Home2022 Graduate Conference in Political Theory

Home2022 Graduate Conference in Political Theory

*  *  *

Published on Tuesday, April 12, 2022

Abstract

Hosted by Loyola University Chicago, Department of Philosophy, and the New School for Social Research, Departments of Philosophy and Politics The conference will take place on Friday, April 15, and Saturday, April 16, over Zoom.

Announcement

Hosted by Loyola University Chicago, Department of Philosophy, and the New School for Social Research, Departments of Philosophy and Politics

Registration

The conference will take place on Friday, April 15, and Saturday, April 16, over Zoom. Please register in advance using this form.

Program

Friday, April 15

10:15–10:30am CDT / 11:15–11:30am EDT: Opening remarks

Panel 1 (10:30–11:30am CDT / 11:30am–12:30pm EDT)

  • Reasons for Political Friendship, Cansu Hepcaglayan (Boston University)
  • Discussant: Andrew Krema (Loyola University Chicago)

Panel 2 (11:30am–12:30pm CDT / 12:30–1:30pm EDT)

  • Plato’s political philosophy and his conception of power, Carlos Augusto de Oliveira Carvalhar (Federal University of Bahia)
  • Discussant: Clover Reshad (NSSR Politics)

12:30–2:00pm CDT / 1:30–3:00pm EDT: Lunch break

Panel 3 (2:00–3:00pm CDT / 3:00–4:00pm EDT)

  • Reluctantly Dependent on Social Reproduction: SRT, the State, and Welfare, Sterling Hall (Villanova University)
  • Discussant: Anastasiia Kalk (New School for Social Research)

Panel 4 (3:00–4:00pm CDT / 4:00–5:00pm EDT)

  • Critical Theory, Automation, and the Crisis of Value: Marx’s “Fragment on Machines” Reconsidered, Jonathan Hollingsworth (Michigan State University)
  • Discussant: Aaron Berman (New School for Social Research)

Keynote Address (4:15–5:40pm CDT / 5:15–6:40pm EDT)

  • Beyond Neoliberal Realism: Foucault’s Late Politics, Dr. Johanna Oksala (Arthur J. Schmitt Professor of Philosophy, Loyola University Chicago)

Saturday, April 16

Panel 5 (10:30–11:30am CDT / 11:30am–12:30pm EDT)

  • Subjects, bodies, domination: towards a theory of exhaustion, Marie Loslier-Simon (New School for Social Research)
  • Discussant: Italo Alves (Loyola University Chicago)

Panel 6 (11:30am–12:30pm CDT / 12:30–1:30pm EDT)

  • Quilombism as political progress: contributions from Brazilian critical race theory, Thor João de Sousa Veras (Federal University of Santa Catarina/Goethe-Universität Frankfurt)
  • Discussant: Susana Garibay (New School for Social Research)

12:30–2:00pm CDT / 1:30–3:00pm EDT: Lunch break

Panel 7 (2:00–3:00pm CDT / 3:00–4:00pm EDT)

  • Walter Benjamin's Theory of Fascism: The Political Contribution of Aesthetic Theses, Sarah Rachel Moncada-Oseguera (Université de Montréal)
  • Discussant: Duncan Stuart (New School for Social Research)

Panel 8 (3:00–4:00pm CDT / 4:00–5:00pm EDT)

  • Nostalgia as Political Critique, Nostalgia as Worldbuilding, Riad Alarian (The University of Toledo)
  • Discussant: Begoña Gerling (New School for Social Research)

Panel 9 (4:00–5:00pm CDT / 5:00–6:00pm EDT)

  • Disputing the Collapse: Apocalypse Philosophy, Theoretical Journalism, and Tosaka Jun, Emerson Bodde (Vanderbilt University)
  • Discussant: Rene Ramirez (Loyola University Chicago)

Event attendance modalities

Full online event


Date(s)

  • Friday, April 15, 2022
  • Saturday, April 16, 2022

Keywords

  • political theory, political philosophy, political thought

Contact(s)

  • Italo Alves
    courriel : ialves [at] luc [dot] edu

Reference Urls

Information source

  • Italo Alves
    courriel : ialves [at] luc [dot] edu

License

CC0-1.0 This announcement is licensed under the terms of Creative Commons CC0 1.0 Universal.

To cite this announcement

« 2022 Graduate Conference in Political Theory », Conference, symposium, Calenda, Published on Tuesday, April 12, 2022, https://doi.org/10.58079/18ph

Archive this announcement

  • Google Agenda
  • iCal
Search OpenEdition Search

You will be redirected to OpenEdition Search