HomeFreedom of Speech: from Opacity to Transparency

Freedom of Speech: from Opacity to Transparency

Liberté d’expression : de l’opacité à la transparence

*  *  *

Published on Monday, August 13, 2018 by Céline Guilleux

Summary

Contemporary societies value free speech and freedom of expression on the most personal – if not intimate – and sensitive issues. What happens to the right to remain silent and resisting the pressure? Qualitative surveys conducted through interviews are one of the most frequently used methods in the social sciences, if not the most used, and go far beyond simple and straightforward conversations. This research tool requires skill, subtlety and sensitivity, and one learns to a great extent from experience. 

Announcement

15 mars 2019

Argument

Contemporary societies value free speech and freedom of expression on the most personal – if not intimate – and sensitive issues. What happens to the right to remain silent and resisting the pressure? Qualitative surveys conducted through interviews are one of the most frequently used methods in the social sciences, if not the most used, and go far beyond simple and straightforward conversations. This research tool requires skill, subtlety and sensitivity, and one learns to a great extent from experience. Therefore, a number of questions arise: What are the limitations and the elements of risk-taking in qualitative studies? What are the prerequisites required in terms of ethics and the confidentiality of the data collected? Who can and must participate, and through what means? Should researchers have to mutate into politicians, journalists, lawyers, police officers or healthcare professionals? What credit may be given to the words, concerns and ills voiced by the respondents, and the data-based analysis carried out by researchers? Hence the issue of subjectivity and the reliability of the content analysis when decoding. How can a representative sample be constructed, and what is a significant sample? What are the rights and freedom of action of each party during a qualitative survey? What mechanisms do informants develop, and what is the extent of their frustration, if any? Do practices vary according to different types of fieldwork and territories? Can it be justified to keep any objects of research or social group behind the scenes?

This workshop will endeavour to consider the technique of the qualitative surveys and to shed light on the various practices according to countries, the advantages and challenges presented, and the future of qualitative studies based on freedom of speech.

Submission guidelines

Proposals for papers are invited by 1 November 2018.

Please send a proposal (a 500-word abstract and a short CV) to fabienne.portier-lecocq@univ-tours.fr

Evaluation committee

  • Carmen Lau Clayton, Reader in Family and cultural Dynamics, Institute of Childhood and Education, Leeds Trinity University, UK
  • Fabienne Portier-Le Cocq, Professor of Contemporary British Studies, Faculté de Lettres et LanguesDépartement d'anglais LLCER, Université de Tours, France

Places

  • 3 rue des tanneurs
    Tours, France (37)

Date(s)

  • Thursday, November 01, 2018

Keywords

  • liberté d'expression, transparence, opacité

Contact(s)

  • Fabienne Portier-Le Cocq
    courriel : fabienne [dot] portier-lecocq [at] univ-tours [dot] fr

Information source

  • Fabienne Portier-Le Cocq
    courriel : fabienne [dot] portier-lecocq [at] univ-tours [dot] fr

To cite this announcement

« Freedom of Speech: from Opacity to Transparency », Call for papers, Calenda, Published on Monday, August 13, 2018, https://calenda.org/465867

Archive this announcement

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal

AccueilLiberté d’expression : de l’opacité à la transparence

Liberté d’expression : de l’opacité à la transparence

Freedom of Speech: from Opacity to Transparency

*  *  *

Publié le lundi 13 août 2018 par Céline Guilleux

Résumé

Les sociétés contemporaines valorisent la parole et la liberté de s’exprimer sur les sujets les plus intimes et les plus sensibles. Quiddu droit au silence et à la résistance ? L’enquête qualitative par le biais de l’entretien est une des méthodes d’enquête les plus utilisées en sciences sociales, sinon la plus utilisée. Cet outil de recherche requiert compétences, subtilité et sensibilité et va bien au-delà de la simple conversation.

Annonce

Argumentaire

Les sociétés contemporaines valorisent la parole et la liberté de s’exprimer sur les sujets les plus intimes et les plus sensibles. Quiddu droit au silence et à la résistance ? L’enquête qualitative par le biais de l’entretien est une des méthodes d’enquête les plus utilisées en sciences sociales, sinon la plus utilisée. Cet outil de recherche requiert compétences, subtilité et sensibilité et va bien au-delà de la simple conversation. Quelles sont les limites et la prise de risque lors de l’enquête qualitative ? Quels sont les prérequis à la conduite d’une enquête qualitative en matière d’éthique et de confidentialité des données ? Qui peut et doit s’exprimer et par quel moyens ? Le chercheur a-t-il vocation à se muer en politicien, en journaliste, en juriste, en policier ou en professionnel de santé ? Quel crédit accordé aux mots/maux exprimés par le participant et la traduction des maux en mots par le chercheur ? Que dire de la subjectivité et de la fiabilité de l’analyse de contenu des enquêteurs lors  du recueil de la parole et de ses conditions et du traitement des informations ? Comment construit-on un échantillon et qu’appelle-t-on un échantillon conséquent ? Quelles sont les prérogatives et la liberté d’action du chercheur et des personnes consultées ? Quels mécanismes les participants mettent-ils en oeuvre ? Quelle est la part de frustration des protagonistes ? Les pratiques varient-elles en fonction du terrain et des territoires ? Des sujets et objets d’enquête méritent-ils de rester dans l’ombre ?

Cette journée d’étude s’attachera à poser les questions inhérentes à la technique et à mettre en lumière les différentes pratiques en fonction des pays, les atouts et les défis présentés et l’avenir de l’enquête qualitative fondée sur la liberté d’expression.

Modalités de participation

Les propositions (500 mots avec un cv) sont à envoyer

avant le 1er novembre 2018

à fabienne.portier-lecocq@univ-tours.fr

Comité d'évaluation

  • Carmen Lau Clayton, Reader in Family and cultural Dynamics, Institute of Childhood and Education, Leeds Trinity University, UK
  • Fabienne Portier-Le Cocq, Professor of Contemporary British Studies, Faculté de Lettres et LanguesDépartement d'anglais LLCER, Université de Tours, France

Lieux

  • 3 rue des tanneurs
    Tours, France (37)

Dates

  • jeudi 01 novembre 2018

Mots-clés

  • liberté d'expression, transparence, opacité

Contacts

  • Fabienne Portier-Le Cocq
    courriel : fabienne [dot] portier-lecocq [at] univ-tours [dot] fr

Source de l'information

  • Fabienne Portier-Le Cocq
    courriel : fabienne [dot] portier-lecocq [at] univ-tours [dot] fr

Pour citer cette annonce

« Liberté d’expression : de l’opacité à la transparence », Appel à contribution, Calenda, Publié le lundi 13 août 2018, https://calenda.org/465867

Archiver cette annonce

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal