HomeMonks around the Mediterranean

Monks around the Mediterranean

Les moines autour de la Méditerranée

Travels and contacts at local and regional scales

Mobilités et contacts à l’échelle locale et régionale

*  *  *

Published on Monday, January 20, 2014 by Luigia Parlati

Summary

The first conference of the program “Monks around the Mediterranean” will take place at the French School in Rome from September 17 to 19, 2014. It will focus on “Travels and contacts at local and regional scales”. Monks going from one monastery to another, monks traveling for business or pilgrimage, will be studied. Motivations for traveling will be searched, as well as practicalities and monastic hospitality. Wandering monks will also be considered. All monastic relationships may be presented, including communication through letters dealing with daily life, economy, monastic organization or spirituality.

Announcement

Argument

The French Institute of Eastern Archaeology in Cairo (Ifao), the European Centre for Research on Congregations and Religious Orders (CERCOR-LEM UMR 8584, Saint-Etienne), the joint research unit The East and the Mediterranean (Sorbonne University-CNRS, UMR 8167, Paris), the Laboratory of Excellence RESMED (Religions and societies in the Mediterranean world, Sorbonne University, Paris), with the support of the French School in Rome (EfR) and the French School in Athens (EfA), have launched a research program for 2012-2016 called: Monks around the Mediterranean. Contacts, exchanges and influences in East and West, from Late Antiquity to the Middle Ages (4th-15th century) , a continuation of the program The daily life in Eastern and Western monasticisms (4th - 10th century) .

This program aims at studying the mobility of monks, the transmission of monastic ideas, the influences and exchanges of experience between monastic communities around the Mediterranean during the late Antiquity and the Middle Ages. Contacts are considered either locally (within the same community or within the same region) or on a long distance-scale (between monks and communities located in different regions and countries).

This program is intended for historians, art historians, philologists and archaeologists studying monasticism around the Mediterranean, both Eastern and Western, on a long time-period (4th-15th c.). It consists of several events: a conference in Rome (2014), another in Cairo (2016), a round table in Saint-Etienne (2015) and a field seminar for PhD candidates in Athens (2015).

THE ROME CONFERENCE

The first conference of the program Monks around the Mediterranean will take place at the French School in Rome from September 17 to 19, 2014. It will focus on monastic contacts and exchanges at local and regional scales. Monks going from one monastery to another, monks traveling for business or pilgrimage, will be studied. Motivations for traveling will be searched, as well as practicalities and monastic hospitality. Wandering monks will also be considered. All monastic relationships may be presented, including communication through letters dealing with daily life, economy, monastic organization or spirituality.

Themes

Papers will be arranged in four workshops:

1. Visiting, traveling and wandering monks
2. Changing monastery, rule, or monastic order
3. Letters written by monks: daily life and spirituality
4. Structures for guests, places to shelter

Submission guidelines

Communications, lasting 20 minutes, will be presented in French or English. The results of this conference will be published in co-publication between the partner institutions.

We hope you will be interested in this call for papers. If you wish to participate, please send us, before the Monday 20 February 2014, the title of your paper, a short abstract, and the workshop you would like to attend, at the following address:

programme-moines@ifao.egnet.net

The Organizing Committee

  • Annick Peters-Custot, Senior lecturer, Lyon University/Saint-Étienne University, CERCOR-LEM UMR 8584 (Saint-Étienne), annick@peters-custot.fr
  • Maria Mossakowska-Gaubert, Research associate, Ifao (Cairo), mmossakowska@ifao.egnet.net
  • Olivier Delouis, Research fellow, CNRS, UMR 8167 Orient et Méditerranée (Paris), olivier.delouis@college-de-france.fr
  • in collaboration with Cécile CABY, Senior lecturer, Nice University, UMR 7264 (Nice), cecile.caby@unice.fr

Places

  • École française de Rome
    Rome, Italian Republic

Date(s)

  • Thursday, February 20, 2014

Keywords

  • monachisme, monasticism, Méditerranée, Mediterranean

Contact(s)

  • Olivier Delouis
    courriel : olivier [dot] delouis [at] college-de-france [dot] fr
  • Maria Mossakowska-Gaubert
    courriel : mmossakowska [at] ifao [dot] egnet [dot] net
  • Annick Peters-Custot
    courriel : annick [at] peters-custot [dot] fr

Information source

  • Olivier Delouis
    courriel : olivier [dot] delouis [at] college-de-france [dot] fr

To cite this announcement

« Monks around the Mediterranean », Call for papers, Calenda, Published on Monday, January 20, 2014, https://calenda.org/274194

Archive this announcement

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal

AccueilLes moines autour de la Méditerranée

Les moines autour de la Méditerranée

Monks around the Mediterranean

Mobilités et contacts à l’échelle locale et régionale

Travels and contacts at local and regional scales

*  *  *

Publié le lundi 20 janvier 2014 par Luigia Parlati

Résumé

Le premier colloque organisé dans le cadre du programme : « Les moines autour de la Méditerranée. Mobilités et contacts à l’échelle locale et régionale », sera accueilli par l’École française de Rome et aura lieu du 17 au 19 septembre 2014. Il s’agira d’étudier les moines en déplacement d’un monastère à un autre, les moines en voyage d’affaires ou en pèlerinage, de s’attacher aux motifs de ces déplacements, à leurs modalités pratiques, à l’organisation de l’accueil des moines voyageurs. On traitera également de la question des moines errants, de même que des échanges épistolaires entre moines et communautés. On examinera la nature des relations ainsi nouées, que celles-ci relèvent de la vie régulière, de la vie quotidienne, de la vie économique ou de la vie spirituelle.

Annonce

Présentation

L’Institut français d’archéologie orientale au Caire (Ifao), le Centre Européen de Recherches sur les Congrégations et les Ordres Religieux – Laboratoire d’Études sur les Monothéismes (CERCOR-LEM UMR 8584, Saint-Étienne), le Laboratoire Orient et Méditerranée (UMR 8167, Paris), le Laboratoire d’excellence RESMED (Religions et sociétés dans le monde méditerranéen, Paris), avec l’appui de l’École française de Rome (EfR), de l’Ecole française d’Athènes (EfA), ont adopté un programme de recherche pour les années 2012-2016 intitulé Les moines autour de la Méditerranée. Contacts, échanges, influences entre Orient et Occident, de l’Antiquité tardive au Moyen Âge (IVe-XVe siècle) qui est une continuation du programme La vie quotidienne des moines en Orient et en Occident (IVe-Xe siècle) .
Ce programme propose d’étuder la mobilité et la circulation des moines, la transmission des idées monastiques, les influences réciproques et les échanges d’expérience entre différents milieux monastiques de la Méditerranée dans l’Antiquité tardive et au Moyen Âge. Par ces contacts internes aux milieux monastiques, on entend ceux qui se déroulaient soit localement, à l’intérieur de la même communauté ou entre les moines habitant la même région, soit à longue distance, entre les moines et communautés monastiques de différentes régions.
Ce programme s’adresse aux historiens, historiens de l’art, philologues et archéologues qui travaillent sur le monachisme dans les différentes régions de la Méditerranée, tant en Orient qu’en Occident, et durant un long Moyen-Âge (du IVe au XVe siècle). Il se décline en plusieurs manifestations : un colloque à Rome (2014), un autre au Caire (2016), une table-ronde à Saint-Étienne (2015) et un séminaire de formation doctorale à Athènes (2015).

LE COLLOQUE DE ROME

Le premier colloque organisé dans le cadre du programme : Les moines autour de la Méditerranée. Mobilités et contacts à l’échelle locale et régionale, sera accueilli par l’École française de Rome et aura lieu du 17 au 19 septembre 2014. Il s’agira d’étudier les moines en déplacement d’un monastère à un autre, les moines en voyage d’affaires ou en pèlerinage, de s’attacher aux motifs de ces déplacements, à leurs modalités pratiques, à l’organisation de l’accueil des moines voyageurs. On traitera également de la question des moines errants, de même que des échanges épistolaires entre moines et communautés. On examinera la nature des relations ainsi nouées, que celles-ci relèvent de la vie régulière, de la vie quotidienne, de la vie économique ou de la vie spirituelle.

Axes thématiques

Les communications seront organisées autour des axes suivants :

1. Moines visiteurs, moines voyageurs, moines errants.
2. Changer de monastère, changer de règle, changer d’ordre.
3. La communication épistolaire entre moines : le quotidien, la spiritualité.
4. Structures d’accueil ou de refuge.

Soumission des propositions

Les communications, d’une durée de 20 minutes, seront présentées en français ou en anglais.

Les résultats de ce colloque seront publiés en coédition entre les institutions partenaires.

Nous espérons que cet appel à communication retiendra votre attention.

Merci de nous faire parvenir, si possible avant le lundi 20 février 2014

à l’adresse suivante programme-moines@ifao.egnet.net

  • la proposition de titre de votre communication
  • un bref résumé ainsi que l’axe dans lequel vous seriez susceptible d’intervenir 

Le comité d’organisation

  • Annick Peters-Custot, maître de conférences HDR, université de Lyon/université de Saint-Étienne, UMR 8584 (Saint-Étienne), annick@peters-custot.fr
  • Maria Mossakowska-Gaubert, chercheur associé, Ifao (Le Caire), mmossakowska@ifao.egnet.net
  • Olivier Delouis, chargé de recherche au CNRS, UMR 8167 Orient et Méditerranée (Paris), olivier.delouis@college-de-france.fr
  • avec le concours de Cécile Caby, maître de conférences HDR, université de Nice, UMR 7264 (Nice), cecile.caby@unice.fr

 

Lieux

  • École française de Rome
    Rome, Italie

Dates

  • jeudi 20 février 2014

Mots-clés

  • monachisme, monasticism, Méditerranée, Mediterranean

Contacts

  • Olivier Delouis
    courriel : olivier [dot] delouis [at] college-de-france [dot] fr
  • Maria Mossakowska-Gaubert
    courriel : mmossakowska [at] ifao [dot] egnet [dot] net
  • Annick Peters-Custot
    courriel : annick [at] peters-custot [dot] fr

Source de l'information

  • Olivier Delouis
    courriel : olivier [dot] delouis [at] college-de-france [dot] fr

Pour citer cette annonce

« Les moines autour de la Méditerranée », Appel à contribution, Calenda, Publié le lundi 20 janvier 2014, http://calenda.org/274194