarrio@sorbonne-nouvelle.fr
  • cedric.brudermann@sorbonne-universite.fr
  • alice-helene.burrows@sorbonne-nouvelle.fr
  • pascale.trevisiol@sorbonne-nouvelle.fr

Les propositions ne dépasseront pas trois pages (bibliographie comprise) ;

Les articles complets ne dépasseront en aucun cas 40 000 caractères, espaces compris ;

Les articles pourront être rédigés en français, anglais ou en espagnol. La version finale de l’article devra comprendre obligatoirement un résumé en anglais et un résumé dans la langue de l’article. Si l’article est rédigé en anglais, alors l’autre résumé sera en français. Les mêmes consignes s'appliquent pour les mots-clés.

La feuille de style et les consignes rédactionnelles se trouvent en ligne.

Bibliographie

BAILLY, Danielle. (1997). Didactique de l’anglais (1) - Objectifs et contenus de l’enseignement. Paris : Nathan.

CARROL, John B. (1981). Twenty-five years of research on foreign language aptitude. In K. C Diller (ed.), Individual differences and universals in language learning aptitude (83-118). Rowley, MA : Newbury House.

CASTELLOTTI, Véronique. (2017). Pour une didactique de l’appropriation. Paris : Didier.

CONSEIL  DE  L’EUROPE.  (2001).  Un  Cadre  Européen  de  Référence  pour  les  Langues : Apprendre, Enseigner, Évaluer. Strasbourg : Division des Politiques Linguistiques.

CONSEIL DE L’EUROPE. (2018). Cadre Européen Commun de Référence pour les Langues : Apprendre, Enseigner, Évaluer. Volume complémentaire avec de nouveaux descripteurs (Conseil de l’Europe).

ELLIS, Nick C. (2008). The Dynamics of Second Language Emergence: Cycles of Language Use, Language Change, and Language Acquisition. The Modern Language Journal, 92(2), 232-249. <https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1540-4781.2008.00716.x>.

FLYNN, Suzanne et O’NEIL, Wayne. (1988). Linguistic theory in second language acquisition. Dordrecth : Kluwer Academic Publishers.

GAONAC’H, Daniel. (1987), Théories d’apprentissage et acquisition d’une langue étrangère. Paris : Hatier-Crédif, Coll. LAL

GARDNER, Howard. (2002). On the Three Faces of Intelligence. Daedalus, 131(1), 139-142. Disponible en ligne sur <http://www.jstor.org/stable/20027746> (consulté le 3-02-2021).

LEFRANC, Yannick. (2008). La didactique (institutionnelle) des langues : Une domestication participative. Raison présente, 167(1), 87-98. <https://doi.org/10.3406/raipr.2008.4109>.

NARCY-COMBES, Marie-Françoise, NARCY-COMBES, Jean-Paul, MCALLISTER, Julie, LECLERE, Malory & MIRAS, Grégory. (2020). Language Learning and Teaching in a Multilingual World. Bristol : Multilingual Matters.

NORTH, Brian. (2007). The CEFR Illustrative Descriptor Scales. The Modern Language Journal, 91(4), 656-659. <https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1540-4781.2007.00627_3.x>.

OXFORD, Rebecca L. & EHRMAN, Madeline E. (1995). Adults’ language learning strategies in an intensive foreign language program in the United States. System, 23(3), 359-386. <https://doi.org/10.1016/0346-251X(95)00023-D>.

PERDUE, Clive. (dir.) (1993). Adult language acquisition: cross-linguistic perspectives. Vol. II: The Results. Cambridge : Cambridge University Press.

PIENEMANN,  Manfred.  (1989).  Is  language  teachable?  Applied  linguistics,  10(1),  52-79. <https://doi.org/10.1093/applin/10.1.52>.

ROBINSON, Peter. (2002). Individual Differences and Instructed Language Learning. Londres : John Benjamins Publishing.

SIYANOVA-CHANTURIA, Anna & SPINA, Stefania. (2020). Multi‐Word Expressions in Second Language Writing: A Large‐Scale Longitudinal Learner Corpus Study. Language Learning, 70(2), 420-463. <https://doi.org/10.1111/lang.12383>.

SKEHAN, Peter. (1989). Individual differences in second language learning. London : Edward Arnold.

SPEAR, George E.  & MOCKER,  Donald W. (1984).  The Organizing Circumstance: Environmental Determinants in Self-Directed Learning. Adult Education Quarterly, 35(1), 1-10 <https://doi.org/10.1177/0001848184035001001>.

TAILLEFER, Gail.  (2021).  Éditorial.  Les dossiers des sciences de l’éducation, 32. <https://doi.org/10.4000/dse.640>.

VERONIQUE, Georges Daniel. (2005). Les interrelations entre la recherche sur l’acquisition du français langue étrangère et la didactique du français langue étrangère. AILE, 23, 9-41. <https://doi.org/10.4000/aile.1707>.

VERSPOOR, Marjolijn, LOWIE, Wander, CHAN, Hui Ping & VAHTRICK, Louisa. (2017). Linguistic complexity in second language development: variability and variation at advanced stages, Recherches en didactique des langues et des cultures, 14(1). <https://doi.org/10.4000/rdlc.1450>.

WATOREK, Marzena, RAST, Rebekah, DURAND, Marie, DIMROTH, Christine & STARREN, Marianne. (2017). L’influence du type d’enseignement sur l’appropriation de la morphologie au début de l’apprentissage d’une langue étrangère. Le Français Dans Le Monde – Recherches et Applications, 61, 47-61.

WHYTE, Shona. (2020). Moving with the times: new developments in languages in French higher education contexts. European Journal of Language Policy 12(2), 193-214. <https://doi.org/10.3828/ejlp.2020.10>.

Notes

1   Lesquels constituent ou comportent des stades (Pienemann, 1989), des paliers acquisitionnels (Perdue, 1993), des « plateaux » (Flynn & O’Neil, 1988), ou encore des cycles (Ellis, 2008).

2  Dans le sens où il se déroule dans le cadre de pratiques pédagogiques qui sont elles-mêmes ancrées dans (et conditionnées par) un cadre institutionnel d’appui.

3  Comme l’aptitude langagière (Carroll, 1981), le type d’intelligence (Gardner, 2002) ou le style cognitif des apprenants (Oxford & Ehrman, 1995), par exemple.

Lieux

  • Paris, France (75000)

Dates

  • dimanche 05 juin 2022

Contacts

  • Alice Burrows
    courriel : alice-helene [dot] burrows [at] sorbonne-nouvelle [dot] fr

Source de l'information

  • Alice Burrows
    courriel : alice-helene [dot] burrows [at] sorbonne-nouvelle [dot] fr

Pour citer cette annonce

« Le paramètre temporel dans le développement langagier : implications didactiques et pédagogiques », Appel à contribution, Calenda, Publié le mardi 16 février 2021, https://calenda.org/844165

Archiver cette annonce

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal
Rechercher dans OpenEdition Search

Vous allez être redirigé vers OpenEdition Search

HomeTime and language development: Pedagogical and practical considerations

HomeTime and language development: Pedagogical and practical considerations

Time and language development: Pedagogical and practical considerations

Le paramètre temporel dans le développement langagier : implications didactiques et pédagogiques

LIDIL numéro 66

*  *  *

Published on Tuesday, February 16, 2021Tuesday, February 16, 2021 by Céline Guilleux

Summary

This issue of LIDIL intends to questioning how the temporal parameter was, is and will be taken into account in the literature of the field. The focus here is in teacher-fronted, institutional settings, where language development is situated in two respects.

Announcement

Guest Editors

  • José AGUILAR, Sorbonne Nouvelle University, DILTEC – EA 2288
  • Cédric BRUDERMANN, Sorbonne University, CELISO – EA 7332
  • Alice BURROWS, Sorbonne Nouvelle University, DILTEC – EA 2288
  • Pascale TREVISIOL, Sorbonne Nouvelle University, DILTEC – EA 2288

Argument

As early as 1997, Bailly reported on a difference between, on the one hand, institutional didactics, which is to be found in the content and performance standards, the national curriculum textbooks and the teacher professional development programmes and, on the other hand, research programmes in applied linguistics, which give rise to the publication of theses and articles. This development has led to consider issues relating to language education and acquisition from different angles. This is particularly the case for the time parameter.

On the one hand, institutional language teaching (Lefranc, 2008) tends to consider time as a methodological measurement tool that is embodied today in language policy tools such as the CEFR, but also in official guidelines to support teaching and / or learning in institutional settings such as primary or secondary schools. In these frameworks, the time parameter is used to account for the number of hours it takes to reach a given language proficiency level (cf. ALTE repository, for example (North, 2007)) and the hour estimates provided are generally fairly precise, regardless of the source / target language pairs. This contradicts with the literature of the field, which highlights that language proficiency development is impossible to deal with only in terms of intended instructional time spent by students in formal classroom settings (Taillefer, 2014, §15). From this perspective, the relationship between “amount of time during which learners receive instruction from a classroom teacher in a formal context” and “language development” is viewed from a utilitarian, programmatic and ideological perspective.

As far as the academic literature in applied linguistics and second language acquisition (SLA) is concerned, the results tend to show, on the contrary, that “additional language” (Narcy-Combes et coll., 2020) proficiency development is unpredictable and can possibly extend over either short or prolonged time spans (Verspoor et coll., 2017)4, depending on the individuals, in particular because learning would depend on different variables, such as the learners’ individual differences (Robinson, 2002), the specific ways in which notions and concepts are encoded in a given language, the typological characteristics and language-specific forms of the languages in contact, but also the effects of language instructional mode on student proficiency development (Watorek et coll., 2017).

It follows from this paradigmatic dichotomy (Whyte, 2020) that there are obvious discrepancies between the recommendations listed in the content and performance standards “learning plateaus” (Flynn & O’Neil, 1988) and cycles (Ellis, 2008). and the findings brought forward in SLA research, “the CEFR levels having no basis in SLA theory or research” (Véronique, 2005, p. 11, our translation). It follows that, at the interface between the government efforts to normalize an organisational temporality and the temporal relativity which characterizes the human experience and shapes language development, the temporal parameter entails epistemological implications that have not been sufficiently questioned to date in the field of applied linguistics (Castellotti, 2017).

This issue intends to help partially bridge this gap by questioning how the temporal parameter was, is and will be taken into account in the literature of the field. The focus here is in teacher-fronted, institutional settings, where language development is situated in two respects5. Taking into account SLA research results, as well as research findings in psycholinguistics and related fields – in particular as regards chronology and temporality (Siyanova‐Chanturia & Spina, 2020) – this issue aims to address questions which fall under three levels where the influence of the time parameter seems particularly salient:

  1. At the level of the learner, the articles could for instance address the following questions: is the duration of exposure to input or to learning in a guided environment likely to interact or be influenced by learner-specific variables such as age, cognitive ability, language repertoire, personality or prior language learning experiences? Can a correlation be established between duration of exposure to input / learning time and knowledge transfer to long-term memory? How does mental rehearsal and / or subsequent retrieval and reuse of given learning objects constitute (or not) levers for learning? How do the a.synchronous working modalities made possible through theexpanded use of technology make it possible to offer training courses adjusted to the learners’ “individual differences”6 (Robinson, 2002), which are “unfair” (Skehan, 1989) and would explain why some learners “continue to make progress and eventually reach very good language proficiency levels, [while] other learners apparently fail to make any progress, despite the amount of instructional time they receive, or their active use of languages in given communication situations” (Gaonac’h, 2006, p. 65, our translation).
  2. As regards the relationship between pedagogical guidance and language development in institutional settings (Watorek et coll., 2017), the proposals may seek to analyse the relationship between teaching professionals’ instructional practices and student achievement: do these mediators carry (un)conscious expectations as regards student achievement over given learning periods of time? Are they aware of any adaptation of their pedagogical practice to help learners reach more or less dense / varied learning objectives, depending on how they perceive learners’ length of exposure to the target language (measurable in days, months, years, etc.)? Are teaching professionals aware of the influence the institutional time frame can have on their own teaching practices? Are there any specific pedagogical interventions and practices or specific periods of exposure and / or target language uses (Ellis, 2008) that have the potential to foster second language acquisition within a given time frame? Is it necessary to adapt thepedagogical interventions and practices considering that most learners have already had first second language learning experiences in guided environments in which temporality was an organizing variable and consequently acted as an “organizing circumstance” (Spear & Mocker, 1984)? To what extent does the relationship between learning progressions and teaching sequences coincide (or not) as regards the length of exposure to the target language?
  3. As far as educational policies are concerned, authors may question the national and continental issues linked to the unification of learning time frames. What roles should be assigned to common evaluation practices which seek to foster the emergence of a“learning time type of pragmatics”? What does this temporality presuppose in relation to language scales and standards such as the CEFR descriptors (Council of Europe, 2001, 2018)? What are the links between public policies investing in language education (OFII, UPE2A, French as a language of integration and Insertion, etc.) and the language study-time estimations they provide? What pedagogical and practical consequences should be drawn when the predicted language outcomes are not in line with the anticipated study-time estimations?

In light of these few non-exhaustive avenues for reflection, this issue intends to collect contributions based on field data and leading to concrete practical and pedagogical implications as regards additional language teaching and learning and language development. Authors are particularly encouraged to make praxeological recommendations on practical (choice of content topics, organisation, deconstruction, presentation) and pedagogical aspects (mediation practices, attention to intra/ inter-personal dimensions and to individual differences). Likewise, we also encourage prospective authors to suggest areas of future research and to address research openings which could help structure a roadmap for the coming years and highlight what language learning and teaching could look like in the future.

Submission guidelines

  • Deadline for submissions of abstracts (3 pages): 30th March 2021

  • Notification of acceptance or rejection of submissions: 5th June 2021
  • Deadline for submission of full articles: 5th July 2021
  • Reviewers’ comments: 15th December 2021
  • Anticipated date of publication: December 2022

Abstracts and papers should be sent to the following addresses: jose.aguilarrio@sorbonne-nouvelle.fr cedric.brudermann@sorbonne-universite.fr alice-helene.burrows@sorbonne-nouvelle.fr pascale.trevisiol@sorbonne-nouvelle.fr

Abstract submissions should not exceed three pages (including bibliography); In no case should full papers exceed 40,000 characters (including spaces);

Articles may be written in French, English or Spanish. The final version of the article must include a summary in English and a summary in the language of the article. If the article is written in English, then the other summary will be in French. The same guidelines apply for keywords.

The stylesheet and instructions for authors can be found online.

Bibliography

BAILLY, Danielle. (1997). Didactique de l’anglais (1) - Objectifs et contenus de l’enseignement. Paris : Nathan.

CARROL, John B. (1981). Twenty-five years of research on foreign language aptitude. In K. C Diller (ed.), Individual differences and universals in language learning aptitude (83-118). Rowley, MA : Newbury House.

CASTELLOTTI, Véronique. (2017). Pour une didactique de l’appropriation. Paris : Didier.

CONSEIL  DE  L’EUROPE.  (2001).  Un  Cadre  Européen  de  Référence  pour  les  Langues : Apprendre, Enseigner, Évaluer. Strasbourg : Division des Politiques Linguistiques.

CONSEIL DE L’EUROPE. (2018). Cadre Européen Commun de Référence pour les Langues : Apprendre, Enseigner, Évaluer. Volume complémentaire avec de nouveaux descripteurs (Conseil de l’Europe).

ELLIS, Nick C. (2008). The Dynamics of Second Language Emergence: Cycles of Language Use, Language Change, and Language Acquisition. The Modern Language Journal, 92(2), 232-249. <https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1540-4781.2008.00716.x>.

FLYNN, Suzanne et O’NEIL, Wayne. (1988). Linguistic theory in second language acquisition. Dordrecth : Kluwer Academic Publishers.

GAONAC’H, Daniel. (1987), Théories d’apprentissage et acquisition d’une langue étrangère. Paris : Hatier-Crédif, Coll. LAL

GARDNER, Howard. (2002). On the Three Faces of Intelligence. Daedalus, 131(1), 139-142. Disponible en ligne sur <http://www.jstor.org/stable/20027746> (consulté le 3-02-2021).

LEFRANC, Yannick. (2008). La didactique (institutionnelle) des langues : Une domestication participative. Raison présente, 167(1), 87-98. <https://doi.org/10.3406/raipr.2008.4109>.

NARCY-COMBES, Marie-Françoise, NARCY-COMBES, Jean-Paul, MCALLISTER, Julie, LECLERE, Malory & MIRAS, Grégory. (2020). Language Learning and Teaching in a Multilingual World. Bristol : Multilingual Matters.

NORTH, Brian. (2007). The CEFR Illustrative Descriptor Scales. The Modern Language Journal, 91(4), 656-659. <https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1540-4781.2007.00627_3.x>.

OXFORD, Rebecca L. & EHRMAN, Madeline E. (1995). Adults’ language learning strategies in an intensive foreign language program in the United States. System, 23(3), 359-386. <https://doi.org/10.1016/0346-251X(95)00023-D>.

PERDUE, Clive. (dir.) (1993). Adult language acquisition: cross-linguistic perspectives. Vol. II: The Results. Cambridge : Cambridge University Press.

PIENEMANN,  Manfred.  (1989).  Is  language  teachable?  Applied  linguistics,  10(1),  52-79. <https://doi.org/10.1093/applin/10.1.52>.

ROBINSON, Peter. (2002). Individual Differences and Instructed Language Learning. Londres : John Benjamins Publishing.

SIYANOVA-CHANTURIA, Anna & SPINA, Stefania. (2020). Multi‐Word Expressions in Second Language Writing: A Large‐Scale Longitudinal Learner Corpus Study. Language Learning, 70(2), 420-463. <https://doi.org/10.1111/lang.12383>.

SKEHAN, Peter. (1989). Individual differences in second language learning. London : Edward Arnold.

SPEAR, George E.  & MOCKER,  Donald W. (1984).  The Organizing Circumstance: Environmental Determinants in Self-Directed Learning. Adult Education Quarterly, 35(1), 1-10 <https://doi.org/10.1177/0001848184035001001>.

TAILLEFER, Gail.  (2021).  Éditorial.  Les dossiers des sciences de l’éducation, 32. <https://doi.org/10.4000/dse.640>.

VERONIQUE, Georges Daniel. (2005). Les interrelations entre la recherche sur l’acquisition du français langue étrangère et la didactique du français langue étrangère. AILE, 23, 9-41. <https://doi.org/10.4000/aile.1707>.

VERSPOOR, Marjolijn, LOWIE, Wander, CHAN, Hui Ping & VAHTRICK, Louisa. (2017). Linguistic complexity in second language development: variability and variation at advanced stages, Recherches en didactique des langues et des cultures, 14(1). <https://doi.org/10.4000/rdlc.1450>.

WATOREK, Marzena, RAST, Rebekah, DURAND, Marie, DIMROTH, Christine & STARREN, Marianne. (2017). L’influence du type d’enseignement sur l’appropriation de la morphologie au début de l’apprentissage d’une langue étrangère. Le Français Dans Le Monde – Recherches et Applications, 61, 47-61.

WHYTE, Shona. (2020). Moving with the times: new developments in languages in French higher education contexts. European Journal of Language Policy 12(2), 193-214. <https://doi.org/10.3828/ejlp.2020.10>.

Notes

4 These may constitute or imply acquisition-related stages (Pienemann, 1989) and levels (Perdue, 1993),

5 As it indeed takes place within the framework of pedagogical practices, which are themselves embedded in the exercise framework offered by the institution and on which they depend upon.

6 Such as the language aptitude (Carroll, 1981), the intelligence type (Gardner, 2002) or the learners’ cognitive style (Oxford & Ehrman, 1995), for instance.

Places

  • Paris, France (75000)

Date(s)

  • Sunday, June 05, 2022Sunday, June 05, 2022

Contact(s)

  • Alice Burrows
    courriel : alice-helene [dot] burrows [at] sorbonne-nouvelle [dot] fr

Information source

  • Alice Burrows
    courriel : alice-helene [dot] burrows [at] sorbonne-nouvelle [dot] fr

To cite this announcement

« Time and language development: Pedagogical and practical considerations », Call for papers, Calenda, Published on Tuesday, February 16, 2021Tuesday, February 16, 2021, https://calenda.org/844165

Archive this announcement

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal
Search OpenEdition Search

You will be redirected to OpenEdition Search