HomeReading and Translating The Second Sex Globally

HomeReading and Translating The Second Sex Globally

Reading and Translating The Second Sex Globally

Lire et traduire

« Le deuxième sexe » à l'échelle globale

*  *  *

Published on Monday, October 18, 2021 by Lucie Choupaut

Summary

The International Simone de Beauvoir Society provides a forum for researchers interested in the works of Simone de Beauvoir.

Announcement

Program

Session 1: Beauvoir and Her Readers

16 octobre 2020

Recording of the session: https://beauvoir.weebly.com/webinar-videos.html 

Session 2: Beauvoir, Sexism and Racism

8 janvier 2021

Recording of the session: https://beauvoir.weebly.com/webinar-videos.html 

Session 3: Beauvoir in Time, by Meryl Altman

5 février 2021

Recording of the session: https://beauvoir.weebly.com/webinar-videos.html 

Session 4:  Reading and Translating The Second Sex Globally

19 novembre 2021

Time Zones: 1:30pm (Paris, Praha) / 2:30pm (Helsinki) / 8:30pm (Manila) / 11:30pm (Sydney) / 6:30am (Mexico) / 7:30am (New York)

Argument

Since its publication in France in 1949, The Second Sex has been translated into dozens of languages, each time in a particular editorial, intellectual and feminist context. Each translation has given rise to different transformations and adaptations, which have then been critically received and appropriated by a various range of readers (from intellectuals to “ordinary” inviduals). This issue explores different cultural receptions of Beauvoir’s magnum opus and linguistic decisions made in the course of translating one of the most important books of the twentieth century into multiple languages. Articles discuss Beauvoir’s impact in Mexico, Bolivia, the former Czechoslovakia, and Iran, as well as controversies surrounding the two English translations of Le Deuxième Sexe. Readers will also find special interviews with Michèle Le Doeuff and Margaret A. Simons, two pioneers of Beauvoir studies in the 1970s and 1980s, as well as an image of Beauvoir's famous sentence, written in her own hand: “on ne naît pas femme, on le devient.”

Table of Contents: https://brill.com/view/journals/sdbs/sdbs-overview.xml

Special Guests:

  • Jennifer McWeeny, Editor-in-Chief of Simone de Beauvoir Studies
  • Sylvie Chaperon and Marine Rouch, Guest Editors of the special issue
  • Hortensia Moreno Esparza and Ana Gabriela Buquet Corleto, authors of the article on Mexico
  • Verushka Alvizuri, author of the article on Bolivia 
  • Dagmar Pichová, author of the article on Czechoslovakia
  • Chahla Chafiq, author of the article on Iran
  • Alice Caffarel-Cayron, author of the article on the translation of the famous sentence
  • Michèle Le Doeuff, about her interview
  • Margaret A. Simons and Erika Ruonakoski, about the interview of M. A. Simons

Registration

Free Registration Form: https://forms.gle/TLsfuSdTV32prnDQ8

The Zoom link will be sent to your registered email address the day before the event. 

The session will also be streamed on the Facebook page of The International Simone de Beauvoir Society: https://www.facebook.com/SdBSociety1 and then posted on our Youtube Channel.

Contact and Informations

For inquiries about the webinar, send an email to beauvoirwebinarseries@gmail.com

Partners

  • University of Santo Tomas Department of Philosophy
  • Framespa, University of Toulouse - Jean Jaurès ​

Event format

Full online event


Date(s)

  • Friday, November 19, 2021
  • Friday, October 16, 2020
  • Friday, January 08, 2021
  • Friday, February 05, 2021

Keywords

  • Simone de Beauvoir, traduction, réception, traductologie, translation studies, reception studies, The Second Sex, le deuxième sexe

Contact(s)

  • Marine Rouch
    courriel : beauvoirsociety [at] gmail [dot] com

Information source

  • Marine Rouch
    courriel : beauvoirsociety [at] gmail [dot] com

To cite this announcement

« Reading and Translating The Second Sex Globally », Seminar, Calenda, Published on Monday, October 18, 2021, https://calenda.org/920904

Archive this announcement

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal
Search OpenEdition Search

You will be redirected to OpenEdition Search