HomeThinking the future of work in agriculture

Thinking the future of work in agriculture

IInd international symposium on work in agriculture

*  *  *

Published on Monday, September 30, 2019 by Céline Guilleux

Summary

The second symposium « Work in Agriculture » welcome various disciplinary approaches of work such as Economics, Ergonomics, Medicine and Health Sciences, Design, Sociology, Management, agrarian sciences and Farming Systems), and various approaches of cross cutting issues, dealing with a deep understanding of the work in agriculture continuities and changes, exploring future scenarios and providing resources for the future. We also welcome research, education and extension contributions.

Announcement

September 27-30th 2020 – Clermont-Ferrand France

Organisation

Symposium organized by the International Association on Work in Agriculture (IAWA), INRA (National Institute for Agronomic Research) – Sciences for Action and Development (SAD) division, and the UMR « Territoires» (Agroparistech, INRA, Irstea, UCA, Vetagrosup).

Argument

1.3 billion people work in agriculture, the sector representing 25% of the total employment in the world. Work in agriculture faces continuities, such as

  • the ongoing model of a dominant family-based activity but also with a high contribution of wage earners to the work (42% of farmworkers are salaried);
  • the large diversity of work contents due to the various production systems (vegetables, crops, indoor or outdoor livestock, etc.) and to the various models of work organization (taylorism, cooperation, externalization of tasks).

But work in agriculture also faces changes referring to various dynamics :

  • i) the emergence of « firm models » with a large use of contractors, as a new figure of highly productive farms;
  • ii) the development of agroecological farming systems combining a large diversity of production systems and regular interactions between farmers and consumers;
  • iii) the more and more meaningful contribution of migrants to farm work particularly in many OECD countries;
  • iv) the end of ignorance of the negative impacts of chemicals on workers’ health;
  • v) the consolidation of global chains and its reflects on work and labor governance;
  • vi) the use of new technologies (robots, sensors, internet) that modify work rhythms, workload and the skills required under the paradigm of Agricultures 4.0.

These changes and continuities question the future of work in agriculture: employment, gender equity, health, professional identities, skills, organization, farming models, working conditions and quality of life at work. are sufficient knowledge, useful frameworks and tools provided to follow up the changes of work in a sustainable way?

The 2nd Symposium « Work in Agriculture » welcome various disciplinary approaches of work such as Economics, Ergonomics, Medicine and Health Sciences, Design, Sociology, Management, agrarian sciences and Farming Systems), and various approaches of cross cutting issues, dealing with a deep understanding of the work in agriculture continuities and changes, exploring future scenarios and providing resources for the future. We also welcome research, education and extension contributions.

Submission guidelines

L’appel à communication sera lancé le 15 novembre pour une

deadline de retour de résumés fixée au 15 février.

Les résumés seront à saisir sur un formulaire ad hoc qui sera disponible sur le site : https://symposium.inra.fr/workinagriculture-iswa/

Scientific Committee

  • Peter Lundqvist SLU Sweden peter.lundqvist@slu.se
  • Leandra Ulbricht Federal Univ of Technology  Parana Brazil prof.leandra@gmail.com
  • Catherine Laurent INRA France catherine.laurent@inra.fr
  • Laurent Piet INRA France laurent.piet@inra.fr
  • Sandra Schiavi State University of Maringa Brazil sandraschiavi@gmail.com
  • Bruno Dorin CIRAD India bruno.dorin@cirad.fr
  • James Kinsella University of Dublin Ireland jim.kinsella@ucd.ie
  • Guillermo Neiman Conicet Argentina gneiman@ceil-conicet.gov.ar
  • Sandra Contzen School of Agricultural, Forest & Food Sciences Switzerland sandra.contzen@bfh.ch
  • Brenda Boonabaana Makerere University Uganda boonabrenda@yahoo.com
  • Michael Santhanam-Martin University of Melbourne Australia mpmartin@unimelb.edu.au
  • Priscila Malanski State University of Maringa Brazil priscilamalanski2@gmial.com
  • Mohamed Taher Sraïri Institut Agronomique Hassan II Morocco mt.srairi@iav.ac.ma
  • Sylvie Cournut UMR Territoires France Sylvie.Cournut@Vetagro-Sup.Fr
  • Nathalie Hostiou UMR Territoires France nathalie.hostiou@inra.fr
  • Diao Camara Astou ISRA Senegal astou.diao@isra.sn
  • Qian Forrest Zhang Singapore Management University Singapore forrestzhang@smu.edu.sg
  • Benoit Dedieu INRA France Benoit.dedieu@inra.fr
  • Ruth Nettle University of Melbourne Australia ranettle@unimelb.edu.au
  • Christina Umstatter Agroscope Switzerland christina.umstaetter@agroscope.admin.ch
  • Sophie Chauvat Idèle France Sophie.Chauvat@idele.fr
  • Laurens Klerkx WUR Netherlands laurens.klerkx@wur.nl

Subjects

Places

  • Centre Diocésain, 133 Avenue de la République
    Clermont-Ferrand, France (63051)

Date(s)

  • Saturday, February 15, 2020

Attached files

Keywords

  • travail, agriculture, emploi, innovation, santé, compétence, organisation

Contact(s)

  • Frédérique Van Celst
    courriel : frederique [dot] van_celst [at] uca [dot] fr

Information source

  • Frédérique Van Celst
    courriel : frederique [dot] van_celst [at] uca [dot] fr

To cite this announcement

« Thinking the future of work in agriculture », Call for papers, Calenda, Published on Monday, September 30, 2019, https://calenda.org/672122

Archive this announcement

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal