HomeFrantz Fanon’s Legacy in the Literature and the Arts of the Americas

Frantz Fanon’s Legacy in the Literature and the Arts of the Americas

Héritages de Frantz Fanon dans les arts et la littérature des Amériques

Herencias de Frantz Fanon en las artes y la literatura de las Américas

One-day conferences

Journées d’étude

Jornadas de estudio

*  *  *

Published on Friday, July 28, 2017 by Anastasia Giardinelli

Summary

It turns out to be an epistemological necessity to analyze the scope of Fanon’s thought and style in the cultural and artistic productions of the Americas, not only because of Fanon’s concern for the creation and defense of a national culture but also because of his obvious interest for literature and the care he devoted to the process of writing. The transdisciplinary approach of the two one-day conferences « Frantz Fanon’s Legacy in the Literature and the Arts of the Americas » will encompass all the countries and areas of the Americas and the Caribbean, whatever their languages. We also welcome papers on all kinds of art, ranging from literature to cinema, painting, songs and street art (as in Bogota for instance). We warmly welcome papers that will adopt a comparative approach between different geographical areas. Papers will preferably be written in French, but English and Spanish will be accepted.

Announcement

One-day conferences - December 15, 2017 (Tours) and April 6, 2018 (Dijon)

Presentation

« Yet another book on Frantz Fanon ? » asked Lylian Kesteloota a few years ago in a preface to Frantz Fanon, l’Homme de rupture by Abdelkader Benarab (2010 : 9). The same criticism could be levelled at the two study days to be held in Tours and Dijon about the iconic figure of Frantz Fanon, whose « metamorphic thought » (Mbembé 2012 : 9) and works have given birth to a « profuse, rhizomatic and nowadays global field of study » (Mbembé 2011 : 12). The prolific literature and manifold events devoted to Fanon at the turn of this new millenium, in France and Europe as well as in Africa and in the Americas[1], bear witness, if need be, to the relevance and universality of Fanon’s thought. Yet, Fanonian studies have suffered from two major lacks : one the one hand, very few studies have tackled the influence of Fanon’s thought on art and literature. Sociological, historical, and psychological readings have prevailed so far. On the other hand, even if there are numerous studies on the impact of Fanon’s thought in the US[2] and, to a lesser extent, in Latin America, there has been no global study encompassing the totality of North and South America – including the Caribbean - reflecting the dialogue between these geographical areas. The two one-day conferences « Frantz Fanon’s Legacy in the Literature and the Arts of  the Americas and the Caribbean » will try to address these two issues, as they will allow for a dialogue between two subcontinents with which criticism has so far dealt separately, and as they will mainly focus on Fanon’s influence on the artistic and literary worlds.

Examining Fanon’s work and thought through the prism of literature and the arts may not be an obvious approach. Yet, Fanon was very much interested in these cultural practices, as shown by his speeches on national culture, which was according to him a prerequisite to the building of a nation and the emancipation of the people. In Fort-de-France, Fanon had writer Aimé Césaire, whom he much admired, as one of is teachers. He also wrote unpublished poems (Cherki 2011 : 22) and two recently published plays , L’Œil se noie and Les Mains parallèles (Khalfa, Young 2015). In 1959, he participated to the Congress of Black African Writers in Rome, and his essays bear witness to a true literary force :

Beyond the words he uses, and since his very first texts, Fanon undermined the French language through the semiotic infiltration of the language itself, through the beat, the rhythm and the images that seek the words for apt metaphors. In this writing, concepts only arise out of desire, out of bits and pieces of language related to the body, concepts linked to sensations. Fanon’s language doesn’t bother with the difference between spoken and written language, it saps punctuation, it is laden with images coming from the body and bodily sensations. It partakes of the the deconstruction of thought and of its reconstruction through muscular metaphors. It alters and upsets French language. (Cherki 2011 : 274-275)

It thus turns out to be an epistemological necessity to analyze the scope of Fanon’s thought and style in the cultural and artistic productions of the Americas, not only because of Fanon’s concern for the creation and defense of a national culture but also because of his obvious interest for literature and the care he devoted to the process of writing.

Topic proposals

The two study days will address, but will not be limited to :

  • Forms of expression : how is Fanon’s imprint made perceptible through art and literature in the Americas ? Is he implicitely or explicitely quoted? Do artists and writers pay tribute to his works, comment on them, imitate them (and their style) ? Are his works direct or indirect, conscious or unconscious sources of inspiration (for instance through American[3] theories on gender, postcolonialism and decolonialism,and  intersectionality) ?
  • Most common themes : are the topics covered in literature and the arts in keeping with the prevalent themes in the secondary literature about Fanon’s work (such as violence, national culture, the women issue and homosexuality) ? Is there some critical reassessment of his works ? Which among Fanon’s works are the most influential in literature and the arts ? Is there, in literature and the arts, a common interest in Fanon’s theses on racism, colonialism and negrophobia, and        what is it based on ?
  • Translation :  as pointed out by Neelam Srivastava (Khalfa, Young 2015 : 652), Fanon was much concerned about the linguistic and cultural translation  of his anti-imperialist theses – shaped by his Algerian experience - to other contexts, such as the African and American contexts[4]. How were Fanon’s theories transposed to art and literature in the various areas of the Americas ? Is there any possible analogy ? Were those theories a source of inspiration ? For instance, did Fanon’s Panafricanism find an echo in artistic works as Panamericanism or Pancaribbeanism – which, incidentally, were promoted by Fanon himself (Cherki 2011 : 190) ? 
  • Diachronic perspective : as we’ve said before, studies on Fanon’s influence on literature and the arts in the Americas are marginal. The few existing studies mainly deal with artists from the 1960s, which allows for a comparative approach analyzing Fanon’s contemporary legacies in literature and the arts in regard with other historical periods : how has Fanon been reassessed by artists, more than 60 years after his death ? What is the offset of some of his theories that are considered outdated nowadays, such as the notion of the « New Man », which largely inspired Ernesto Che Guevara (Pérez Alvarez 2013 : 312) ?

The transdisciplinary approach of the two one-day conferences « Frantz Fanon’s Legacy in the Literature and the Arts of the Americas » will encompass all the countries and areas of the Americas and the Caribbean, whatever their languages. We also welcome papers on all kinds of art, ranging from literature to cinema, painting, songs and street art (as in Bogota for instance). We warmly welcome papers that will adopt a comparative approach between different geographical areas. Papers will preferably be written in French, but English and Spanish will be accepted.

  • Interactions culturelles et discursives (ICD) – EA 6297 – Université François-Rabelais de Tours
  • Centre Interlangues - Texte, image, langage – EA 4182 – Université de Bourgogne-Franche-Comté

Submission Guidelines

Proposals should include a title, a 250-word abstract and a short-bio-bibliographical notice before

November 1st, 2017

to Sophie Large (sophie.large@univ-tours.fr) and Flora Valadié (flora.valadie@u-bourgogne.fr)

Scientific and organising committee

  • Flora Valadié, MCF, Université de Bourgogne Franche-Comté
  • Sophie Large, MCF, Université François-Rabelais de Tours

References and indicative bibliography

  • BENARAB, Abdelkader, Frantz Fanon, l’homme de rupture, Paris, Alfabarre, 2010.
  • BENTOUHAMI, Hourya et DORLIN, Elsa, Frantz Fanon, Actuel Marx, no55 (1), 2014.
  • CAMPO, Javier, « Filmando teorías políticas: dependencia y liberación en La hora de los hornos », Política y Cultura, printemps 2014, 41, p. 65-88.
  • CHAULET-ACHOUR, Christiane, Frantz Fanon, l’importun, Montpellier : Éditions Chèvre-Feuille étoilée, 2004.
  • CHERKI, Alice, Frantz Fanon, portrait, Paris, Seuil, 2011.
  • CRUZ, Gustavo R., « Poder indio y poder negro: recepciones del pensamiento negro en Fausto Reinaga », Íconos. Revista de Ciencias Sociales, no51, janvier 2015, p. 29-46.
  • DE OTO, Alejandro, « Aimé Césaire y Frantz Fanon. Variaciones sobre el archivo colonial/descolonial », Tabula Rasa, 15, juillet-décembre 2011, p. 149-169.
  • FANON, Frantz, Peau noire, masques blancs, Paris : Seuil, 1975 [1952].
  • FANON, Frantz, Pour la révolution africaine. Écrits politiques, Paris : Maspero, 1964.
  • FANON, Frantz, L’An V de la révolution algérienne, Paris : Maspero, 1959.
  • FANON, Frantz, Les damnés de la terre, Paris : La Découverte, 2002 [1961].
  • FANON-MENDES-FRANCE, Mireille, « Mon père, cet insoumis », in Fondation Frantz Fanon / Sortir du colonialisme, Frantz Fanon par les textes de l’époque, Paris : Les petits matins, 2012, p. 62-66.
  • KHALFA, Jean et YOUNG, Robert, Écrits sur l’aliénation et la liberté, Paris, La Découverte, 2015.
  • MACEY, David, Frantz Fanon : a Biography, New York : Picador USA, 2001.
  • MARTINS, Pablo, « Confluencias entre el pensamiento de Frantz Fanon y el de Paulo Freire. El surgimiento de la educación popular en el marco de la situación colonial », Educação, Vol. 37 (2), mai-août 2012, p. 241-256.
  • MBEMBE, Achille, « Préface », in FANON, Frantz, Œuvres, Paris : La Découverte, 2011, p. 9-21.
  • MBEMBE, Achille, « Préface », in Fondation Frantz Fanon / Sortir du colonialisme, Frantz Fanon par les textes de l’époque, Paris : Les petits matins, 2012, p. 7-22.
  • NAREAU, Michel, « Fanon, Cuba et autres Journal de Bolivie. L’Amérique latine à Parti pris comme modalité de libération nationale », Bulletin d’histoire politique, Vol. 23 (1), 2014, p. 126-138.
  • OLIVA, Elena ; STECHER, Lucía ; ZAPATA, Claudia (éds.), Frantz Fanon desde América Latina. Lecturas contemporáneas de un pensador del siglo XX, Buenos Aires : El Corregidor, 2013.
  • PÉREZ ÁLVAREZ, Gonzalo, « Frantz Fanon, John William Cooke y la creación heroica », Contracorriente, Vol. 11 (1), automne 2013, p. 306-327.
  • RACZKOWSKI, Christopher, « Chester Himes, Frantz Fanon and the Literary Decolonization of Harlem », Literature Interpretation Theory, vol23, 2012, p.1-25.
  •  RAMALLO, Francisco, « Pedagogía, liberación y negritud: Frantz Fanon como punto de inflexión para
  • (re)pensar las escrituras de las ideas pedagógicas en América Latina », http://www.idaes.edu.ar/pdf_papeles/4-25%20Ramallo.pdf, page consultée le 20 juin 2017.
  • READ, Alan, The Fact of Blackness: Frantz Fanon and Visual Representation, Seattle : Bay Press, 1996.
  • ROCCHI, Jean-Paul, « Littérature et métapsychanalyse de la race », Tumultes, Vol.31, 2008, p. 125-144.
  • VALDÉS LEÓN, Camila, « De cierta manera. Lecturas de Frantz Fanon en Sara Gómez », Cuadernos del Caribe, no19, juin 2015, p. 45-51.
  • WALLERSTEIN, Immanuel, « Leer a Fanon en el siglo XXI », New left review, no57, 2009, p. 109-119.
  • ZURBANO TORRES, Roberto, « Frantz Fanon, ¿un fantasma en el Caribe? », http://laventana.casa.cult.cu/noticias/2015/07/21/frantz-fanon-un-fantasma-en-el-caribe/, page consultée le 20 juin 201

[1] It is impossible to mention them all here. One might refer to Alice Cherki’s essential biography which lists some of them. Cf. also the indicative – and necessarily incomplete  –  bibliography attached to this call for papers.

[2] Cf. bibliography.

[3] Unlike the improper use of the word « American » in French, which refers to North America, here the word will be used to refer to the whole of the American continent and the Caribbean ,i.e « The Americas ».

[4] Fanon’s work was publicized in Latin America thanks to Ernesto Che Guevara’s Spanish translation (Fanon-Mendès-France 2012 : 66). Similarly, in the US, the English translation of Les Damnés de la terre (The Wretched of the Earth) in 1965 played a major role in the impact Fanon had on the African-American community (Cherki 2011 : 248-251)

Places

  • 3, rue des Tanneurs
    Tours, France (37041)
  • 2, boulevard Gabriel
    Dijon, France (21000)

Date(s)

  • Wednesday, November 01, 2017

Attached files

Keywords

  • Frantz Fanon, Amérique Latine, USA, Canada, Caraïbes, littérature, peinture, sculpture, photographie, cinéma, intersectionnalité, études postcoloniales, études décoloniales

Contact(s)

  • Sophie Large
    courriel : sophie [dot] large [at] univ-tours [dot] fr
  • Flora Valadié
    courriel : flora [dot] valadie [at] u-bourgogne [dot] fr

Information source

  • Sophie Large
    courriel : sophie [dot] large [at] univ-tours [dot] fr

To cite this announcement

« Frantz Fanon’s Legacy in the Literature and the Arts of the Americas », Call for papers, Calenda, Published on Friday, July 28, 2017, http://calenda.org/412899

AccueilHéritages de Frantz Fanon dans les arts et la littérature des Amériques

Héritages de Frantz Fanon dans les arts et la littérature des Amériques

Herencias de Frantz Fanon en las artes y la literatura de las Américas

Frantz Fanon’s Legacy in the Literature and the Arts of the Americas

Journées d’étude

Jornadas de estudio

One-day conferences

*  *  *

Publié le vendredi 28 juillet 2017 par Anastasia Giardinelli

Résumé

Ces journées d'étude visent à analyser la portée de la pensée et du style fanoniens dans les productions artistiques et culturelles des Amériques. Cette démarche apparaît comme une nécessité épistémologique, tant en raison de l’attachement de Fanon à la création et la défense d’une culture nationale qu’en raison de son propre soin apporté à l’écriture et de son intérêt manifeste pour la littérature. En raison de la perspective résolument transdisciplinaire des journées « Héritages de Frantz Fanon dans les arts et la littérature des Amériques », tous les pays et territoires des Amériques et des Caraïbes, quelles que soient leurs langues, sont concernés par cet appel, de même que tous les arts, de la littérature au cinéma en passant par la peinture, la sculpture, la chanson, le street art (comme à Bogota par exemple), etc. Les approches comparatistes entre deux zones géographiques seront bienvenues, mais ne sont pas exigées.

Annonce

Journées d’étude 15 décembre 2017 (Tours) et 6 avril 2018 (Dijon)

 Argumentaire

« Encore un livre sur Fanon ? », s’interrogeait il y a quelques années Lylian Kesteloot dans sa préface à l’ouvrage Frantz Fanon, l’homme de rupture, d’Abdelkader Benarab (2010 : 9). On pourrait en dire autant des présentes journées d’étude autour de la figure emblématique de Frantz Fanon, à la « pensée métamorphique » (Mbembé 2012 : 9), dont l’œuvre « a permis la constitution d’un champ d’études foisonnant, rhizomatique et, aujourd’hui, de portée planétaire. » (Mbembé 2011 : 12) L’universalité et l’actualité de Fanon ne font en effet aucun doute, comme en témoigne l’abondance, en ce début de millénaire, de littérature critique et d’événements qui lui sont consacrés, tant en France qu’en Europe, en Afrique ou dans les Amériques[1]. Cependant, le champ des études fanoniennes présente deux lacunes : d’une part, il ne s’est que minoritairement intéressé à l’impact de la pensée de Fanon dans les arts et la littérature, les lectures sociologiques, historiques ou psychologiques étant largement dominantes. D’autre part, si de nombreux travaux ont été menés sur les résonances de la pensée de Fanon aux États-Unis[2] et (dans une moindre mesure) en Amérique Latine, il n’existe pas à ce jour d’étude large qui prenne en compte l’ensemble des Amériques, Caraïbes comprises, dans une perspective de dialogue entre ces aires géographiques. Les journées d’étude « Héritages de Frantz Fanon dans les arts et la littérature des Amériques » tenteront donc de répondre à cette double ambition, en donnant la possibilité d’un échange entre des sous-continents séparés par la critique, et en se centrant essentiellement sur l’impact de Fanon dans le monde artistique et littéraire.

Aborder l’œuvre et la pensée de Frantz Fanon par le prisme des arts et de la littérature n’est sans doute pas la démarche qui s’impose de prime abord. Pourtant, Fanon portait à ces expressions culturelles un intérêt certain, comme l’indiquent ses développements sur la culture nationale, qu’il concevait comme une condition nécessaire à la constitution d’une nation et à l’émancipation des peuples (Fanon 2002). Il avait suivi à Fort-de-France les cours d’Aimé Césaire, à qui il vouait une grande admiration, fut lui-même l’auteur de poèmes inédits (Cherki 2011 : 22) et de deux pièces de théâtre, L’Œil se noie et Les mains parallèles, publiées récemment (Khalfa, Young 2015), participa en 1959 au Deuxième Congrès des Écrivains Noirs à Rome et réalisa dans ses essais un véritable travail linguistique :

Au-delà des énoncés, et dès ses premiers textes, il bouleverse la langue française par l’infiltration sémiotique de la langue même. Pulsation, rythme, présence des images qui cherchent les mots qui fassent métaphore. Écriture où le concept ne peut advenir qu’à partir du travail des pulsions, des bribes de langue liées au corps, des représentations associées aux sensations. La langue de Fanon ne s’embarrasse pas d’une distinction entre langue orale et langue écrite, elle bouleverse la ponctuation, elle est truffée d’images issues du corps et des sensations. Elle procède de déconstructions de la pensée et de reconstructions à partir de métaphores musculaires. Elle vient ici altérer, bousculer la langue française. (Cherki 2011 : 274-275)

Analyser la portée de la pensée et du style fanoniens dans les productions artistiques et culturelles des Amériques apparaît donc comme une nécessité épistémologique, tant en raison de l’attachement de Fanon à la création et la défense d’une culture nationale qu’en raison de son propre soin apporté à l’écriture et de son intérêt manifeste pour la littérature.

Axes thématiques

Les journées d’étude pourront s’articuler autour des axes suivants (non exclusifs) :

  • Modalités d’expression : sous quelle forme décèle-t-on les traces de la pensée de Fanon dans les arts et la littérature des Amériques ? S’agit-il de citations (explicites, implicites), d’hommage, de commentaire, d’imitation (notamment en termes de style), etc. ? Les artistes s’inspirent-ils directement des textes de Fanon, ou la réappropriation est-elle indirecte (par le biais par exemple des théoricien·ne·s américain·e·s[3] sur le genre, la post- et décolonialité et/ou l’intersectionnalité, héritier·e·s de Fanon) ; consciente, inconsciente ?
  • Thèmes les plus exploités : y a-t-il concordance avec les thématiques qui ont été le plus analysées ou controversées dans la production critique (la violence, la culture nationale, la question des femmes et de l’homosexualité…) ? Peut-on observer une prise de distance ? Une réélaboration ? Quels sont les ouvrages de Fanon qui bénéficient de la plus grande attention dans les arts ? Existe-t-il dans les productions artistiques une communauté d’intérêt pour les thèses de Fanon sur le racisme, le colonialisme et la négrophobie et sur quoi se base-t-elle ?
  • Question de la traduction : comme l’indique Neelam Srivastava (Khalfa, Young 2015 : 652), Fanon avait le souci de la traduction, aussi bien linguistique que culturelle, de ses thèses anti-impérialistes (nourries de son expérience en Algérie) à d’autres contextes, notamment africain et américain[4]. Quelles sont les modalités de transposition, dans les arts et la littérature, des théories fanoniennes aux différentes réalités américaines ? Peut-on parler de relations d’analogie ? De source d’inspiration ? Le panafricanisme de Fanon, par exemple, trouve-t-il un écho chez les artistes américain·e·s sous la forme d’un panaméricanisme ou d’une unité caribéenne – par ailleurs défendue en quelque occasion par Fanon lui-même (Cherki 2011 : 190) ?
  • Perspective diachronique : comme évoqué précédemment, les travaux sur l’influence de Fanon dans les arts et la littérature des Amériques sont minoritaires. Les quelques études existantes portent essentiellement sur des artistes des années 1960[5]. On pourra par conséquent adopter une approche comparative afin d’analyser les spécificités contemporaines des héritages artistiques et littéraires de Fanon par rapport à d’autres périodes historiques : comment Fanon est-il relu par les artistes, près de 60 ans après sa disparition ? Que sont devenues certaines de ses théories considérées aujourd’hui comme datées, telles que celle de « l’homme nouveau », dont on sait qu’elle a largement inspiré Ernesto Che Guevara (Pérez Álvarez 2013 : 312) ?

En raison de la perspective résolument transdisciplinaire des journées « Héritages de Frantz Fanon dans les arts et la littérature des Amériques », tous les pays et territoires des Amériques et des Caraïbes, quelles que soient leurs langues, sont concernés par cet appel, de même que tous les arts, de la littérature au cinéma en passant par la peinture, la sculpture, la chanson, le street art (comme à Bogota par exemple), etc. Les approches comparatistes entre deux zones géographiques seront bienvenues, mais ne sont pas exigées.

  • Interactions culturelles et discursives (ICD) – EA 6297 – Université François-Rabelais de Tours
  • Centre Interlangues - Texte, image, langage – EA 4182 – Université de Bourgogne-Franche-Comté

Modalités de soumission

La langue de communication sera de préférence le français, mais on acceptera également l’anglais et l’espagnol.

Les propositions, sous la forme d’un titre, d’un résumé d’environ 250 mots et d’une brève notice bio-bibliographique, devront parvenir avant le

1er novembre 2017

aux deux adresses suivantes : flora.valadie@u-bourgogne.fr et sophie.large@univ-tours.fr

Comité scientifique e d'organisation

  • Flora Valadié, MCF, Université de Bourgogne Franche-Comté
  • Sophie Large, MCF, Université François-Rabelais de Tours

Références citées et bibliographie (non-exhaustive)

  • BENARAB, Abdelkader, Frantz Fanon, l’homme de rupture, Paris, Alfabarre, 2010.
  • BENTOUHAMI, Hourya et DORLIN, Elsa, Frantz Fanon, Actuel Marx, no55 (1), 2014.
  • CAMPO, Javier, « Filmando teorías políticas: dependencia y liberación en La hora de los hornos », Política y Cultura, printemps 2014, 41, p. 65-88.
  • CHAULET-ACHOUR, Christiane, Frantz Fanon, l’importun, Montpellier : Éditions Chèvre-Feuille étoilée, 2004.
  • CHERKI, Alice, Frantz Fanon, portrait, Paris, Seuil, 2011.
  • CRUZ, Gustavo R., « Poder indio y poder negro: recepciones del pensamiento negro en Fausto Reinaga », Íconos. Revista de Ciencias Sociales, no51, janvier 2015, p. 29-46.
  • DE OTO, Alejandro, « Aimé Césaire y Frantz Fanon. Variaciones sobre el archivo colonial/descolonial », Tabula Rasa, 15, juillet-décembre 2011, p. 149-169.
  • FANON, Frantz, Peau noire, masques blancs, Paris : Seuil, 1975 [1952].
  • FANON, Frantz, Pour la révolution africaine. Écrits politiques, Paris : Maspero, 1964.
  • FANON, Frantz, L’An V de la révolution algérienne, Paris : Maspero, 1959.
  • FANON, Frantz, Les damnés de la terre, Paris : La Découverte, 2002 [1961].
  • FANON-MENDES-FRANCE, Mireille, « Mon père, cet insoumis », in Fondation Frantz Fanon / Sortir du colonialisme, Frantz Fanon par les textes de l’époque, Paris : Les petits matins, 2012, p. 62-66.
  • KHALFA, Jean et YOUNG, Robert, Écrits sur l’aliénation et la liberté, Paris, La Découverte, 2015.
  • MACEY, David, Frantz Fanon : a Biography, New York : Picador USA, 2001.
  • MARTINS, Pablo, « Confluencias entre el pensamiento de Frantz Fanon y el de Paulo Freire. El surgimiento de la educación popular en el marco de la situación colonial », Educação, Vol. 37 (2), mai-août 2012, p. 241-256.
  • MBEMBE, Achille, « Préface », in FANON, Frantz, Œuvres, Paris : La Découverte, 2011, p. 9-21.
  • MBEMBE, Achille, « Préface », in Fondation Frantz Fanon / Sortir du colonialisme, Frantz Fanon par les textes de l’époque, Paris : Les petits matins, 2012, p. 7-22.
  • NAREAU, Michel, « Fanon, Cuba et autres Journal de Bolivie. L’Amérique latine à Parti pris comme modalité de libération nationale », Bulletin d’histoire politique, Vol. 23 (1), 2014, p. 126-138.
  • OLIVA, Elena ; STECHER, Lucía ; ZAPATA, Claudia (éds.), Frantz Fanon desde América Latina. Lecturas contemporáneas de un pensador del siglo XX, Buenos Aires : El Corregidor, 2013.
  • PÉREZ ÁLVAREZ, Gonzalo, « Frantz Fanon, John William Cooke y la creación heroica », Contracorriente, Vol. 11 (1), automne 2013, p. 306-327.
  • RACZKOWSKI, Christopher, « Chester Himes, Frantz Fanon and the Literary Decolonization of Harlem », Literature Interpretation Theory, vol23, 2012, p.1-25.
  •  RAMALLO, Francisco, « Pedagogía, liberación y negritud: Frantz Fanon como punto de inflexión para
  • (re)pensar las escrituras de las ideas pedagógicas en América Latina », http://www.idaes.edu.ar/pdf_papeles/4-25%20Ramallo.pdf, page consultée le 20 juin 2017.
  • READ, Alan, The Fact of Blackness: Frantz Fanon and Visual Representation, Seattle : Bay Press, 1996.
  • ROCCHI, Jean-Paul, « Littérature et métapsychanalyse de la race », Tumultes, Vol.31, 2008, p. 125-144.
  • VALDÉS LEÓN, Camila, « De cierta manera. Lecturas de Frantz Fanon en Sara Gómez », Cuadernos del Caribe, no19, juin 2015, p. 45-51.
  • WALLERSTEIN, Immanuel, « Leer a Fanon en el siglo XXI », New left review, no57, 2009, p. 109-119.
  • ZURBANO TORRES, Roberto, « Frantz Fanon, ¿un fantasma en el Caribe? », http://laventana.casa.cult.cu/noticias/2015/07/21/frantz-fanon-un-fantasma-en-el-caribe/, page consultée le 20 juin 2017.

