Accueil6th Ethnography and Qualitative Research Conference

6th Ethnography and Qualitative Research Conference

VI Convegno di etnografia e ricerca qualitativa

*  *  *

Publié le jeudi 10 décembre 2015 par João Fernandes

Résumé

The Conference embraces and endorses a broad, ambitious view of ethnographic research. Ethnography is understood as an inquiry into the processes, implications, and meanings of social life and culture in groups, organizations, and institutions across diverse social spaces and settings. Accordingly, contributions to the conference can be based on a variety of methods, including but not limited to participant observation, in-depth interviews, focus group, auto-ethnography, visual ethnography, discourse studies, video-based research and other forms of inquiry inspired and informed by ethnographic sensibility. The Conference welcomes theoretically informed and methodologically sound proposals that contribute to the substantive knowledge of the social world. 

Annonce

Argument

Since 2006, the Bergamo Conference of ethnography has become an increasingly recognised and established scientific meeting for social researchers at the Italian national level. In 2014, the conference has been opened to international participants adopting English as second working language. The 2016 Conference aims to preserve and renew the rich intellectual discourse engaged in the previous editions. Researchers from across the disciplines of sociology, anthropology, political sciences, arts & humanities, education, social work, geography, cultural studies, science and technology studies, and gender studies are invited to present their research and discuss their findings in a lively, relatively informal environment. The mission of the Conference is to:

- foster scholarly exchange and facilitate collaborative research among senior and junior scholars based at different universities and research centres in Europe and abroad;
- support the dissemination of fresh research;
- encourage PhD students at different stage of their research career to share and present preliminary findings and fieldwork experience;
- welcome graduate and under-graduate students as audience to the conference and active participants in the discussion.

The Conference embraces and endorses a broad, ambitious view of ethnographic research. Ethnography is understood as an inquiry into the processes, implications, and meanings of social life and culture in groups, organizations, and institutions across diverse social spaces and settings. Accordingly, contributions to the conference can be based on a variety of methods, including but not limited to participant observation, in-depth interviews, focus group, auto-ethnography, visual ethnography, discourse studies, video-based research and other forms of inquiry inspired and informed by ethnographic sensibility. The Conference welcomes theoretically informed and methodologically sound proposals that contribute to the substantive knowledge of the social world. The format is based on 3-hour sessions with 5 paper presentations per session, leaving as much room as possible to open discussion.
 

Sessions

1. Submerged conflicts. Ethnography of the invisible resistances in the quotidian – Convenor: Pietro Saitta (pisait@gmail.com)

2. Ethnography of predatory and mafia practices – Convenors: Lucio Castracani & Marco De Biase (luciocastracani@yahoo.it; mdebiase@ulb.ac.be)

3. Young people practicing everyday multiculturalism. An ethnographic look – Convenor: Enzo Colombo (enzo.colombo@unimi.it)

4. Innovating universities. Everything needs to change, so everything can stay the same? – Convenors: Daniela Falcinelli & Annalisa Murgia (daniela.falcinelli@unimi.it; annalisa.murgia@unitn.it)

5. NGOs, grass-root activism and social movements. Understanding novel entanglements of public engagements – Convenors: Alex Koensler & Filippo Zerilli (alexanderiht@yahoo.de; zerilli@unica.it)

6. Immanence of seduction. For a microinteractionist perspective on charisma –Convenors: Chiara Bassetti & Emanuele Bottazzi (chiara.bassetti@unitn.it / @loa.istc.cnr.it; emanuele.bottazzi@loa.istc.cnr.it)

7. Lived religion. An ethnographical insight – Convenors: Alberta Giorgi, Stefania Palmisano & Giovanna Rech (albertagiorgi@ces.uc.pt; giovanna.rech@unitn.it; stefania.palmisano@unito.it)

8. Critical ethnographies of schooling – Convenors: Fulvia Antonelli & Marco Romito (fulvia.antonelli@yahoo.it; romito.marco@gmail.com)

9. Subjectivity, surveillance and control. Ethnographic research on forced migration towards Europe – Convenors: Elena Fontanari & Barbara Pinelli (elena.fontanari@unimi.it; barbara.pinelli@unimib.it)

10. Ethnographic and artistic practices and the question of the images in contemporary Middle East – Convenors: Donatella Della Ratta & Paola Gandolfi (donatelladellaratta@gmail.com; paola.gandolfi@unibg.it)

11. Diffracting ethnography in the anthropocene – Convenor: Elena Bougleux (elena.bougleux@unibg.it)

12. Ethnography of labour chains – Convenors: Domenico Perrotta & Devi Sacchetto (domenico.perrotta@unibg.it; devi.sacchetto@unipd.it)

13. The Chicago School and the study of conflicts in contemporary societies – Convenors: Marco Pitzalis & Izabela Wagner (pitzalis@unica.it; izabela.wagner@gmail.com)

14. States of imagination/Imagined states. Performing the political within and beyond the state – Convenors: Federica Infantino & Timothy Raeymaekers (Federica.Infantino@ulb.ac.be; timothy.raeymaekers@geo.uzh.ch)

15. Ethnographies of waste politics – Convenor: Nick Dines (n.dines@mdx.ac.uk)

16. Experiencing urban boundaries – Convenors: Cristina Mattiucci & Federico Rahola (cristina.mattiucci@unitn.it; federico.rahola@unige.it)

17. Ethnographic fieldwork as a “location of politics” – Convenors: Marc Abélès & Lynda Dematteo (marc.abeles@ehess.fr; dematteo@ehess.fr)

18. Rethinking ‘Europe’ through an ethnography of its borderlands, peripheries and margins – Convenors: Ilaria Giglioli, Camilla Hawthorne & Alessandro Tiberio (giglioli@berkeley.edu, camilla.hawthorne@berkeley.edu, a.tiberio@berkeley.edu)

19. Detention and qualitative research – Convenors: Alvise Sbraccia & Francesca Vianelllo (alvise.sbraccia@unibo.it; francesca.vianello@unipd.it)

20. Ethnographies of social sciences as a vocation – Convenors: Sebastiano Citroni & Gianmarco Navarini (sebastiano.citroni@unimib.it; gianmarco.navarini@unimib.it) 

Submission guidelines

To submit your proposal please send an e-mail to the convenor/s of the session of your choice and to the conference committee (erq.conference@unibg.it), indicating the title of the chosen session. Please send:

  • the title of your talk and an abstract of maximum 1000 words (.doc, .docx, .odt, .txt, .rtf);
  • your contact details (full name, e-mail, post address and affiliation) and those of your co-author/s, if any;
  •  if you like (we would like!), a short videotalk (2 min. max.), not necessarily a piece of what your proposed talk would be, but a sort of teaser trailer for it, and a piece of you too (by sending the video, you thereby allow the organizing committee to upload the video at its discretion, in full or cut form, on the youtube channel ofEtnografia e Ricerca Qualitativawww.youtube.com/channel/UCTAnycGjE5KzDCr-AnFJwow/feed).

Abstracts (and video talks) must be submitted in English. The official languages of the conference, however, are Italian, English, and French; for each session, languages will be used depending on the participants composition.

Proposal must be submitted by 

January 15, 2016.

Acceptance of proposals will be notified by March 8, 2016.

Contributors must register by April 15, 2016 to be included in the program.

Organizing & scientific committee

  • Chiara Bassetti, University of Trento & CNR (chiara.bassetti@unitn.it / @loa.istc.cnr.it)
  • Elena Bougleux, University of Bergamo (elena.bougleux@unibg.it)
  • Andrea Mubi Brighenti, University of Trento (andrea.brighenti@unitn.it)
  • Luca Carollo, University of Milano (luca.carollo@unimi.it)
  • Nick Dines, Middlesex University (n.dines@mdx.ac.uk)
  • Giolo Fele, University of Trento (giolo.fele@unitn.it)
  • Elena Fontanari, University of Milano (elena.fontanari@studenti.unimi.it)
  • Paola Gandol, University of Bergamo (paola.gandolfi@unibg.it)
  • Pier Paolo Giglioli, University of Bologna (pierpaolo.giglioli@unibo.it)
  • Marco Marzano, University of Bergamo (marco.marzano@unibg.it)
  • Gianmarco Navarini, University of Milano Bicocca (gianmarco.navarini@unimib.it)
  • Francesca Pasquali, University of Bergamo (francesca.pasquali@unibg.it)
  • Domenico Perrotta, University of Bergamo (domenico.perrotta@unibg.it)
  • Federico Rahola, University of Genova (federico.rahola@unige.it)

The Conference is organized by:

  • the University of Bergamo: www00.unibg.it/en_index.asp
  • the Journal Etnograa e Ricerca Qualitativa (ERQ) / Ethnography and Qualitative Research – The Italian Journal of Ethnography: www.mulino.it/riviste/issn/1973-3194ERQ is also on Facebook: www.facebook.com/EtnografiaeRicercaQualitativa
  • il Mulino publishing house: www.mulino.it

For further information: www.etnograaricercaqualitativa.it; erq.conference@unibg.it 

Catégories

Lieux

  • Bergame, Italie

Dates

  • vendredi 15 janvier 2016

Fichiers attachés

Mots-clés

  • ethnography, research conference

Contacts

  • erq conference
    courriel : erq [dot] conference [at] unibg [dot] it

URLS de référence

Source de l'information

  • Fulvia Antonelli
    courriel : fulvia [dot] antonelli [at] yahoo [dot] it

Pour citer cette annonce

« 6th Ethnography and Qualitative Research Conference », Appel à contribution, Calenda, Publié le jeudi 10 décembre 2015, http://calenda.org/350391