HomeWomen of the Americas

Women of the Americas

Femmes des Amériques

Mujeres de las Américas

Mulheres das Américas

*  *  *

Published on Tuesday, July 03, 2018 by Céline Guilleux

Summary

The recognition of women’s place in American societies has become a crucial social, cultural, political and economic issue, as evidenced by worldwide protest movements such as Ni Una Menos that started in Argentina – a feminist movement fighting against feminicides and gender-based violence – or the Women’s March against President Donald Trump in the United States. Whether these protests have to do with the struggle for women’s right to vote, the sexual revolution that started in the 1960s, or social movements denouncing gender-based violence in urban and rural environments, they highlight a continuity between yesterday’s feminist fights and their re-adaptation in the public space. 

Announcement

Argument

The recognition of women’s place in American societies has become a crucial social, cultural, political and economic issue, as evidenced by worldwide protest movements such as Ni Una Menos that started in Argentina – a feminist movement fighting against feminicides and gender-based violence – or the Women’s March against President Donald Trump in the United States. Whether these protests have to do with the struggle for women’s right to vote, the sexual revolution that started in the 1960s, or social movements denouncing gender-based violence in urban and rural environments, they highlight a continuity between yesterday’s feminist fights and their re-adaptation in the public space. They introduce new issues dealing both with the creation of spaces dedicated to women and the evolution of gender-based relationships. Studies on feminist communities favor new approaches on different scales, from the indigenous rural territories to their representations in the United Nations. The artistic and musical scenes are also a way to analyze spaces and performances where claims are expressed, and their natures, forms, objectives and establishment questioned. Art, music and literature favor interregional exchanges that strengthen feminine and feminist projects in the Americas. Besides, the deconstruction of themes favoring masculinity offers further considerations on the role of women in institutional processes and in studies on violence. As a result, several approaches can be discussed without necessarily being exhaustive or exclusive: the evolution of gender relationships in societies, the creation of spaces dedicated to women, feminisms on various scales and under different forms, and individual and collective protests against gender- based violence.

For its issue n°12, RITA will dedicate its section Thema to women of the Americas. The articles will focus on the status of women in formal and informal labor markets, leading to moral, social, cultural and familial considerations in American societies, such as the issue of women’s right to vote, their eligibility in politics, equal pay, etc. Migration studies will also be taken into account: the articles will analyze the reasons why women migrate or focus on ‘women who stay’ and on their decisive role in maintaining local economies or in educating children, as part of the care studies. The Thema section will also include analyses dealing with forms of resistance: what about protest and solidarity movements? What about the concept of agentivity Social feminist protests are a fruitful way to analyze and compare American societies and their particularities on spatial and temporal scales. Proposals on historical memory through the study of women’s testimonies are welcome. Other contributions will analyze issues that women encounter in rural societies and among indigenous communities in order to compare women’s rural and urban issues in the Americas. The articles can also address the question of women’s collective efforts and their role in the implementation of local projects for development or for the recognition of group-specific rights. Research is not strictly limited to the social sciences; in that respect, studies on the representation of women of the Americas in literature, the arts and music will complete the section. Furthermore, we encourage transregional contributions in order to question the globalization of American women’s fights, such as during the U.S. Civil Rights Movement (1954-1968) or the more recent sexual harassment charges in the Hollywood movie industry (2017).

As usual, in addition to the Thema section, RITA will include in its issue n°12 a non-thematic section called Champ Libre, which will be divided into four sections (see http://revue- rita.com/note-aux-auteurs/nos-rubriques.html):

  • Dissertations and Ph.D. summaries (Résumés de mémoire ou de thèse) will put forward recent research and its key achievements.
  • Research notes (Notes de recherche) are scientific articles that aim to present an on-going or completed research, whose topic is not related to the issue. They must include a key question, a clear and detailed methodology and be written in a scientific way.
  • Insights on the Americas (Regards sur les Amériques) does not require the same scientific approach: in this section, the author choses the form and length of the article (essay, journalistic paper, field notes, literary analysis, etc.) Papers dealing with current events in the Americas are more than welcome.
  • Finally, Research Factory (Fabrique de la recherche) aims to go ‘behind the scene’ and to propose articles focusing on methodology and/or theoretical approaches. 

Submission guidelines

Please send your proposals (full article) complying with the standards of the chosen section  to: revue.rita@gmail.com

before October 15th, 2018.

We remind you that articles can be written in English, French, Spanish or Portuguese.

The editorial board will pre-select authors. All applicants will be informed of the selection process in November.

The Reading Committee will then evaluate the pre-selected texts: they might be accepted or refused, with or without modifications.

Issue n°12 will be published in Spring 2019.

We recall that all papers must be original and not currently assessed by another review

Editorial Committee

  • Guillaume Duarte           
  • Cléa Fortuné
  • Bruno Hervé-Huamani
  • Paul Lebret
  • Julie Liard
  • Antonio Ramos Ramírez
  • Céline Raimbert
  • Nasser Rebaï
  • Etienne Sauthier             
  • Florabelle Spielmann

Places

  • Paris, France (75)

Date(s)

  • Monday, October 15, 2018

Keywords

  • femme, lutte

Contact(s)

  • Revue Interdisciplinaire de travaux sur les Amériques
    courriel : revue [dot] rita [at] gmail [dot] com

Information source

  • Revue Interdisciplinaire de travaux sur les Amériques
    courriel : revue [dot] rita [at] gmail [dot] com

To cite this announcement

« Women of the Americas », Call for papers, Calenda, Published on Tuesday, July 03, 2018, https://calenda.org/447160

Archive this announcement

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal

AccueilFemmes des Amériques

Femmes des Amériques

Women of the Americas

Mujeres de las Américas

Mulheres das Américas

*  *  *

Publié le mardi 03 juillet 2018 par Céline Guilleux

Résumé

La reconnaissance de la place des femmes dans les sociétés américaines est devenue un enjeu social, culturel, politique et économique majeur. Des mouvements de revendications rendus visibles sur la scène internationale comme Ni una menos initié en Argentine – mouvement féministe qui lutte contre les féminicides et la violence de genre – ou encore les « Marches des femmes » contre le président Donald Trump aux États-Unis le prouvent. Ces problématiques mettent en évidence une forme de continuum entre les luttes et expressions féministes d’hier et leurs réactualisations dans l’espace public : des luttes pour obtenir le droit de vote, en passant par la révolution sexuelle des années 1960 et les mouvements sociaux dénonçant les violences de genre dans les milieux urbains et ruraux par exemple.

Annonce

Argumentaire

La reconnaissance de la place des femmes dans les sociétés américaines est devenue un enjeu social, culturel, politique et économique majeur. Des mouvements de revendications rendus visibles sur la scène internationale comme Ni una menos initié en Argentine – mouvement féministe qui lutte contre les féminicides et la violence de genre – ou encore les « Marches des femmes » contre le président Donald Trump aux Etats-Unis le prouvent. Ces problématiques mettent en évidence une forme de continuum entre les luttes et expressions féministes d’hier et leurs réactualisations dans l’espace public : des luttes pour obtenir le droit de vote, en passant par la révolution sexuelle des années 1960 et les mouvements sociaux dénonçant les violences de genre dans les milieux urbains et ruraux par exemple. Elles introduisent également de nouvelles questions portant aussi bien sur la création d’espaces réservés aux femmes que sur l’évolution des rapports de sexe. Les études sur les féminismes communautaires favorisent de nouvelles approches à différentes échelles allant des territoires ruraux des populations autochtones à leurs représentations aux Nations Unies. Les scènes artistiques et musicales offrent également des terrains pour analyser les espaces et les performances dans lesquels s’expriment leurs revendications et pour interroger ces revendications, leurs natures et leurs formes, leurs objectifs et leurs ancrages. L’art, la musique et la littérature favorisent les échanges interrégionaux qui renforcent les projets féminins et féministes à l’échelle des Amériques. Par ailleurs, la déconstruction de thématiques favorisant peu ou prou la masculinité propose de nouvelles pistes de réflexion sur la place des femmes dans les processus institutionnels, ou encore dans les études sur la violence.

Par conséquent, plusieurs pistes de réflexion peuvent d’ores et déjà être évoquées sans pour autant être exclusives : l’évolution des rapports de sexe dans les sociétés, la création d’espaces réservés aux femmes, les féminismes à différentes échelles et sous différentes formes, les protestations individuelles et collectives contre les violences de genre. A l’occasion de son 12e numéro, RITA propose de consacrer sa section Théma aux Femmes dans les Amériques. Nous accueillerons les articles portant sur le statut des femmes dans les marchés du travail, formel et informel, ce qui renvoie à des considérations morales, sociales, culturelles et familiales des sociétés américaines (questions sur le droit de vote des femmes, leur éligibilité en politique, l’égalité salariale, etc.). Les études migratoires pourront également être prises en compte et analyser les raisons qui poussent les femmes à migrer ou bien s’intéresser aux « femmes qui restent » et à leur rôle décisif pour le maintien des économies locales ou pour l’éducation des plus jeunes, dans le cadre de réflexions sur le care. Des réflexions concernant les formes de résistance seront prises aussi en compte : qu’en est-il des mouvements de protestation et de solidarités, ou encore du concept d’agentivité ? Les luttes sociales féministes sont une approche intéressante pour analyser et comparer les sociétés américaines et leurs particularismes à l’échelle spatiale mais aussi temporelle. Les propositions sur la mémoire historique à travers l’étude de témoignages féminins sont également souhaitées. D’autres contributions analyseront les problématiques rencontrées par les femmes dans les sociétés rurales et au sein des populations autochtones afin de comparer les problématiques rurales et urbaines des femmes dans les Amériques. Les textes pourront également aborder la question des collectifs de femmes et de leur rôle dans la mise en marche de projets de développement local ou pour la reconnaissance de droits singuliers. Les recherches ne se limitant pas aux sciences sociales, la représentation des Femmes des Amériques dans la littérature, les arts et la musique viendront compléter le dossier. Par ailleurs, les contributions transrégionales sont encouragées afin d’interroger la globalisation des luttes féminines américaines comme lors du mouvement des droits civiques aux Etats-Unis (1954-1968) ou plus récemment lors des accusations d’harcèlement sexuel dans l’industrie du cinéma hollywoodien (2017).

Comme pour ses précédentes parutions, RITA inclura dans son 12ème numéro une section non thématique, Champ libre, divisée en quatre rubriques [cf. http://revue-rita.com/note-aux- auteurs/nos-rubriques.html] :

  • Les Résumés de mémoire ou de thèse permettent de donner de la visibilité aux recherches les plus récentes dans une version concise.
  • Les Notes de recherche sont des articles présentant une recherche en cours ou aboutie, dont le sujet ne correspond pas à la thématique du numéro. Elles doivent comporter une problématique, présenter une méthodologie claire et détaillée et prendre la forme d’une réflexion
  • La rubrique Regards offre l’opportunité de publier des textes dont l’expression et la forme sont plus libres tels que des récits d’expériences de terrain, des réflexions personnelles sur une thématique ou un objet d’étude singulier, ou des analyses littéraires.
  • Enfin, la Fabrique de la recherche a pour objectif de poser des questions d’ordre méthodologique ou de traiter spécifiquement d’outils théoriques.

Modalités de soumission

Les articles complets et respectant les normes de la rubrique choisie sont attendus à l’adresse suivante : revue.rita@gmail.com

jusqu’au 15 octobre 2018.

Nous rappelons que les articles peuvent être écrits en anglais, en espagnol, en français et en portugais.

Une première sélection des textes sera faite par le Comité de Rédaction qui informera les auteurs de l’acceptation ou du refus de leur article au cours du mois de novembre 2018.

Par la suite, les textes retenus pour les sections Théma et Champ libre seront évalués par des évaluateurs anonymes. Les articles pourront être refusés ou acceptés avec ou sans modifications.

Le numéro 12 de RITA sera publié à la fin du premier semestre 2019.

Nous rappelons que les articles doivent être inédits et non soumis simultanément à d’autres revues.

Comité de rédaction

  • Guillaume Duarte           
  • Cléa Fortuné
  • Bruno Hervé-Huamani
  • Paul Lebret
  • Julie Liard
  • Antonio Ramos Ramírez
  • Céline Raimbert
  • Nasser Rebaï
  • Etienne Sauthier             
  • Florabelle Spielmann

Lieux

  • Paris, France (75)

Dates

  • lundi 15 octobre 2018

Mots-clés

  • femme, lutte

Contacts

  • Revue Interdisciplinaire de travaux sur les Amériques
    courriel : revue [dot] rita [at] gmail [dot] com

Source de l'information

  • Revue Interdisciplinaire de travaux sur les Amériques
    courriel : revue [dot] rita [at] gmail [dot] com

Pour citer cette annonce

« Femmes des Amériques », Appel à contribution, Calenda, Publié le mardi 03 juillet 2018, https://calenda.org/447160

Archiver cette annonce

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal