HomeNetworks, Practices and Dynamics of Socialization in European diplomacy from 1919 to today

Networks, Practices and Dynamics of Socialization in European diplomacy from 1919 to today

Sociabilités, réseaux et pratiques diplomatiques en Europe de 1919 à nos jours

*  *  *

Published on Tuesday, June 10, 2014 by Rémi Boivin

Summary

This international colloquium of the network Richie will be held in Brussels (Royal Academy of Belgium), from 19 till 21 March 2015. It will concern the following question :Networks, Practices and Dynamics of Socialization in European diplomacy from 1919 to today”. Multidisciplinary, he aims to be open to the historians, to the political analysts, to the anthropologists and to the sociologists. The main langage of the colloquium will be French, but the communications in English are also welcome.

 

Announcement

Argument

1.      Main Themes / Research Questions

After the First World War, diplomats became the key-figures of a new International order that was meant to be founded on new principles: transparency, cooperation, arbitrage and international law. However, it meant an erosion of their monopoly over foreign affairs as new “technical” experts would now play a major role along the traditional actors of diplomacy: international lawyers, academics, journalists, senior officials seconded to multilateral organisations, or international bankers. These actors were more and more organized in international networks: their activities were impacted by technological revolutions in transport and communication, and by the rising influence of mass media. The timing of the negotiator’s job was accelerating, while diplomats were increasingly monitored by public opinion and by their political masters.

The new diplomacy was mainly taking place in the European capitals and in Geneva. The League of Nations became a prominent forum for diplomatic encounters and socialization at the time of the attempted “Collective Security”, and a fertile ground for the first projects of European Union. Those professional and personal connections between foreign policy actors witnessed a new momentum after 1945 when Western European stated started to organize their close cooperation. From the 1970s onwards, the European Political Cooperation (EPC) provided an official framework, but diplomatic socialization existed informally between individuals, via various forms of connection (family, financial, intellectual or artistic).

Exploring those formal and informal networks will set a new light on the diplomatic machine in general, and on decision-making in particular. To what extent did the recourse to those networks contribute to the settlement of some crises? Did national Ministries for Foreign Affairs contribute to accelerate or to resist that process of networking among diplomatic agents? Do the latter usually share common representations of Europe? To what extent did the rise of multilateral, public and economic diplomacy impact diplomatic practices?

This call for papers requests contributions that will resort to new approaches to analyse activities of foreign policy actors from 1919 to today, favouring a transnational and pan-European focus. Different (and non-exclusive) research questions may be followed:

1. How diplomatic jobs changed in the European context? Sociology, training, competences, definition of bilateral and multilateral diplomatic positions in Europe, transformation of national Foreign Ministries (structure, management, respective position towards home departments, impact of the unification process of Europe), transfer of training between national foreign services in Europe, exportation of a “European diplomatic model” to non-European areas.

2. Perceptions/Visions of a United Europe for Foreign policy actors:

Effects of generations, political involvement, national or transnational divisions over the European project; resistance to the integration process; confronting principles with reality: the issues/difficulties of diplomatic cooperation at the European level.

3. Formal and informal transnational networks among Foreign policy agents:

Personal and family connections between European diplomats, including the periods of war (how contacts were maintained – or not- in belligerent countries – via third or neutral countries during the two World Wars; diplomatic connections within the Soviet bloc during the Cold War); the role of contact groups in the settlement of local/regional conflict, such as the Balkans); the role of informal forums in the networking of Foreign policy actors (associations, journals, European movements) 

4. New diplomatic practices in the 1970? Convergence and mutualisation of national diplomacies: development of a European diplomatic milieu within the institutions of the ECC/EU and in their delegations abroad. The rise of public diplomacy and new proactive forms of commercial and economic diplomacy; new division of labour and mutualisation between bilateral embassies and the ECC/EU delegations; the advent of the High Representative for the CFSP as a new diplomatic figure; sharing of diplomatic practices with European countries of the ex-Soviet bloc; development of the European External Action Service (EEAS)

2.      Participating institutions

  • Université catholique de Louvain (UCL) et Université de Liège (Centre d’étude d’histoire de l’Europe contemporaine – CEHEC and Contact group FRS-FNRS « Belgique et mondes contemporains ») 
  • Paris I / Paris IV (Labex EHNE et Centre d'histoire des relations internationales contemporaines/IRICE) 
  • Association « Diplomatie et stratégie »

3.      Scientific Committee:

  • Laurence Badel (Paris I)
  • Eric Bussière (Paris IV)
  • Björn-Olav Dozo (FNRS/ULg)
  • Michel Dumoulin (UCL)
  • Vincent Genin (ULg)
  • Johannes Grossmann (Tübingen)
  • John Keiger (Cambridge)
  • Catherine Lanneau (ULg)
  • Christian Lequesne (Sciences Po)
  • Thomas Raineau (Paris IV)
  • Philippe Raxhon (ULg)
  • Pierre Tilly (UCL)
  • Matthieu Osmont (ICFA Tübingen)
  • Maurice Vaïsse (Sciences Po)

 4.      Submission process and deadlines

  • Applicants are expected to submit abstract of papers by Tuesday 30 September 2014 at email address: colldiplo2015@gmail.com
  • Abstracts should not exceed 500 words and should be accompanied by a short biographical note, a CV and a list of publications.
  • Notifications to successful applicants will be sent by 1 December 2014. Final papers are expected to be produced by 15 February 2015.
  • The accommodation costs in Brussels are paid.Requests for financial grants covering a partial or total amount of travelling expenses can be submitted and will be considered on a case-by-case basis

 5.      Organizing Committee

  • Vincent Genin (Phd Candidate,  Université de Liège) 
  • Dr Matthieu Osmont (Director of Institut culturel franco-allemand de Tübingen)
  • Thomas Raineau (Phd Candidate, Université Paris IV Sorbonne)

Places

  • Rue Ducale, 1
    Brussels, Belgium (1000)

Date(s)

  • Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Keywords

  • diplomatie, réseaux, 1919, sociabilité, politique étrangère, juristes

Contact(s)

  • Vincent Genin
    courriel : Colldiplo2015 [at] gmail [dot] com

Information source

  • Vincent Genin
    courriel : Colldiplo2015 [at] gmail [dot] com

To cite this announcement

« Networks, Practices and Dynamics of Socialization in European diplomacy from 1919 to today », Call for papers, Calenda, Published on Tuesday, June 10, 2014, https://calenda.org/291498

Archive this announcement

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal

AccueilSociabilités, réseaux et pratiques diplomatiques en Europe de 1919 à nos jours

Sociabilités, réseaux et pratiques diplomatiques en Europe de 1919 à nos jours

Networks, Practices and Dynamics of Socialization in European diplomacy from 1919 to today

*  *  *

Publié le mardi 10 juin 2014 par Rémi Boivin

Résumé

Ce colloque international du réseau Richie se tiendra à Bruxelles (Académie royale de Belgique), du 19 au 21 mars 2015. Il portera sur la question suivante : « Sociabilités, réseaux et pratiques diplomatiques en Europe de 1919 à nos jours ». Pluridisciplinaire, il se veut ouvert aux historiens, aux politologues, aux anthropologues et aux sociologues. La langue principale du colloque sera le français, mais les communications en anglais sont également les bienvenues.

Annonce

Argumentaire

1.      Enjeux et axes de recherche

Au lendemain de la Première Guerre mondiale, les diplomates deviennent des acteurs-clés d’un nouvel ordre international que l’on souhaite refonder sur la transparence, la coopération, l’arbitrage et le droit international, mais ils perdent le monopole de la politique étrangère. Juristes de droit international, universitaires, journalistes, hauts fonctionnaires, banquiers internationaux et autres experts techniques secondent désormais les acteurs diplomatiques traditionnels. Tous travaillent de plus en plus en réseau, alors que les progrès techniques (transports, communications) et le poids croissant des médias de masse modifient également le travail diplomatique. Ils accélèrent le temps de la négociation et placent les diplomates sous le contrôle plus étroit des décideurs politiques et des opinions publiques.

Cette nouvelle diplomatie se joue d’abord dans les grandes capitales européennes et à la Société des Nations, lieu de socialisation majeur à l’époque de la « sécurité de collective » et terreau des premiers plans d’union européenne. Ces liens professionnels et personnels entre acteurs de la politique étrangère trouvent une nouvelle dimension après 1945 dans le cadre du processus d’intégration de l’Europe occidentale. Cette coopération sera formalisée à travers la coopération diplomatique européenne à partir de 1970 mais elle existe également sous des formes plus informelles, par le biais de rapports familiaux, financiers et intellectuels entre individus.

L’étude de ces réseaux formels et informels doit permettre de donner un nouveau relief à la « machine diplomatique », en général, et à la « prise de décision », en particulier. Certaines questions sont-elles été résolues par l’activation de ces réseaux ? Quel rôle jouent, dans ce cadre, les ministères des Affaires étrangères nationaux – comme facteurs d’accélération ou de résistance à cette « mise en réseau » des acteurs diplomatiques ? Les agents diplomatiques nationaux partagent-ils des représentations communes de l’Europe ? Comment les pratiques diplomatiques sont-elles modifiées par la montée en puissance du multilatéralisme européen, de la diplomatie publique et de la diplomatie économique ?

Ce questionnement revient à appréhender sous un angle nouveau le travail des acteurs diplomatiques de 1919 à nos jours dans un cadre transnational et paneuropéen. Plusieurs axes de recherche méritent en particulier d’être suivis :

1. L’évolution du métier de diplomate dans un cadre européen : sociologie, formation, compétences, évolution des activités/fonctions dans les postes bilatéraux et multilatéraux européens, évolution des ministères des Affaires étrangères face à l'intégration européenne, transferts d’expérience entre appareils diplomatiques nationaux en Europe, exportation d’un modèle diplomatique européen vers d’autres régions du monde. 

2. Les représentations de l’Europe unie chez les acteurs de la politique étrangère : phénomènes générationnels, engagements militants ; clivages nationaux ou transnationaux sur le projet européen ; résistances à l’intégration européenne ; les représentations à l’épreuve des faits : les difficultés de la coopération diplomatique à l’échelle européenne.

3. Les réseaux formels et informels transnationaux entre acteurs de la politique étrangère :  liens de solidarité et liens familiaux entre diplomates européens, y compris en temps de conflits (maintien de contacts entre pays en guerre ; sociabilités diplomatiques au-delà du rideau de fer en temps de guerre froide ; rôle des groupes de contact dans le règlement de conflits localisés) ; le rôle de forums informels dans la mise en réseaux des acteurs (associations, revues, mouvements européistes, etc.).

4. De nouvelles pratiques diplomatiques à partir des années 1970 ? tentatives de convergence et de mutualisation des diplomaties nationales : l’émergence d’un « milieu diplomatique européen » au sein des institutions européennes (Parlement, Commission, postes extérieurs) ; montée en puissance de la diplomatie publique, et nouvelles formes de la diplomatie économique et commerciale ; pratiques de mutualisation entre les délégations de l'UE et les ambassades bilatérales ; émergence de la figure du Haut Représentant pour la PESC ; transferts d’expérience vers les pays de l’Europe anciennement communistes ; développement du Service Européen d'Action Extérieure (SEEA).

2.      Partenaires institutionnels

  • Université catholique de Louvain (UCL) et Université de Liège (Ulg) (Centre d’étude d’histoire de l’Europe contemporaine – CEHEC et  groupe de contact FRS-FNRS « Belgique et mondes contemporains ») 
  • Paris I / Paris IV (UMR IRICE et Labex EHNE) 
  • Association « Diplomatie et Stratégie »

3.      Comité scientifique

  • Laurence Badel (Paris I)
  • Eric Bussière (Paris IV)
  • Björn-Olav Dozo (FNRS/ULg)
  • Michel Dumoulin (UCL)
  • Vincent Genin (ULg)
  • Johannes Grossmann (Tübingen)
  • John Keiger (Cambridge)
  • Catherine Lanneau (Ulg)
  • Christian Lequesne (Sciences Po)
  • Thomas Raineau (Paris IV)
  • Philippe Raxhon (ULg)
  • Pierre Tilly (UCL)
  • Matthieu Osmont (ICFA Tübingen)
  • Maurice Vaïsse (Sciences Po)

4.      Soumission de la candidature et délais

  • Les propositions de communications sont attendues avant le mardi 30 septembre 2014 à l’adresse email : colldiplo2015@gmail.com
  • Les propositions de communication ne doivent pas excéder les 500 mots et devront être accompagnées d’une courte présentation de l’auteur, d’un CV et d’une liste de publications.
  • Les candidatures retenues seront annoncées le 1er décembre 2014. Les textes des communications retenues devront nous parvenir avant le 15 février 2015.
  • Les frais de séjour seront pris en charge. Les demandes de subsides couvrant totalement ou partiellement les frais de déplacement peuvent être soumises et seront traitées au cas par cas.

5.      Organisation

  • Vincent Genin (doctorant à l’Université de Liège) 
  • Matthieu Osmont (docteur, directeur de l’Institut culturel franco-allemand de Tübingen)
  • Thomas Raineau (doctorant à l’Université Paris IV Sorbonne)

Lieux

  • Rue Ducale, 1
    Bruxelles, Belgique (1000)

Dates

  • mardi 30 septembre 2014

Mots-clés

  • diplomatie, réseaux, 1919, sociabilité, politique étrangère, juristes

Contacts

  • Vincent Genin
    courriel : Colldiplo2015 [at] gmail [dot] com

Source de l'information

  • Vincent Genin
    courriel : Colldiplo2015 [at] gmail [dot] com

Pour citer cette annonce

« Sociabilités, réseaux et pratiques diplomatiques en Europe de 1919 à nos jours », Appel à contribution, Calenda, Publié le mardi 10 juin 2014, http://calenda.org/291498