[1] Il n’est pas possible ici de tous les recenser ; on pourra se référer à l’ouvrage fondamental d’Alice Cherki (2011) qui en liste un certain nombre. Voir également la bibliographie indicative jointe à cet appel, nécessairement incomplète.

[2] Voir quelques références dans la bibliographie indicative.

[3] Contrairement à l’usage abusif qui est fait de cet adjectif en France pour désigner les ressortissants états-uniens, nous entendons ici le terme « américain » dans son sens le plus vaste, renvoyant à l’ensemble des territoires conformant les Amériques.

[4] C’est d’ailleurs par le biais de la traduction en espagnol réalisée par Ernesto Che Guevara que l’œuvre de Fanon s’est diffusée en Amérique Latine (Fanon-Mendès-France 2012 : 66) ; de même, la traduction anglaise des Damnés de la terre aux États-Unis en 1965 a contribué à l’impact considérable qu’eut Fanon auprès des Noirs états-uniens (Cherki 2011 : 248-251)

[5] Voir la bibliographie indicative.

Lieux

  • 3, rue des Tanneurs
    Tours, France (37041)
  • 2, boulevard Gabriel
    Dijon, France (21000)

Dates

  • mercredi 01 novembre 2017

Fichiers attachés

Mots-clés

  • Frantz Fanon, Amérique Latine, USA, Canada, Caraïbes, littérature, peinture, sculpture, photographie, cinéma, intersectionnalité, études postcoloniales, études décoloniales

Contacts

  • Sophie Large
    courriel : sophie [dot] large [at] univ-tours [dot] fr
  • Flora Valadié
    courriel : flora [dot] valadie [at] u-bourgogne [dot] fr

Source de l'information

  • Sophie Large
    courriel : sophie [dot] large [at] univ-tours [dot] fr

Pour citer cette annonce

« Héritages de Frantz Fanon dans les arts et la littérature des Amériques », Appel à contribution, Calenda, Publié le vendredi 28 juillet 2017, http://calenda.org/412899